State funded bus fleet double - govt fund another 450 bus

TJX

http://ride.asiaone.com/news/general/story/state-funded-bus-fleet-double-1000

http://ride.asiaone.com/news/general/story/public-transport-satisfaction-lowest-2007

More good years to PTO!! Increase bus fare plus govt funds... Huat ah!!! Think we can kiss our CPF $$ goodbyes!!!! Is this part of the $1.1b or new funds?? Govt must clarify. But clarify oso no use. Peasants will nvr hear the truth.

Edited by TJX

Help is a dirty word coming from MIW. Tolong tolong.. Pls dun help us anymore.

Govt now says $1.1b not enough woh... How much is enough then?? Using public funds, still raise fare and highly paid CEO still get good bonus??? Declare dividend to pay back to temasek to cover losses Si bo?? Then temasek announce they achieve higher returns than market?? Uniquely Singapore!!

Edited by TJX

Help is a dirty word coming from MIW. Tolong tolong.. Pls dun help us anymore.

you all no good leh, no sarpork the gahment, they have to spend more, then can have good reason to increase GST to 10 % mah, what is better than this type of high visibility spendings??? [laugh]

complain poor public transport lah, complain some more, more helps to help you then you know ok.... [dead]

Why need all the scholars when they should just hire the FT from India to do this kind of keet leng Kia siao.. Left pocket right pocket...

Sounds like a paradigm shift in our transportation system planning.

I remember the authorities deliberating on a network plan. before arriving at the choice of the more expensive MRT then. A study released in 1981 deemed that an all-bus system is neither practical nor efficient and had recommended the go-ahead of a mass transit rail system instead. In short, the former was inadequate as it would have to compete for road space" which would have been increasingly overcrowded by then" and the problem would be solved by building a rail system.

Govt now says $1.1b not enough woh... How much is enough then?? Using public funds, still raise fare and highly paid CEO still get good bonus??? Declare dividend to pay back to temasek to cover losses Si bo?? Then temasek announce they achieve higher returns than market?? Uniquely Singapore!!

Socialise the cost and privatise the profits is a great idea.

I remember the authorities deliberating on a network plan. before arriving at the choice of the more expensive MRT then. A study released in 1981 deemed that an all-bus system is neither practical nor efficient and had recommended the go-ahead of a mass transit rail system instead. In short, the former was inadequate as it would have to compete for road space" which would have been increasingly overcrowded by then" and the problem would be solved by building a rail system.

this is a move by the govt NOT to solve problem but to shut the peasants mouth..

you say no help? now we help lor~ help need spend money right, GST 10% coming!!

If they give every singaporeans shares in SBS and SMRT, I'll kee chiu support.... wait a minute, we have shares.. we "share" the cost... nnb

Back in the day Planning used to be pro active.

Now it is all firefighting.

You have to understand that our MRT station length is fixated by the way the tracks are laid.

6 cabin cars is all we can take unless they dare to squeeze 2 more and extend the platform which.

HKG trains have 12 and each cabin is 2x the lengh of our MRT, so technically they have 24.

building more train stations can disperse the crowd but it also mean at a particular Sat Noon, Orchard station human traffic will only increase if you have 6.9m popn as compared to 5.4m now.

Bus is the other way to disperse the crowd though it will add more traffic jams to our congested roads.

to me it is not call a paradigm shift.

it is call a knee jerk reaction.

sigh... pay them so much to come up with this kinda planning. so sad~!

to me it is not call a paradigm shift.

it is call a knee jerk reaction.

sigh... pay them so much to come up with this kinda planning. so sad~!

It's like they always say, use Ah Gong money to pay.. But Ah kong monies are yours and mine monies.. Although ur nick is Ah Gong!!! Hahahah

i don't know why they hire people to squeeze commuters onto the buses

packed everyone like sardines

isnt it dangerous? i thought there is a maximum passenger capacity guideline from manufacturer??

So if SMRT exceeds the number of people and bus overturns then who will be responsible?

i don't know why they hire people to squeeze commuters onto the buses

packed everyone like sardines

isnt it dangerous? i thought there is a maximum passenger capacity guideline from manufacturer??

So if SMRT exceeds the number of people and bus overturns then who will be responsible?

you are.

remember the "the bus is crowded. you can either get up or not. it is a choice"

BTW... who was the one who said it again? i tried to google for the exact words, but cannot find.

added:

"people can board the trains - it is whether they choose to"

so to paraphase

"people can board the bus - it is whether they choose to"

so if you chose to board the bus, you are responsible.

cos when you boarded the bus, you "boarded" "with your eyes open".

So to paraphase everything, you made the choice, you are responsible for your choice.

like it or not... if the bus tip over, you are responsible for your own life~!

Edited by Ahgong