Puteh83 1st Gear March 20, 2014 Share March 20, 2014 Just realized one of my fav sneakers' soles had hardened. Tried searching googling but some said do this and some said do that with no conviction. Anyone with good, workable solutions to soften them? TIA. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 20, 2014 Share March 20, 2014 i had a pair with hardened sole, one word "selesai" (finish). after that, the sole kinda of disintegrate in small bits and pieces. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 i had a pair with hardened sole, one word "selesai" (finish). after that, the sole kinda of disintegrate in small bits and pieces. damn sad leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 I think no cure. Had one many years ago, tot after wearing awhile will scrap the hardened bottom part then the rubbery part will come to play. But nope, after 1 month wearing the sole still hard. Then threw it away, very dangerous to wear especially the floor is wet. Singapore is NOT the place to collect sneakers. Dunno why so many kids still buying them to collect thinking 5 years later will sell at rape price. 5 years later the shoe will disintegrate for sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 I just kena yesterday, my badminton court shoe too long no use, now like skating on the badminton court...ZZZZzzzz waste money liow dunno can use fire heat it up or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 Just realized one of my fav sneakers' soles had hardened. Tried searching googling but some said do this and some said do that with no conviction. Anyone with good, workable solutions to soften them? TIA. dun try to wear it, the sole may came off any time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 I just kena yesterday, my badminton court shoe too long no use, now like skating on the badminton court...ZZZZzzzz waste money liow dunno can use fire heat it up or not. One of the solutions I found online is to soak in alcohol.. Who in the right mind will do that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 have a colleage once who worked in the shoe manufacturing line before, he said the rubber sole of the shoe will harden after some time, thats why shops will have discount/promotions for old shoes, cos if they keep too long the rubber or glue will break apart when customer wear them....part of product life cycle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 dun try to wear it, the sole may came off any time. Alamak, I'm in office with it leh. Siao liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 Alamak, I'm in office with it leh. Siao liao. good excuse to do lunch time shopping later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 good excuse to do lunch time shopping later Still hoping to save it leh.. Very comfy pair and easy to match with any outfit. Heart pain to throw.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 Still hoping to save it leh.. Very comfy pair and easy to match with any outfit. Heart pain to throw.. Can get similar one lah..most of the shoes looked the same to me hahahahahaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 Can get similar one lah..most of the shoes looked the same to me hahahahahaa Addidas Origins limited edition from overseas.. Can still get la..but kena chop kao kao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 Addidas Origins limited edition from overseas.. Can still get la..but kena chop kao kao. wow, I also got one converse one since 1996 the sole also came off but I cannot bear to throw it away...... anywhere to repair it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonafidestack 4th Gear March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 have a colleage once who worked in the shoe manufacturing line before, he said the rubber sole of the shoe will harden after some time, thats why shops will have discount/promotions for old shoes, cos if they keep too long the rubber or glue will break apart when customer wear them....part of product life cycle. If our tyres have lifespan and expiry date, our shoe will also sure have one. I also collect sneakers, but i will keep wearing it and rotate it. Our weather is really quite sucks. The sole will degrade like after 3 years. But theory is buy what you will wear, don't just buy and keep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 wow, I also got one converse one since 1996 the sole also came off but I cannot bear to throw it away...... anywhere to repair it? yours abit extreme case.. shd be hopeless case... Talking about that age... My mum threw away my nike skate board sneaker some time back while she's doing house keeping.. the one M J Fox wore in "back to the future" series... can you imagine how i felt? Saved dun know how many years of ang bao $$ to buy it!!! haha If our tyres have lifespan and expiry date, our shoe will also sure have one. I also collect sneakers, but i will keep wearing it and rotate it. Our weather is really quite sucks. The sole will degrade like after 3 years. But theory is buy what you will wear, don't just buy and keep. You just reminded me another one in the box for years..later must go back home to check... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 no hope of saving. i had 2 ltd edition new balance which i had no choice but to throw. the soles came off. then i tried to salvage by sending it to cobbler to stitch up. worked for a few mths. but slowly n surely the rubber inside disintegrated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonafidestack 4th Gear March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 yours abit extreme case.. shd be hopeless case... Talking about that age... My mum threw away my nike skate board sneaker some time back while she's doing house keeping.. the one M J Fox wore in "back to the future" series... can you imagine how i felt? Saved dun know how many years of ang bao $$ to buy it!!! haha You just reminded me another one in the box for years..later must go back home to check... Bro you back to the future sneakers is this one arh? I feel you man. I used to have an air jordan 4, my mum tot i never wear le, and throw it away. She also threw my star wars addidas sneakers. ): ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...