fesa7044 2nd Gear August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 On 8/15/2020 at 2:20 PM, Julian_zhuo said: Hi guys, I am contemplating between E250 5G verus 7G. My mechanics say 5G is better as there is lesser issues. Anyone can share on this? YES the 250 is so much a better. Car. 5G & 7G are NO difference ,durability,reliability wise. of course the 7 is smoother & run a lower RPM,a no brainer,realli. 7G cost a little bit more to service but @ the end of the day the solenoids inside gearbox will fail if u dun change the ATF once a year or sooner. If u take over a preown one,u gotta do a complete fluid transmission ,replace all fluid ,ATF included & another ATF 3 months later. U wun noe the previous owner do anything to the ATF or it will b juzz a time bomb. Waiting for it to fail. The gearbox is the most conplex in a car nowadays & if it goes,yr wallet.................. will go as well. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 23 hours ago, Ct3833 said: In case anyone interested. https://www.carscoops.com/2020/08/mercedes-benz-e-class-history-from-1926-to-2020-the-tale-of-the-essential-executive-car/amp/ Dis is not the definitive article on the E There are better one’s out there. Here’s the 7 modern ones we still see ion our S’pore 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 (edited) Does anyone wants to have this small motor for the side mirror ? I have a spare to give out. My mirror does not tilt down , so I bought a motor to replace it, but unfortunately it still does not work. I will have to spend some time to work on the gears. I suspect one of the plastic gears might have worn out, may have to buy the motor assembly. Let me know if anyone is keen to have the motor. Edited September 23, 2020 by Ct3833 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 (edited) 3 hours ago, Ct3833 said: Does anyone wants to have this small motor for the side mirror ? I have a spare to give out. My mirror does not tilt down , so I bought a motor to replace it, but unfortunately it still does not work. I will have to spend some time to work on the gears. I suspect one of the plastic gears might have worn out, may have to buy the motor assembly. Let me know if anyone is keen to have the motor. just to give an update, I opened up the assembly and service the small little gears and pinions, cleaned up the geese, spray some WD40 and snapped back the cover , everything is working. So confirmed the old motor is bad. The one without two black bars is the new motor. less than U$6.99 from ebay. In case anyone is looking for the part number. FC 140RE 09490 9.6mm automotive electric mirror drive motor SKU: Color Name: 1pc Total: US $6.99 Edited September 23, 2020 by Ct3833 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
andrewyewkc 5th Gear September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 On 4/5/2020 at 5:19 PM, Ct3833 said: Haha backside itchy. My son Went to order the whole set of Taiwan made alumni pipe , he just had it replaced. Hope it works. There may be a risk of bimetallic corrosion. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galvanic_corrosion 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 4 minutes ago, andrewyewkc said: There may be a risk of bimetallic corrosion. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galvanic_corrosion Haha thanks. Air hose only, but will check it out one day. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 1 hour ago, Ct3833 said: just to give an update, I opened up the assembly and service the small little gears and pinions, cleaned up the geese, spray some WD40 and snapped back the cover , everything is working. So confirmed the old motor is bad. The one without two black bars is the new motor. less than U$6.99 from ebay. In case anyone is looking for the part number. FC 140RE 09490 9.6mm automotive electric mirror drive motor SKU: Color Name: 1pc Total: US $6.99 Well done! The motor looks like those found in toys! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 52 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: Well done! The motor looks like those found in toys! I can only afford toy car mah ..😃😃 Indeed, in fact I think it is used for toys as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 1 minute ago, Ct3833 said: I can only afford toy car mah ..😃😃 Indeed, in fact I think it is used for toys as well. sifu, the two wires connected to the mirror in your pic, is it for mirror diming? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 (edited) 22 minutes ago, Phang said: sifu, the two wires connected to the mirror in your pic, is it for mirror diming? Not sifu lah, i go by agah-ration , worst case i am prepared to buy the motor assembly. 😀 Left side has no auto dimming, it is anti-fog heater. Edited September 23, 2020 by Ct3833 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 29 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Not sifu lah, i go by agah-ration , worst case i am prepared to buy the motor assembly. 😀 Left side has no auto dimming, it is anti-fog heater. What did you use to pry open the mirror side of the housing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 37 minutes ago, mersaylee said: What did you use to pry open the mirror side of the housing? If you go YouTube, there are people who use brute force, but i am lazy, I didnt even remove the housing, I just pry open the reflector which is snapped on to the motor only. I did the same on the w211 previously, no prpblem too. 😅😅. Even if the reflector clip is damaged, a new one is less than $10 from lazada.😄😄 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 12 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: If you go YouTube, there are people who use brute force, but i am lazy, I didnt even remove the housing, I just pry open the reflector which is snapped on to the motor only. I did the same on the w211 previously, no prpblem too. 😅😅. Even if the reflector clip is damaged, a new one is less than $10 from lazada.😄😄 I have a set of 5 bone tools...tried to remove the mirror from the plastic backing on my old 7er before but failed cos the mirror seemed to break before the plastic 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 (edited) 36 minutes ago, mersaylee said: I have a set of 5 bone tools...tried to remove the mirror from the plastic backing on my old 7er before but failed cos the mirror seemed to break before the plastic 😅 7er and S Class are over engineered, normal method does not apply😀😀. But clip on method is common among side mirrors, should not be difficult. The only problem is these are all plastic, they get brittle after some years , so no matter how careful one is, the plastic may just break and give way. For those who have not openned the side mirror reflectors before, this is how simple the clip on is. Edited September 23, 2020 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
riot168 1st Gear October 2, 2020 Share October 2, 2020 On 8/15/2020 at 7:15 PM, Thaiyotakamli said: Yah true but at low gear will jerk, anyway that also same for 7G lol On 8/15/2020 at 2:20 PM, Julian_zhuo said: Hi guys, I am contemplating between E250 5G verus 7G. My mechanics say 5G is better as there is lesser issues. Anyone can share on this? I solved this using a GFB Diverter+ ... if you step on your accelerator smoothly, the low gear jerk is less noticeable.. but the main purpose is to reduce turbo lag Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dreams78 Neutral Newbie December 30, 2020 Share December 30, 2020 Hi,just got a renew COE w212 , any reliable and reasonable price workshop?heard need to change engine, gear oil? And what's the price range like? Any brand to recommend? Also where to get wiper ? Thanks in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic December 30, 2020 Share December 30, 2020 5 hours ago, Dreams78 said: Hi,just got a renew COE w212 , any reliable and reasonable price workshop?heard need to change engine, gear oil? And what's the price range like? Any brand to recommend? Also where to get wiper ? Thanks in advance Just use your regular workshop , there is no diff from any other car on the road, so the servicing charge should be the same as your previous car. The engine oil usage is about 7L, so if you bring your own oil, bring along 2X 4L with you. Service schedule is 15k km per oil change for synthetic oil. Since you just take over the car, to play safe , check the engine oil level at 5 k km and 10k km interval, the oil level can easily last until next 15k km servicing. No special requirement for wiper blades. i bought the original wipers before, very expensive but i didnt feel that it is better than OEM brands like Bosch wiper blades. Other bros may want to comment. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dreams78 Neutral Newbie December 31, 2020 Share December 31, 2020 1 hour ago, Ct3833 said: Just use your regular workshop , there is no diff from any other car on the road, so the servicing charge should be the same as your previous car. The engine oil usage is about 7L, so if you bring your own oil, bring along 2X 4L with you. Service schedule is 15k km per oil change for synthetic oil. Since you just take over the car, to play safe , check the engine oil level at 5 k km and 10k km interval, the oil level can easily last until next 15k km servicing. No special requirement for wiper blades. i bought the original wipers before, very expensive but i didnt feel that it is better than OEM brands like Bosch wiper blades. Other bros may want to comment. Thanks alot for the response. Which brand of engine oil better? And using 10w40? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...