Best Char Kway Teow in Singapore

Scion

Anyone want to intro where to get good penang CKT in Singapore? If you tell me to find them in Penang, then forget about it.

you can't really find a good one that represent cos the two main ingredient cannot find locally:

kway teow - here has different texture, must use the ipoh one.

tau gey - Malaysia one is fat and crunchy, here is dry and thin.

those we have in Singapore at most can copy the right huo hou (wok hei) but always miss in the texture.

Edited by Jman888

you can't really find a good one that represent cos the two main ingredient cannot find locally:

kway teow - here has different texture, must use the ipoh one.

tau gey - Malaysia one is fat and crunchy, here is dry and thin.

those we have in Singapore at most can copy the right huo hou (wok hei) but always miss in the texture.

Agreed with you.

kway teow here tapiocia powder % too much.

tau gey here take 1 day to produce compare to ipoh 4~5 days.

well, to each taste

i like Penang CKT too, but I really hope local version will stay on for a long time (but i'm like many others.... love to eat but cannot cook)

i like my CKT with lots of black sweet sauce and tau gay!!!

yeah ... prefer penang CKT style

1. white = no sweet black sauce

2. only kway teow = no mee one

3. plenty of tau gey + see ham + the vege (the very strong flavor one)

4. yummy prawns

5. last but not least ... spicy [thumbsup]

local CKT spoil the taste

1. black sause = sweet

2. mix with mee = spoil the kway teow taste

3. less tau gey, less ham and most importantly less vege (the flavor)

4. prawn not fresh

5. the spice no shiok

i'm surprised no one mentioned Zion Road CKT

some might think it's overrated, but i do go there once in a while to get my fix

considering the really outstanding CKT is getting lesser

my favourite one was actually at AMK 409 market (maybe tasted wonderful partly due to childhood memories)

There was one stall called newton ckt or something in serangoon market which I like but unfortunately it was closed down a couple of years ago. Don't know how is that old uncle now.

is it at serangoon gardens hawker centre (not Chomp Chomp)? the corner stall near the main road?

Penang CKT, Try " Malaysia Boleh " @ Jurong Point, the hawker serves all malaysia styled hawker fares at reasonable prices too. ( May be not the best yet, but i like my CKT hot and spicy )

Once you walk in, look for the longest Q somewhere in the middle next the F&B drink kiosk, literally wipe he plate dry in less than 3-4 mins.

Serving quite small but not bad lah.

For Penang style CKT, I tried Dong Ji at Old Airport Road before. Not bad but the owner cooks a plate at a time. I was like 4th in the queue and had to wait for 15 mins.

Another place to try Penang style is at Geylang Lor 25A (walking distance from Aljunied MRT). They are more famous for their assam laksa though

http://www.penangseafoodrestaurant.com.sg

For local style CKT, I personally like the stall at Hong Lim (level 2).

another good CKT is at Telok Blangah Cresent. used to be from Margaret Drive stall........

the sad part is he only open in the evenings........

is it at serangoon gardens hawker centre (not Chomp Chomp)? the corner stall near the main road?

Yes, now the stall is taken over by the bread stall.

Serving quite small but not bad lah.

Ya there the serving size is smaller than normal (same with the KL Hokkien Mee) so even if 1 person (especially guy) eat likely have to order big plate. The small portion is for tea time or gals or someone on diet.

Hill St CKT is still my top choice. the son's kungfu is now as good as the master's, compared with one year ago. i can no longer tell the difference. good balance of sweet and saltiness. but the auntie's kungfu (the master's wife?) is still not there yet. too much soya sauce which makes it too salty for my taste.

the uncle has suffered a serious fall last year; he fell off his own roof while attempting to conduct some repairs, so he's now retired.

the stall is now run by his sister and his son. personally i can't tell the difference in quality, it's still the best in town, but there're some people who say it's not the same anymore.

here's a photo of him, from Tan Chuan-Jin's facebook. didn't think he would be wheelchair bound. :(

oh.. i didn't know this. no wonder i never see the master at the helm these days. may he have a healthy and happy retirement. thanks for giving us all these years of CKT nirvana.

Edited by Jellandross

Yes, now the stall is taken over by the bread stall.

this is the best CKT for me. too bad, that old uncle can't stand for long anymore. retired already. [:(]

talking about CKT, have anyone old enough to try CKT cooked with duck egg?? [inlove][inlove]

I think fresh duck eggs no longer sold in Singapore for many years... don't know tio banned or what

talking about CKT, have anyone old enough to try CKT cooked with duck egg?? [inlove][inlove]

I think fresh duck eggs no longer sold in Singapore for many years... don't know tio banned or what

never tried before nor do I even know that its used with CKT until weeks ago..however searching through the interweb yielded these information..probably AVA/govt only want sinkies to stick to chicken & fish as main source of food as these are easily farmed

Another reason for its unavailability here is because no approval has been granted to any supplier for the import and sale of fresh duck eggs in Singapore, according to egg supplier Mr Tan Kian Soon of Go Market. Mr Tan says the sale of fresh duck eggs in Singapore had already ceased way before he entered the business around 13 years ago. When asked why, the Agri-Food & Veterinary Authority (AVA) replied that they “have not received any applications to export fresh duck eggs to Singapore”. AVA is the government body that regulates the import of food and has strict criteria for hygiene, and safety. All meat, meat products, eggs and egg products to be imported into Singapore have to come from sources approved by them.

You see or not, my friends? Fry CKT fry until can stay in bungalow!

If you are good, the money will come in.

If you are very very good, no need to say liao.

Most important do not franichise, the quality will be gone.

I reckon HAi KEE @ Telok Blangah Cres has maintained his consistency and an acquired taste for all CKT lovers,

Perhaps the senior citizens of 50-65 yo will remember those twilight years at Margaret Drive store, he single-handledly wipe up plate by plate of sinful morsels of cockles and those skillful drop of sweet black sauce & slice chinese sausages delicately adding in not too early ( not to burn them ) & sprinkle of ' Tau Gay " optional with perfect speed of some h20 delicacy swirl makes his prize possession a winning palate. [nod]

He still dances with his Kuay Teow @ TBC, his hair turning grey & i'm drooling to get my fix again soon, real soon !

Level 2, Hong Lim Hawker Centre @ Chinatown. Best CKT I ever tried. You wont regret it. Pls note, Sunday they are closed but other days they are opened from 630am. Usually I only go for there for weekday lunch or Sat lunch.