Typhoonz 4th Gear October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 thats the same diff for all AD vs PI of same models lah right? in fact BMW Mercs etc the spread is much higher. Higher spread due to their selling price and the "prestige" that comes with it... All I know the "prestige" that you paid for the car initially comes with "prestige" level of maintenance costs... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 Also, i remember the 2 seats in 3rd row for both sharan and galaxy, while spacious enough, will not be easy/comfortable for anyone to sit in between. Plus, there's also no seat belt... just curious why you insist on the need to seat 3 at the 3rd row instead of 3 at the 2nd row? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 just curious why you insist on the need to seat 3 at the 3rd row instead of 3 at the 2nd row? Not insist. Just cater. My own family dynamics is quite manageable, but there could be occasions where extended family comes into the picture, and so ideally i'll like to cater for those (admittedly rare) instances. I've had to chauffeur my uncles/aunties together with my grandma (who's on wheelchair) and has a maid. It would therefore be good if can have option of sitting 6 (not counting driver) and still have one seat on 3rd row folded down for wheelchair, or luggage, etc. And it's when 2nd row already occupied. So for estima, previa, ody, elgrand, etc., i was looking at 8-seater instead of 7-seater - although wife has suggested that we maybe should not care too much beyond our own family, and consider 7-seater... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 Not insist. Just cater. My own family dynamics is quite manageable, but there could be occasions where extended family comes into the picture, and so ideally i'll like to cater for those (admittedly rare) instances. I've had to chauffeur my uncles/aunties together with my grandma (who's on wheelchair) and has a maid. It would therefore be good if can have option of sitting 6 (not counting driver) and still have one seat on 3rd row folded down for wheelchair, or luggage, etc. And it's when 2nd row already occupied. So for estima, previa, ody, elgrand, etc., i was looking at 8-seater instead of 7-seater - although wife has suggested that we maybe should not care too much beyond our own family, and consider 7-seater... buy a merc viano i saw a 2.2 CDI one registered as a passenger vehicle just this weekend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 Not insist. Just cater. My own family dynamics is quite manageable, but there could be occasions where extended family comes into the picture, and so ideally i'll like to cater for those (admittedly rare) instances. I've had to chauffeur my uncles/aunties together with my grandma (who's on wheelchair) and has a maid. It would therefore be good if can have option of sitting 6 (not counting driver) and still have one seat on 3rd row folded down for wheelchair, or luggage, etc. And it's when 2nd row already occupied. So for estima, previa, ody, elgrand, etc., i was looking at 8-seater instead of 7-seater - although wife has suggested that we maybe should not care too much beyond our own family, and consider 7-seater... I agree with your Mrs... I think you should just cater for the number of pax and requirements on a daily basis... Other than that it'll be on a adhoc basis... At most pack whoever you can into your car and the rest take cab? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 Higher spread due to their selling price and the "prestige" that comes with it... All I know the "prestige" that you paid for the car initially comes with "prestige" level of maintenance costs... AD warranty is worth paying for IMO especially for such a high value item... ive owned 2 PI cars previously n lucky had no issues... now i old liao cant b bothered with self DIY car stuff liao so AD is hassle free... of cse there are some ADs with hundreds of complaints so avoid those Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 AD warranty is worth paying for IMO especially for such a high value item... ive owned 2 PI cars previously n lucky had no issues... now i old liao cant b bothered with self DIY car stuff liao so AD is hassle free... of cse there are some ADs with hundreds of complaints so avoid those Also true lah... At least at the back of your mind there's the AD as a backup... Actually I do believe that the "extra" price paid comparing with AD vs PI is the "warranty payment"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 Higher spread due to their selling price and the "prestige" that comes with it... All I know the "prestige" that you paid for the car initially comes with "prestige" level of maintenance costs... Think no pt complaining about the margins. They are doing a business. And cars are hot property here. They do have a showroom and workshop to run after all. If u feel better about buying from PI, then go ahead. U may think it's ok for them to earn only <10k from a car. Then all the AD tell u go fly kite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 Think no pt complaining about the margins. They are doing a business. And cars are hot property here. They do have a showroom and workshop to run after all. If u feel better about buying from PI, then go ahead. U may think it's ok for them to earn only <10k from a car. Then all the AD tell u go fly kite. Agreed... There are more demand than supplies... If I can afford a new car then both PIs and ADs are okie... Some die die also won't go PIs and vice versa... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 what happened to ur ford galaxy? Still on sgcarmart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 buy a merc viano i saw a 2.2 CDI one registered as a passenger vehicle just this weekend thought earlier in this (or is it another) thread, someone said viano has lots of problems? I agree with your Mrs... I think you should just cater for the number of pax and requirements on a daily basis... Other than that it'll be on a adhoc basis... At most pack whoever you can into your car and the rest take cab? sigh… maybe i'm being overly considerate. not only on car, but other issues too... anyway, if really have little or not choice, i'll not shortchange my family, and will give it first priority. Too bad if i can't cater for the rest (which I actually don't need to, anyway…). Think no pt complaining about the margins. They are doing a business. And cars are hot property here. They do have a showroom and workshop to run after all. If u feel better about buying from PI, then go ahead. U may think it's ok for them to earn only <10k from a car. Then all the AD tell u go fly kite. This is true. The problem is also that during the boom days, many ADs built (not sure bought or leased) huge showrooms that they cannot afford to let go now (unlike the SEs) just like that… So the overheads are expectedly high, and they have to make more from selling each car to cover those. If only the PIs (or any other ADs who bite the bullet and go for volume instead of high margin) have comparable models that are much cheaper, then the ADs will not be able to hold their ridiculous prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yo2020 6th Gear October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 A $180K car with only an OMV of 29K? OMV 29k + ARF 33k + Selling price 180k = Odyssey (KM top model) OMV 40k + ARF 49k + Selling price 197k = Previa OMV 41k + ARF 49.5k + Selling price 209k = Sharan higher OMV translates to higher ARF n then translates to higher selling price. Previa has 16k higher ARF, but also at ~17k higher selling price. i dont see how Ody chops carrot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 thought earlier in this (or is it another) thread, someone said viano has lots of problems? sigh… maybe i'm being overly considerate. not only on car, but other issues too... anyway, if really have little or not choice, i'll not shortchange my family, and will give it first priority. Too bad if i can't cater for the rest (which I actually don't need to, anyway…). This is true. The problem is also that during the boom days, many ADs built (not sure bought or leased) huge showrooms that they cannot afford to let go now (unlike the SEs) just like that… So the overheads are expectedly high, and they have to make more from selling each car to cover those. If only the PIs (or any other ADs who bite the bullet and go for volume instead of high margin) have comparable models that are much cheaper, then the ADs will not be able to hold their ridiculous prices. That's of course family comes first... If not for the family, a saloon will be good enuff instead of having to consider so much... If I were you I will just get what I can afford (considering safety and features) and not over due to other occasional factors... If really want to take everything into consideration, a mini bus will be the best... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 OMV 29k + ARF 33k + Selling price 180k = Odyssey (KM top model) OMV 40k + ARF 49k + Selling price 197k = Previa OMV 41k + ARF 49.5k + Selling price 209k = Sharan higher OMV translates to higher ARF n then translates to higher selling price. Previa has 16k higher ARF, but also at ~17k higher selling price. i dont see how Ody chops carrot. Anyway all cars in Singapore are overpriced regardless of how their prices are broken down... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 OMV 29k + ARF 33k + Selling price 180k = Odyssey (KM top model) OMV 40k + ARF 49k + Selling price 197k = Previa OMV 41k + ARF 49.5k + Selling price 209k = Sharan higher OMV translates to higher ARF n then translates to higher selling price. Previa has 16k higher ARF, but also at ~17k higher selling price. i dont see how Ody chops carrot. if ody omv 29k, after basic taxes, reg fee, total fee is 67,540. Plus let's say 75k coe = 142,540. Sell at 180k, profit = $37,460 if previa omv 40k, after basic taxes, reg fee, total fee is 96,140. Plus let's say 75k coe = 171,140. Sell at 197k, profit = $25,860 hee hee… sell carrot lor… Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 OMV 29k + ARF 33k + Selling price 180k = Odyssey (KM top model) OMV 40k + ARF 49k + Selling price 197k = Previa OMV 41k + ARF 49.5k + Selling price 209k = Sharan higher OMV translates to higher ARF n then translates to higher selling price. Previa has 16k higher ARF, but also at ~17k higher selling price. i dont see how Ody chops carrot. also depends on how open to bargaining the AD is even if the initial margin is the same in my experience, KM quite tao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 if ody omv 29k, after basic taxes, reg fee, total fee is 67,540. Plus let's say 75k coe = 142,540. Sell at 180k, profit = $37,460 if previa omv 40k, after basic taxes, reg fee, total fee is 96,140. Plus let's say 75k coe = 171,140. Sell at 197k, profit = $25,860 hee hee… sell carrot lor… previa is almost 9yr old design... for sure the new previa, whenever it appears, will have the same new premium. u need to compare apple to apple n cant expect old design to sell the same price as new desings Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 13, 2014 Share October 13, 2014 previa is almost 9yr old design... for sure the new previa, whenever it appears, will have the same new premium. u need to compare apple to apple n cant expect old design to sell the same price as new desings Well… I guess you have a good point there. Biante would have margin of about 32k, so it's somewhere betw previa and ody... but a check on peugeot 5008, shows margin of only 9k leh… i always thought it's the conti cars that will enjoy steep margin so can afford to bid high coe… but this is strange... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...