Mazda 5 - requesting owners feedback

Dgeralds

Wow $112.800? We got it around $105K less than a year ago. How could that be with COE below $40K? Price of body went up?

Β 

Β 

Eversince 1st Jan 2018, there is an additional VES surcharge of $10,000 for Mazda 5.

Β 

Hence the price today for a similar COE will definitely be more expensive than 2017 & before.

Β 

I bought mine at $103,800 (60K FOC servicing) before overtrade back in Feb 2016 when the COE for CAT B suddenly drop from $50K to $38K.

TEK revised the price downwards by about $11K.

Β 

However I only managed to get my ride after 5 COE biddings, as subsequentlt CAT B COE rebounds back.

I ended up with $47K CAT B COE but at the price of $101,800 nett at the expense of more than 2 months waiting.Β 

↑ Advertisement

Eversince 1st Jan 2018, there is an additional VES surcharge of $10,000 for Mazda 5.

Β 

Hence the price today for a similar COE will definitely be more expensive than 2017 & before.

Β 

I bought mine at $103,800 (60K FOC servicing) before overtrade back in Feb 2016 when the COE for CAT B suddenly drop from $50K to $38K.

TEK revised the price downwards by about $11K.

Β 

However I only managed to get my ride after 5 COE biddings, as subsequentlt CAT B COE rebounds back.

I ended up with $47K CAT B COE but at the price of $101,800 nett at the expense of more than 2 months waiting.

101k is good deal liao..now with lower Coe cat b, still 110+ bec of stupid no value add ves surcharge.. It's just another govt trick to make car prices so unaffordable to achieve their aim of car lite, at expense of people needs..govt is for themselves, AD for profit , car owners ownself die ownself problem..

Β 

I remember recently during Dec 2017 or Jan 2018, TEK has a promotion for Mazda 5 @ $99,800 for a limited period.

Β 

Jaws dropped, and happy for any car buyers who secured and bought it.Β Β 

I remember recently during Dec 2017 or Jan 2018, TEK has a promotion for Mazda 5 @ $99,800 for a limited period.

Β 

Jaws dropped, and happy for any car buyers who secured and bought it.

Was it for the test drive car bro? Last car show also hv same price, but for test drive car..

Actually these are like whack cars. People actually whack like crazy during test drives

And that's why I dun buy test cars no matter how cheap they are.. Not worth the problems later..

Actually these are like whack cars. People actually whack like crazy during test drives

Still remember what my SE told me during test drive: "why you so light footed, like that how you test the car, no need to scare, just whack it!"

Its covered by warranty

But I dun want to waste time keep going back to workshop to repair the wacked like siao test car, even if got warranty..

Just heard from SE, TEK likely not reducing Mazda 5 price even after Coe cat b plunged today.. greedy busturds..

Β 

I realise that Mazda new car pricing has no direct correlation to COE pricing trend.

Β 

Need to factor in that Mazda 5 is subjected to additional $10,000 VES surcharge since Jan 2018 as well.

Cannot compare with Mazda 5 pricing before 2018.

Was it for the test drive car bro? Last car show also hv same price, but for test drive car..

Β 

I cannot remember if it stated for Demo car pricing.

Β 

But then again, pretty attractive price.

Β 

Anyway, the test routes for Mazda is always short distance with many traffic junctions in between.

No chance that any test drive can redline too, unless the test car is a sports sedan etc.

Β 

MPV potential buyers are usually relax type.Β  [laugh]

I realise that Mazda new car pricing has no direct correlation to COE pricing trend.

Β 

Need to factor in that Mazda 5 is subjected to additional $10,000 VES surcharge since Jan 2018 as well.

Cannot compare with Mazda 5 pricing before 2018.

Yes, you've got a point.. I remember the price was 107/109 after jan18 too ( think early Feb) after this ves surcharge, so I'm basing on this price to measure against now, when Coe is lower..at the current price, dun think it's worthwhile to get the same car when Coe is lower..

Worthwhile is relative. It only makes sense if you have a similar product for comparison.

Β 

If you had noticed the trend in the price history of the M5, it's alrdy one of the cars over the recent years priced at making a lower margin than most other cars.

Β 

Due to various factors like older mature model to market, nearing end of life, etc. It's still a steal for a mid sized mpv w sliding doors! Get it before it's no longer sold!

Β 

The refreshed skyactiv engine under its hood is the important new update to the cosmetically aged car, if u don't mind the minimal frills.

Edited by Putumayam

Worthwhile is relative. It only makes sense if you have a similar product for comparison.

Β 

If you had noticed the trend in the price history of the M5, it's alrdy one of the cars over the recent years priced at making a lower margin than most other cars.

Β 

Due to various factors like older mature model to market, nearing end of life, etc. It's still a steal for a mid sized mpv w sliding doors! Get it before it's no longer sold!

Β 

The refreshed skyactiv engine under its hood is the important new update to the cosmetically aged car, if u don't mind the minimal frills.

Notwithstanding the Borneo motors mad markup for the equally old wish, I'm basing the M5 value over the past few mths, after the ves surcharge. Purely basing on Coe price movements, I dun corresponding decrease when Coe price went south..as a bro said recently there's no correlation between the car price n Coe price. So I like to know where the difference went to.. I can only think of their increased margin.

Β 

Yes, M5 w skyactiv 2l engine is better than the old one ,w sliding door to boot..I sit in one almost daily in my colleague M5. It's good car, but unfathomable price

↑ Advertisement