Car Names Pronunciation

BabyBlade

To be honest I'm not exactly sure the most accurate pronunciation for some of them. Like Hyundai. Hee-yoon-Die, Hyun-Die or Hyun-Day?

Everyone's got a different pronunciation. Maybe someone who knows please enlighten us.

^ Pronunciations in English vary. Among the variants are:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai

Edited by Aaronlkl

To be honest I'm not exactly sure the most accurate pronunciation for some of them. Like Hyundai. Hee-yoon-Die, Hyun-Die or Hyun-Day?

Hyundai = Hun-day

Old anker: "Hello? Ler chit dao si chia pang huh? Wah ae chia ai wah orr yew, orr yew barng kah hong barng. Ae sai bo?"

Workshop taokay: "Ae sai... Wa simi chia poon wu zoh... Chia meng ler si simi chia huh?"

Old anker: "Aiya, lao chia lah. Lissan Lam Jiao."

Workshop anker: " knn! Mai chit zhar puey zhar kah limpeh meh chor way hor!"

[laugh] u still can remember the blue bird ah?

If still around, at least 25 years liow loh

Singaporeans...

Suite becomes "Suit"

Lingerie becomes "Ling-Ger-Ree"

February - We usually omit the first R.

Miniature becomes "Mi-Ni-Cher"

Library becomes "Lie-Berry"

Salmon becomes "Sell-Men"

Pronunciation becomes "Pro-Nounce-See-Ay-Tion"

Haha.

Singaporeans...

Suite becomes "Suit"

Lingerie becomes "Ling-Ger-Ree"

February - We usually omit the first R.

Miniature becomes "Mi-Ni-Cher"

Library becomes "Lie-Berry"

Salmon becomes "Sell-Men"

Pronunciation becomes "Pro-Nounce-See-Ay-Tion"

Haha.

Neh mai la

Most pple cant even pronounce the word "pronunciation"

Neh mai la

Most pple cant even pronounce the word "pronunciation"

I can. Is pro nan ci ae tion. People always say pro noun ci ae tion.

Another common wrong pronounciation is declaration.

Right was of saying is de car ray tion. Old people usually says de clay la tion.

Huh?

Why 'huh'?

I've heard more pronunciations of Porsche in my lifetime than there are styles of the 911. OK, to be fair, there aren't too many of the latter. [laugh]

But seriously, do you say:

"Porsh"

"Por-shah" (short 'ah' sound)

or

"Por-shay"

?

EDIT: Oh, I just realised your "huh" was probably related to the fact that BB had begun her post with Porsche. Obviously, I had completely missed that as my eye was drawn immediately to the list. Apologies.

Why 'huh'?

I've heard more pronunciations of Porsche in my lifetime than there are styles of the 911. OK, to be fair, there aren't too many of the latter. [laugh]

But seriously, do you say:

"Porsh"

"Por-shah" (short 'ah' sound)

or

"Por-shay"

?

EDIT: Oh, I just realised your "huh" was probably related to the fact that BB had begun her post with Porsche. Obviously, I had completely missed that as my eye was drawn immediately to the list. Apologies.

Por-Shay is definitely Singaporean only. Haha.

Jaguar is a problem too. The lads on Top Gear pronounce it differently from the way local Singaporeans do.

Most of us say Jar-Guar. For them it's three syllabus.

What about Buick and Ssangyong?

Just heard on radio the Audi ad, the guy say ”Aw dee“, not ”Oh-wu dee“, but those from Audi like still approved the ad.

Por-Shay is definitely Singaporean only. Haha.

Jaguar is a problem too. The lads on Top Gear pronounce it differently from the way local Singaporeans do.

Most of us say Jar-Guar. For them it's three syllabus.

What about Buick and Ssangyong?

I've always said "Por-sha" (short second sound) and "Jag-yew-ah". I believe those are correct.

Buick = "Boo-yick"

Ssangyong = who knows and who cares? Not like I'm going to buy one any time. [laugh]. But I say it like it's spelt, hissing like a snake at first. :D

Oh, BTW, after I became more familiar with German culture and language, I've pronounced VW correctly, i.e. "Folks-va-gen".