Upgrade to EC

Starhub

but there is not 1 but many success story wor

upgrade from HDB to EC ... 5-7 years later sell and make $500k

sibei good deal leh ... no?

even obiwan said ... buy at toyota price and sell at lexus price

Yes yes... then like tis hagedeebee lagi gooder, can easily gib u even better profit of > 500K right...

IMO not a good time to buy any property now...there'll be further correction in price.

If buy private condo ya not a good time to buy cos prices is coming down. Developer dun dare to bid too high for new land. New launch in the future should be cheaper.

Many choices in the market now, new launch and resales, if priced too high all kanna stuck.

It's buyer market now. Do some homework first when the right time arrives ( example no ABSD) then can go in liao.

If buy private condo ya not a good time to buy cos prices is coming down. Developer dun dare to bid too high for new land. New launch in the future should be cheaper.

Many choices in the market now, new launch and resales, if priced too high all kanna stuck.

It's buyer market now. Do some homework first when the right time arrives ( example no ABSD) then can go in liao.

absd is like [grin]

AUT_4131.jpg

but there is not 1 but many success story wor

upgrade from HDB to EC ... 5-7 years later sell and make $500k

sibei good deal leh ... no?

even obiwan said ... buy at toyota price and sell at lexus price

Last time about 10 years ago those bought at $4xx psf now sell $9xx psf. Last time 3 bedroom about 1300 sqft. So make $500k to $700k is not a problem.

Now new EC selling about $800 psf, the 3 bedroom unit also much smaller about 1000 sqft, to make $500k to $700k in10 years time, they need to sell $1300 to $1500 psf. Not easy...

absd is like [grin]

AUT_4131.jpg

Bro, you standby liao is it? Hahaha

I think TDSR should remain, ABSD hope can remove in next year.

Last time about 10 years ago those bought at $4xx psf now sell $9xx psf. Last time 3 bedroom about 1300 sqft. So make $500k to $700k is not a problem.

Now new EC selling about $800 psf, the 3 bedroom unit also much smaller about 1000 sqft, to make $500k to $700k in10 years time, they need to sell $1300 to $1500 psf. Not easy...

me is like guy in green [grin]

not in the race at all

funny-sports-pictures-yellow-card.jpg

with 6.9M population on track ... never say never

after we have seen jurong & pasir ris $1200psf unbelievable ... now is a norm

the first time i saw hdb $500k ... walao 1/2 a million leh ... jaw drop

now ... some may even shout ok la ... mai hiam la ... last time police wear short ... now police use ipad hor

pinnacle @ duxton dbss ... owner shout no $2M no sell ...

with 6.9M population ... never say never

after we have seen jurong & pasir ris $1200psf unbelievable ... now is a norm

Now Gov is like full force pushing EC, unless some years ago no New EC launch at all.

I still think for first timer if can afford then buy a small EC unit first. When down the road ( anyway the EC construction and MOP will add up to about 8 years) can afford then invest another unit to rent out for passive income.

1st timer better buy EC penthouse

buy $1M-ish sell $2.5M up ... muahahahaha

very big pot of gold ... cheng hu dig well and you take water [thumbsup]

I stay in a EC which turned private years ago.

I would say staying in private housing is different from hdb, at least the smell is different..offence meant.

Simi smell? ... I don't get it ...

I have been a low-level civil slave for the last decade so obviously the remuneration is like crap. paiseh if I cannot comprehend the logic of 'upgrading' to EC when I have worked pretty hard to fully pay off my hdb loan. In fact, the only thing I worry about at the moment is my boy's education. So even if I tio pok by ah gong tomorrow for any reason, think I won't be too worried, at least I know I won't be evicted from my humble flat.

Compared to some relatives, they literally live in fear of being retrenched from their jobs. I know of one who sold off his new car, resort to driving taxi at night and even borrowed $ from legalised ah long company cos he could no longer afford the monthly installments for his uncompleted condo. He claimed that he cannot sell now cos he would literally lose everything. Last I heard he's going to attend court to face some bankruptcy matters. He has three very young boys and the whole family had to move in with his in-laws...seriously XIA SUAY! BUT some ten years ago, he was doing very well. Fully paid up his 4rm HDB flat, bought a bmw 5 series with some profits from investments. At CNY can even brag that whatever he did, money would just keep following him.

The point of my post: Stay EC or private property really so shiok meh? I thought having a roof for our loved ones & spending quality time with them are the most important issues on hand? There must be some kind of priviledge or intrinsic value that I simply cannot fathom. Or have I been a lowly-paid civil slave for too long?

I have been a low-level civil slave for the last decade so obviously the remuneration is like crap. paiseh if I cannot comprehend the logic of 'upgrading' to EC when I have worked pretty hard to fully pay off my hdb loan. In fact, the only thing I worry about at the moment is my boy's education. So even if I tio pok by ah gong tomorrow for any reason, think I won't be too worried, at least I know I won't be evicted from my humble flat.

Compared to some relatives, they literally live in fear of being retrenched from their jobs. I know of one who sold off his new car, resort to driving taxi at night and even borrowed $ from legalised ah long company cos he could no longer afford the monthly installments for his uncompleted condo. He claimed that he cannot sell now cos he would literally lose everything. Last I heard he's going to attend court to face some bankruptcy matters. He has three very young boys and the whole family had to move in with his in-laws...seriously XIA SUAY! BUT some ten years ago, he was doing very well. Fully paid up his 4rm HDB flat, bought a bmw 5 series with some profits from investments. At CNY can even brag that whatever he did, money would just keep following him.

The point of my post: Stay EC or private property really so shiok meh? I thought having a roof for our loved ones & spending quality time with them are the most important issues on hand? There must be some kind of priviledge or intrinsic value that I simply cannot fathom. Or have I been a lowly-paid civil slave for too long?

To me, you are too kiasi, and your relative is too kiasu. Why not strike a balance between the 2?

It sounds like your relative either overstretched himself, lost quite some money in investments, or both.

Bro, need to balance between what you aspire for in life and also savings/investment.