Optramagnum 6th Gear September 19, 2014 Share September 19, 2014 I feel being polite and give way to make others' days, make me feel much happier than leading him/her on the road. Equally, I do get upset to see ppl speed up when I signal and raise my arm up to to-long. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mz3SP0907 3rd Gear September 19, 2014 Share September 19, 2014 Wow! Kudos to all the Bros n sis here for making other people's day. Keep it up the spirit of mcforummer. I do it sometimes... After reading this thread, must do it all the times liao. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator September 19, 2014 Author Share September 19, 2014 Stopped at the stop line as I saw a taxi approaching from the left. He saw my stationary bike and waved for me to proceed even though he had the right of way. Gave him a firm nod to thank him as my hand was on the clutch lever. Thank you Comfort Taxi driver. Not all taxi drivers are bad! Wow! Kudos to all the Bros n sis here for making other people's day. Keep it up the spirit of mcforummer. I do it sometimes... After reading this thread, must do it all the times liao. Sometimes our actions may not necessarily be reciprocated but that should not stop us from being kind to others. (; A little goes a long way. Going to bed now. Goodnight! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smoothscott 5th Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 I ever received a 50¢ coupon with 20 minutes remaining from a generous guy as he was done with his errands and he saw me just finished parking and I was about to tear my coupon. That was a really generous gesture and its really makes your day, not in terms of getting the 20 minutes of coupon, but knowing that someone would be such generous and considerate. Thanks to the guy and hopefully I'm able to return the gesture to someone if I have a chance to. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mz3SP0907 3rd Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Stopped at the stop line as I saw a taxi approaching from the left. He saw my stationary bike and waved for me to proceed even though he had the right of way. Gave him a firm nod to thank him as my hand was on the clutch lever. Thank you Comfort Taxi driver. Not all taxi drivers are bad! Sometimes our actions may not necessarily be reciprocated but that should not stop us from being kind to others. (; A little goes a long way. Going to bed now. Goodnight! True. But what goes round must come round. Even nice gestures might not be reciprocated. Its ok lah. Life goes on... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mz3SP0907 3rd Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 We always do that but seldom see people thanking us for giving way. Wahahahahahahah. If you see the driver in a white car raising hand to thank you for giving way at KPE from Sengkang to town in the morning - that's us. :D Me too... white car, travel from sengkang to Pasir panjang by kpe.... hahaha But only on weekends or on leave😊😊😊 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 It might take another generation or two before we can attain Jap standard... Meanwhile, I would be happy if we can have the same standard as our neighbour Malaysia.... Yes, I didn't type wrongly... It's Malaysia. Have the opportunity to drive up north a few time in these 2 years and the drivers' ethics are (sad to say) much better than us... Agree! June of this year, my car' right rear wheel hit a nail in the middle lane, NSH, after Ayer Keroh and this MY sedan next to me on lane 3 immediately slowed down so that I could filtered quickly and stop at shoulder. Owed this driver a big thanks! 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Agree! June of this year, my car' right rear wheel hit a nail in the middle lane, NSH, after Ayer Keroh and this MY sedan next to me on lane 3 immediately slowed down so that I could filtered quickly and stop at shoulder. Owed this driver a big thanks! U must wink that driver lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 At least he gesture sorry, some people act like as if they did nothing wrong. U know those instance when you pull alongside them and u stare at them and they just keep looking straight? Or they stare back and show you the middle finger, that is how episode of road rage get started.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 well, pay that deed forward. that is what i try to do each time someone does a good deed or act of charity for me. i pay it forward the first opportunity i get. like the other day, one of my managers gave me a lift home. i collected my car to pick my wife, offered a ride to one of her colleagues who is staying in the same area a ride home. about a week ago, some one actually gave way to me when i was trying to filter in at a congested junction, i was on the slope. I waved to the driver and he let me passed. the next day, i gave way to a bus on a crowded lane at chinatown so that he can pass and not have to wait for the whole stretch of cars to pass by. pay it forward. some one made your day, go make someone's day. your wife colleague.....i wonder why no one ask this question? Chio or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 your wife colleague.....i wonder why no one ask this question? Chio or not? If chio, will be a bonus for good deed done!! If not chio, the good deed = "noble deed" !!? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 I feel so warm and fuzzy reading this thread. The world is definitely a better place with all the kind people around. Just saying 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Yes only a number of peoples are replying which means that there are thousands out there are not friendly driver lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 your wife colleague.....i wonder why no one ask this question? Chio or not?if my wife colleague chio i will go beyond the call of duty hor.....even if my wife on leave or on mc.....i will help out no matter what.. But too bad....my wife is a fulltime homemaker......hahaha! helped out a chio merc driver pump her tyres.....u know what....she thought i was helpful actually i was in a hurry to pump my own tyres..........hahahaha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Yes only a number of peoples are replying which means that there are thousands out there are not friendly driver lolaiyah....majority out here not mcf member mar! But usually i dont sweat the small stuff.....being courteous and kind is part of living in sg........i was drilled on that for all my schooll yrs so it became second nature. Dowan to say about others though....maybe the werent schooled or served ns here or they just forgot the lessons taught in school and during their ns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charmet 3rd Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Had an old uncle riding a motorbike make my (and other drivers) day when he selflessly used his own cashcard to pay for the parking charges of Malaysian registered vehicle. The Msian vehicle tried to use their Autopass to exit but clearly this does not work in RAMK operated EPS carparks. Most of us were stuck until the uncle very gallantly walked forward and slipped his cashcard in. After that he even asked us to overtake him as his stationary bike was blocking the entrance. But obviously all of us were in awe and asked him to make his way. Funny thing is that the Msian car just drove off without even paying the uncle. But we shd not let them mar the good deed. It is not the size of the vehicle you drive or ride, but the heart of the driver/rider that counts. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DavidOh 5th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 Keep up the good works, bro. Have a great week ahead. Good deeds It’s often been said that it’s better to give than to receive, but did you know that this cliché is actually backed by research? While many of us feel too stressed and busy to worry about helping others with their burdens, or would like to think about doing good deeds when we have more ‘spare’ time, energy and money, altruism is its own reward, and can actually help you relieve stress. Altruistic acts can improve your quality of life in several ways, and are absolutely worth the effort. Here are some ways that helping others helps you: Altruism and Psychological Wellbeing Studies show that altruism is good for your emotional well-being, and can measurably enhance your peace of mind. For example, one study found that dialysis patients, transplant patients and family members who became support volunteers for other patients experienced increased personal growth and emotional well-being. Another study on patients with multiple sclerosis showed that those who offered other MS patients peer support actually experienced greater benefits than their supported peers, including more pronounced improvement on confidence, self-awareness, self-esteem, depression and daily functioning. Those who offered support generally found that their lives were dramatically changed for the better. Altruism and Increased Social SupportStudies also show that what goes around generally does come around. More specifically, when people make altruistic personal sacrifices, they end up reaping what they sow in the form of favors from others. These individuals earn the reputation as altruistic people and end up receiving favors from others who they may not have even directly helped. The favors and social support you ‘earn’ through altruism, combined with the good feelings you get from helping others (see above), more than make up for sacrifices made in the name of altruism. Keeping Things In Perspective Many people don’t realize the strong impact that their comparisons have on their outlook. However, your expectations of life and the people you compare yourself to can make a real difference in your level of life satisfaction. For example, your home may seem shabby to you if you’re comparing it to the living rooms you see in the pages of decorating magazines, or it may seem palatial and opulent compared to the structures inhabited by people in impoverished countries. Helping others in need, especially those who are less fortunate than you, can provide you with a sense of perspective on how fortunate you are to have what you do in life -- be it health, money, or a safe place to sleep, and help you focus less on the things you feel you lack. Helping others with their problems can also help you gain a more positive perspective on the things in life that cause you stress. Building a Better CommunityWhen you do something nice for someone else, often the positive effects go beyond just you and that other person, influencing your whole community. One of my favorite illustrations of this phenomenon is in the movie Pay It Forward where one boy’s good deeds have far-reaching positive consequences. When you do nice things for others, you often enable them to do nice things for others, and the phenomenon grows. Your children and your friends may see your good example and behave in more altruistic ways as well. As Ghandi said, “You must be the change you want to see in the world," and you can contribute to a more positive community. Altruism and Stress ReliefWhen you feel stressed and overwhelmed, you may feel like you’re least able to give. However, acts of altruism can be a great form of stress relief. Studies have shown that the act of giving can activate the area of the brain associated with positive feelings, lifting your spirits, and making you feel better the more you give. And given that altruism can lead to lasting emotional well-being, a more positive perspective, a positive effect on others, and better social standing, altruism certainly does the job as a healthy means for relieving stress and increasing life satisfaction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 your wife colleague.....i wonder why no one ask this question? Chio or not? if you like guys, he is a handsome, geeky looking, tall lanky dude. Had an old uncle riding a motorbike make my (and other drivers) day when he selflessly used his own cashcard to pay for the parking charges of Malaysian registered vehicle. The Msian vehicle tried to use their Autopass to exit but clearly this does not work in RAMK operated EPS carparks. Most of us were stuck until the uncle very gallantly walked forward and slipped his cashcard in. After that he even asked us to overtake him as his stationary bike was blocking the entrance. But obviously all of us were in awe and asked him to make his way. Funny thing is that the Msian car just drove off without even paying the uncle. But we shd not let them mar the good deed. It is not the size of the vehicle you drive or ride, but the heart of the driver/rider that counts. reminded me of the incident at the causeway checkpoint when i didn't have any malaysian cash card to pay for the fee to get in. first time i drove to malaysia after getting my own ride. the car behind me gave me his card to tap out. offered to pay him back, he refused. i was so grateful to him. Yes only a number of peoples are replying which means that there are thousands out there are not friendly driver lol i would say so too given the kinda of bugger drivers we see on the road these days. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...