What to do after driving through flood?

mcf

Best not to cross if water level is up to half of ur wheels. Very dangerous!!! Especially for those low aligned cars like my odyssey now. Every time see flood, just wait at nearby petrol station, minum teh then carry on after water subside. It is God plan for us to rest in this rat race community.y the rush!!! Take it easy...

By the time see flood infront, have time and distance to go to nearest petrol station meh?

Think park at the roadside, wait for the flood to subside if one is not confident or don't want to take the risk due to not knowing how deep the flood is..

During very heavy rain, it's always better to drive on the centre lanes of the roads, at whatever speed you may traveling on.. Usually the roads are convex in a way that the sides are lower for water discharge, and it's always full of water at both side.

I have experienced once when I was traveling 60km/hr on the left side of lent or avenue in the morning 6am.. I just couldn't see how deep is the water ahead and went thru a 30-40cm water and car water pond and swerved into the next lane... Lucky there was no other car, and luckily the car didn't swerve left onto the pavement.

During very heavy rain, it's always better to drive on the centre lanes of the roads, at whatever speed you may traveling on.. Usually the roads are convex in a way that the sides are lower for water discharge, and it's always full of water at both side.

I have experienced once when I was traveling 60km/hr on the left side of lent or avenue in the morning 6am.. I just couldn't see how deep is the water ahead and went thru a 30-40cm water and car water pond and swerved into the next lane... Lucky there was no other car, and luckily the car didn't swerve left onto the pavement.

U need to either change tyre or car.

If is jap or kimchi, it is very likely due to weak steering rack.

I was just made aware that BBDC defensive driving instructors told my friend that deflating tyre pressure is good for wet road. I wonder if this is true. This is blatant misinformation.

In wet, slightly over inflated tyres is better than under inflation any time.

No wonder so many accidents.

U need to either change tyre or car.

If is jap or kimchi, it is very likely due to weak steering rack.

nonsense la. no matter what tire or car, if the water is too deep, the car will spin if you go thru too fast.

I drove thru water puddle @ 110km/h with only right size tyre. Other than slight vibration, nothing else le.

Definitely gear down and drive through a flood. Your car will drop speed as it hits water due to the drag, and if you are trying to get through the water you will be getting ON the gas. You don't want your transmission (especially automatic) to suddenly downshift causing your car to suddenly have power and skid. It also keeps water out of exhaust.

I drove thru water puddle @ 110km/h with only right size tyre. Other than slight vibration, nothing else le.

small puddle lor. go into a deeper puddle see if you spin or not. it depends on the puddle depth and speed. nothing to do with car. tires can only disperse a certain amount of water in a certain time. beyond that it will aqua plane.

How deep r u talking about?

the post you replied to, stated 30-40cm ... to me thats deep. even 15-20cm also dangerous at speed already.

Heard on the radio at 5 plus earlier that there is a flash flood after AMK Ave 1 on CTE.

Decided to take a detour using TPE instead of continuing on it from SLE.

Hope no vehicle or bros got caught in it whether to drive thru quickly or quicker or slower or like me, managed to siam it altogether.

Safe ride and be alert. Wet roads always seem at least to me more careless drivers than norm.

the post you replied to, stated 30-40cm ... to me thats deep. even 15-20cm also dangerous at speed already.

Piang ah!! Where got highway puddle of water so deep?

What I m saying is puddle of water no more 5cm depth but 20cm or more in length

Time to buy SUV Liao.

This type of flood proof vehicles will sell in big numbers when 50yrs floods actually come more than once in every 50 years [sweatdrop]

Edited by Super7

Whether stay long or stay short .. what kills the car is usually water going into air intake - thats why 4x4 have snorkels.

Normal cars can also install snorkel when 50 year flood hits again!!!

I always slow down when going thru flood. My dad told me to speed up instead. If you stay too long in the water it will cause car to die. Just dash through. Den do the usual intermittent braking to clear out any excessive water which might be there.

Water snakes will climb into slow moving cars in floods [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]