Freestylers09 5th Gear February 5, 2015 Share February 5, 2015 some companies are recruiters screen through liao then 2nd level to bosses to interview some are recruiters with bosses interview together end of the day must see recruiters like you anot to pass to 2nd level lor..also see heng suay one...LOL ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 5, 2015 Share February 5, 2015 able to share some pointers in improving LinkedIn format? I actually pose a picture of me and my wife as a profile pic, does that gave me brownies point? Afterall, i'm a newly wed You think Facebook cover huh Cmon I believe the wedding photo shoot sure have your individual photo right? Choose one yen tao one to post, try put it as mcf avatar and we will give comment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged February 5, 2015 Share February 5, 2015 You think Facebook cover huh Cmon I believe the wedding photo shoot sure have your individual photo right? Choose one yen tao one to post, try put it as mcf avatar and we will give comment Don't know mah Hence I ask... You want my pic? Here you go Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 5, 2015 Share February 5, 2015 (edited) I prefer not to put foto. In all my resume and applications I sent, never put foto even when employers requested. If they don't want, then don't want lor. What has foto got to do with application? The worst type is those who die die want you to submit foto even you're just there for interview. Foto can always give when job is conspermed mah. Why waste foto? Edited February 5, 2015 by Kangadrool 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carben68 2nd Gear February 5, 2015 Author Share February 5, 2015 (edited) I prefer not to put foto. In all my resume and applications I sent, never put foto even when employers requested. If they don't want, then don't want lor. What has foto got to do with application. The worst type is those who die die want you to submit foto even you're just there for interview. Foto can always give when job is conspermed. Why waste foto? Hi Kangadrool, Not having a photo has its origins in some European labour laws where age discrimination is quite pervasive. You are not allowed to have a picture for that reason. So it is not a key requirements for applications and resumes. In LinkedIn however, studies have shown that having an appropriate Profile Picture gives you 11x more chances of being clicked on and viewed. Cheers.. Edited February 5, 2015 by Carben68 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
efssc 5th Gear February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 (edited) Eh. US shares - one lot is one share. But take note the tax on dividend is 30%. Haha. Wow.. good to see the language being spoken here. Yeah, one can definitely buy US shares share-by-share, but if I do that the commission alone will kill me . Also I like to size my lots per option contract size to sell some calls along the way. And yes, the 30% tax thing got me too , but I learned to live with it, how do I say this... "70% of something is still better than 100% of nothing"? Say if I can find something that pays around 1% dividend per month, that would still be 0.7% after tax and close to 8.5% per annum, good enough to beat inflation and then some. Haha. Getting a little too excited here . Sorry for hijacking your thread TS! Edited February 6, 2015 by efssc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 I prefer not to put foto. In all my resume and applications I sent, never put foto even when employers requested. If they don't want, then don't want lor. What has foto got to do with application? The worst type is those who die die want you to submit foto even you're just there for interview. Foto can always give when job is conspermed mah. Why waste foto? Ahemmmm......u sibei hemsome until u scared the HR ladies stalk u izit? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 (edited) No lah... IMO, these (foto, current & expected salary, reasons for leaving, date of birth) at initial stage are discriminatory. This should be outlawed. I am surprised it wasn't. Ahemmmm......u sibei hemsome until u scared the HR ladies stalk u izit? Edited February 6, 2015 by Kangadrool 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 Firstly, you are working high-street recruiters. Those who do mass and are not typically very professional. Understand that it is a human oriented business and humans have faults. A recruiter cannot always tell your current situation. You may not clearly indicate in your profile that you are "Actively seeking opportunities" unless you are already unemployed. So they do test the waters. Not all are proficient in the technique and come across pushy. You can't always tell if the role is live. But why dig a well only when you are thirsty. You are not offered a job, just an interview. You cannot turn down something you don't have yet.. and that is the offer. I have attended interviews even when I am not considering. I turn down at offer with a good reason, maintain that relationship. Next year, they could call me up again. Maybe by then I will be thirsty and I have already dug my well.. Cheers.. Seems like you didn't understood what I meant. Some times, you are looking only at a specific direction of growth and you are not desperate for a job. What is so hard to understand when you have indicated that you are looking for only XXX position? Besides, I realised many such recruiters seems to just hit only any results of a search of active profiles and make calls. They don't even view your profile which you may have spent some time with. Maybe they are the blacksheeps and you are different. however, it seems very much that the amount of black sheeps is significantly much higher. Another thing, I feel that it is absolutely unfair for recruiters to not offer company name when scouting. Perhaps I am not in a "hungry" state, I tend to be more picky. but shouldn't employment be mutual that the employees are aware what they are submitting for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 LinkedIn is a good place to start esp for white collars ... just beware of fakes . Not just fakes, recently con-artists are also getting more commonplace. I have received invites from some people supposedly from some banks or investment firms, after accepting their invite, they send you a mail telling you about some "unclaimed money". This type immediately I remove and block. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 No lah... IMO, these (foto, current & expected salary, reasons for leaving, date of birth) at initial stage are discriminatory. This should be outlawed. I am surprised it wasn't. true that.. why care so much about my current drawn salary?? what matters is how much are you willing to pay for this position.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 Seems like you didn't understood what I meant. Some times, you are looking only at a specific direction of growth and you are not desperate for a job. What is so hard to understand when you have indicated that you are looking for only XXX position? Besides, I realised many such recruiters seems to just hit only any results of a search of active profiles and make calls. They don't even view your profile which you may have spent some time with. Maybe they are the blacksheeps and you are different. however, it seems very much that the amount of black sheeps is significantly much higher. Another thing, I feel that it is absolutely unfair for recruiters to not offer company name when scouting. Perhaps I am not in a "hungry" state, I tend to be more picky. but shouldn't employment be mutual that the employees are aware what they are submitting for? You are absolutely right. I think the reason for the low quality recruiters is because they couldn't get a job so they went to recruitment. Either that or their comprehension is very bad or they are too lazy to read that you are only looking for XXX position. By the way XXX position is my favourite position too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 true that.. why care so much about my current drawn salary?? what matters is how much are you willing to pay for this position.. I also agree with that. That's cos these sneaky companies will pay you low if you ask too low. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 Seems like you didn't understood what I meant. Some times, you are looking only at a specific direction of growth and you are not desperate for a job. What is so hard to understand when you have indicated that you are looking for only XXX position? Besides, I realised many such recruiters seems to just hit only any results of a search of active profiles and make calls. They don't even view your profile which you may have spent some time with. Maybe they are the blacksheeps and you are different. however, it seems very much that the amount of black sheeps is significantly much higher. Another thing, I feel that it is absolutely unfair for recruiters to not offer company name when scouting. Perhaps I am not in a "hungry" state, I tend to be more picky. but shouldn't employment be mutual that the employees are aware what they are submitting for? I have have following this thread and I seem to be reading this a lot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
revamp 3rd Gear February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carben68 2nd Gear February 6, 2015 Author Share February 6, 2015 (edited) Seems like you didn't understood what I meant. Some times, you are looking only at a specific direction of growth and you are not desperate for a job. What is so hard to understand when you have indicated that you are looking for only XXX position? Besides, I realised many such recruiters seems to just hit only any results of a search of active profiles and make calls. They don't even view your profile which you may have spent some time with. Maybe they are the blacksheeps and you are different. however, it seems very much that the amount of black sheeps is significantly much higher. Another thing, I feel that it is absolutely unfair for recruiters to not offer company name when scouting. Perhaps I am not in a "hungry" state, I tend to be more picky. but shouldn't employment be mutual that the employees are aware what they are submitting for? Hi Knoobie, You are correct. There will be instances when recruiters will do a bad job. And also, there will be instances when recruiters do a good job. It all depends on the recruiter, not the industry. The important thing is to find one that serves your goal. A recruiter typically works on CONTINGENCY. This model is where a recruiter is paid only when the placement is successful. In this mode, an employer can work with many agencies as they only have to pay the agency that is successful. Therefore, it is not unexpected that an agency will choose not to reveal the customer as a candidate can approach the customer directly and cause him/her loose the fee. The alternative is the RETAINED model. In this model, the employer will engage an agency on exclusive with upfront payments. In cases like these, the agency has no qualms about revealing the customer. If a candidate approaches the customer and hires that person, the agency is still paid according to the terms of contract signed between the customer/agency. Cheers.. I have have following this thread and I seem to be reading this a lot. Hi Jamesc, We are willing to spend 16-20 years educating ourselves but expect that finding/getting a job to be the easy part. That is an over-simplification. A typical career consultation takes days. I agree that I do not understand everything (many times, it's simply because a single paragraph isn't enough to describe the issue) and sometimes, I just do not know. Cheers.. Edited February 6, 2015 by Carben68 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 6, 2015 Share February 6, 2015 I have have following this thread and I seem to be reading this a lot. hahaha.. no mutual understanding.. no wonder job market in singapore so screwed.. on your taste of XXX position got many position! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carben68 2nd Gear February 6, 2015 Author Share February 6, 2015 (edited) true that.. why care so much about my current drawn salary?? what matters is how much are you willing to pay for this position.. Hi Knoobie, Many employers have a salary budget to work with so it important for them to know early rather then at the end of the 1-2 month process that you are over the budget in the first place. Your current salary and your expected salary are two different components. PS. For very senior roles, your current salary isn't as important. Ie. The more strategic and important the role, the less money becomes an issue. Your ability to deliver is the more critical factor. Cheers... Edited February 6, 2015 by Carben68 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...