mersaylee Hypersonic November 11, 2023 Share November 11, 2023 (edited) Catching up on the older posts...only at page 6 😅 ...one ole really kiasu...cataract ops back in 2015 and he yet able to touch his cpf today...😂 ...then got ONE started wearing at 4yo...i wonder why me only started at 11...right after I first saw Lynda Carter in her wonder woman suit...😁 Edited November 11, 2023 by mersaylee ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 11, 2023 Share November 11, 2023 On 11/11/2023 at 8:38 AM, Beregond said: I heard my friends talking about anti blue Ray lens. Any 1 using? Is it really good? Most lenses now have the blue light filter. It really filters out the blue light. I tested with ultra violet torchlight, the light doesn't cast onto the dollar notes when shone through the lenses. It an added protection. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghgan 6th Gear November 11, 2023 Share November 11, 2023 (edited) On 11/11/2023 at 9:41 AM, mersaylee said: That's reasonable price if it's local...i tink someone posted recently he got a pair of progressive from taobao for under 300...but well, lens brand makes all the difference... I have been buying from taobao since 2-3 yrs ago with progressive, transition or computer lens. Of course if can afford, branded lens have much better area of focus and can demand to change lens easily if it does not fit very well.. If buying inhouse or local non-branded lens, I always go with taobao as I did not find any major differences. Taobao was not the top choice when I was deciding to try my 1st progressive lens, I shortlisted lenskart and owndays. The additional cost for transition or computer lens put me off, until a friend recommend me to try Taobao. I figured, the cost of 1 pair of transition and progressive lens is less $100 with $5 air ship from taobao is worth the risk as compare to at least $400+ for local lens. My initial purchase from taobao, I go with adjustable frame that have adjustable nose pad and adjustable temple frame and temple tips, and bigger lens areas for progressive lens. This greatly help to reduce the chances of having a frame that might not fit to your nose bridge or ear as the frame can be easily adjusted. If you know your nose bridge depth, you can ask the taobao seller whether those plastic frame that do not have adjustable nose bridge can fit on your nose bridge. Other things to take note is not to buy a frame that is almost touches your eye brown, it might not fit very well. The other options is buy the spectacles frame locally and ship to taobao via qexpress for around $20+. In this way you can confirm the frame fit nicely to your face. Most frame in taobao are less than $20 and titanium frame and branded cost $30 and above, lens are relative cheap <400 degree depending on your degree with progressive, transition or computer lens. The turnaround time after placing order is around 7-9 days to get it delivered to your door step. Do not higher degree lens will cost more but much cheaper than local lens. For branded lens, local is still the most convenience or JB if you have the time to travel to and fro. Avoid branded lens from taobao, if anything wrong, it is a hassle to send back and fro. Last but not least, if you can afford branded lens, and your eyes is suitable for cataract surgery, must as well go for it. You will get back the feeling of waking up and finally be able to see the ceiling without any spectacles. Edited November 11, 2023 by Ghgan 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 Going osaka, kyoto for 8 days or so. My glasses lenses need to change liao. coating is worn off. Checking owndays prices, seems like JP owndays is cheaper by SG even without any special promo or what. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 9:35 AM, Lala81 said: Going osaka, kyoto for 8 days or so. My glasses lenses need to change liao. coating is worn off. Checking owndays prices, seems like JP owndays is cheaper by SG even without any special promo or what. I replaced my lens in Shanghai 2 visits ago. Like 50 or 60 bucks. They did the job (2 pairs) while I had a quick meal too. 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) On 11/8/2024 at 9:35 AM, Lala81 said: Going osaka, kyoto for 8 days or so. My glasses lenses need to change liao. coating is worn off. Checking owndays prices, seems like JP owndays is cheaper by SG even without any special promo or what. you mean JB? definitely cheaper, mine done in JB last year, the essilor transition+progressive lens difference is >150 Edited November 8, 2024 by Ahwhye 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 You guys are lucky lo. With hi astig, i cannot get it done cheaper. Somemore have to wait. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) On 11/8/2024 at 10:23 AM, Ahwhye said: you mean JB? definitely cheaper, mine done in JB last year, the essilor transition+progressive lens difference is >150 I was in MY but didn't change there. My preference is only for japanese lenses (hoya or asahi etc). Those cheap cheap type of lens coatings I've tried before. Maybe 2 years wear off already. I tend to keep my glasses/lenses for a long while, so i prefer the coating not to wear off so fast. My current pair is 6+ years. Essilor, zeiss I've all tried before. Can't last one. I expect JDM product to be of better quality bah since they sell to japs. Edited November 8, 2024 by Lala81 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) On 11/8/2024 at 10:21 AM, Volvobrick said: I replaced my lens in Shanghai 2 visits ago. Like 50 or 60 bucks. They did the job (2 pairs) while I had a quick meal too. Lol I won't be heading to china bah. This kind of thing cannot tell until you've owned them for long periods. I changed before in queensway 10+ years ago. $50 only. Was shocked by the price then, so much cheaper than what my parents and I used to pay when i was growing up. Lousiest pair of lenses I've ever had by far. yi fen qian yi fen huo (applies locally) Edited November 8, 2024 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 10:31 AM, Lala81 said: I was in MY but didn't change there. My preference is only for japanese lenses (hoya or asahi etc). Those cheap cheap type of lens coatings I've tried before. Maybe 2 years wear off already. I tend to keep my glasses/lenses for a long while, so i prefer the coating not to wear off so fast. My current pair is 6+ years. Essilor, zeiss I've all tried before. Can't last one. I expect JDM product to be of better quality bah since they sell to japs. hahaha, my experience with essilor is not bad, previous pair lasted like > 5 years before show sign of coating wears/scratches. In fact that previous frame show more sign of wear and tear than the lens, me rough handling one. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) On 11/8/2024 at 10:44 AM, Ahwhye said: hahaha, my experience with essilor is not bad, previous pair lasted like > 5 years before show sign of coating wears/scratches. In fact that previous frame show more sign of wear and tear than the lens, me rough handling one. Used essilor is my Uni to just start work years. It's acceptable. 2 years coating start to come off. Less hard wearing than the japs in my experience. Edited November 8, 2024 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 My son wears progressive/transitions since he's on atropine drops. Also i chose jap over essilor. Essilor photochromic lenses are darker than the jap one though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 10:44 AM, Lala81 said: Lol I won't be heading to china bah. This kind of thing cannot tell until you've owned them for long periods. I changed before in queensway 10+ years ago. $50 only. Was shocked by the price then, so much cheaper than what my parents and I used to pay when i was growing up. Lousiest pair of lenses I've ever had by far. yi fen qian yi fen huo (applies locally) For 50 dollars replace every 2 years no heart pain.... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 10:57 AM, Lala81 said: My son wears progressive/transitions since he's on atropine drops. Also i chose jap over essilor. Essilor photochromic lenses are darker than the jap one though. your son wear transition lah, progressive is for old flower eyes 老花... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 11:06 AM, Ahwhye said: your son wear transition lah, progressive is for old flower eyes 老花... yeah the atropine drops make his eyes bit similar to lao hua. but needed to stop his progression. He was 300+ almost 400 degrees at primary 1. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) On 11/8/2024 at 10:57 AM, Volvobrick said: For 50 dollars replace every 2 years no heart pain.... That one few months, the lenses started discoloring and the coating dropping off. Of course those are the days before Owndays came into disrupt the market. That spectacle shop really gave us a lot of rubbish even though it was a popular shop in queensway at the time. My wife's prescription was made wrongly, giving her blur vision for few days while we thought it's just adjustment period. We went back and got it changed. Edited November 8, 2024 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 11:16 AM, Lala81 said: That one few months, the lenses started discoloring and the coating dropping off. I had expensive Crizal lens like that. Replaced for free same thing happened. Hope also gave up and replaced with another brand. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) On 11/8/2024 at 10:57 AM, Lala81 said: My son wears progressive/transitions since he's on atropine drops. Also i chose jap over essilor. Essilor photochromic lenses are darker than the jap one though. In our weather, UV not strong enough. Photochromic lens less reactive. Need some OZ UV to acclimatise the lens. I found lens react faster here after my Oz trip Edited November 8, 2024 by inlinesix ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...