inlinesix Hypersonic August 15, 2017 Share August 15, 2017 does the latest iwatch with heart beat monitoring helps to keep you inform of a danger or its all gimmicky and hardly worth monitoring as you probably dead and then the heart beat monitor confirm that you are. Currently, HRM is not smart enough for that purpose. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic August 15, 2017 Share August 15, 2017 Should get one with a fingerprint scanner lor. It will unlock almost instantly. But I've actually been thinking about disabling it because I read that the police can compel you to use your finger to unlock your phone but they obviously can't force a password out of my head. Wah....lol didn't know you Mafia.LOL Must have lots of secrets in your phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 15, 2017 Author Share August 15, 2017 (edited) I had personal ID tag through SGrunner Group Buy la. My ID tag was attached on top of shoe pouch, which is enough for 1 key + EZ-Link https://www.roadid.com/builder/id/default.aspx?styleid=23#/stylize I just browse thru the RoadID website. Borrowed some idea there. Excuse my lousy art and craft skill, I just want something practical. I make a bigger piece of laminated ID, so I can cut holes to slot the watch wrist band thru. It's waterproof too.. Edited August 15, 2017 by Ender 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2017 Share August 15, 2017 Looks like it must down to either my dad, me, or the kids driving her mad but hor, i would imagine that the thought of the op would make her anxious (so BP up?)? A colleague's mother-in-law just went for the same op 3 mth ago, and after one leg, is now so fearful of the pain that she apparently refuses to do on the other leg... i was like you. But after my wife's episode with the phone loss-and-found, i went to protect mine too... I guess some people are more scared of pain then others. Also depends on the skill and speed of the surgeon. They will super flex your knee to its absolute maximum for the op. So there's some blood flow compromise. If the surgeon is skilled and fast, the swelling and edema later is not as severe as someone who takes his time. Mechanical outcome is probably the same but the early mobilization and patient satisfaction is different. That's what I hear from my ortho friend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 15, 2017 Share August 15, 2017 I guess some people are more scared of pain then others. Also depends on the skill and speed of the surgeon. They will super flex your knee to its absolute maximum for the op. So there's some blood flow compromise. If the surgeon is skilled and fast, the swelling and edema later is not as severe as someone who takes his time. Mechanical outcome is probably the same but the early mobilization and patient satisfaction is different. That's what I hear from my ortho friend. This is good info. For the first op, 3 of the 4 patients in the room where my mum stayed, did the same knee op. She was the oldest at 78. The youngest woman was probably around 50-55. She was often in pain and was the slowest to be taken off the bleeding discharge/drainage tube, as well as the painkiller drip. They were all transferred to rehab ward together too, and that woman was still complaining of pain when my mother was discharged about a week later. And the other patient, whom my mum kept in touch with, also had more pain than my mum. She actually changed surgeon by moving from TTSH to SGH for the other leg, and reported that it was much less painful. Not sure were the legs very different, but if not, then you're right that different surgeons give different results. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 15, 2017 Share August 15, 2017 This is good info. For the first op, 3 of the 4 patients in the room where my mum stayed, did the same knee op. She was the oldest at 78. The youngest woman was probably around 50-55. She was often in pain and was the slowest to be taken off the bleeding discharge/drainage tube, as well as the painkiller drip. They were all transferred to rehab ward together too, and that woman was still complaining of pain when my mother was discharged about a week later. And the other patient, whom my mum kept in touch with, also had more pain than my mum. She actually changed surgeon by moving from TTSH to SGH for the other leg, and reported that it was much less painful. Not sure were the legs very different, but if not, then you're right that different surgeons give different results. my mother in law had some knee surgery done too. post operation, she refuses to move around and walk as instructed by the doctor. as a result, she still felt pain and couldn't really bend her knees 1 year after surgery. as a resut of inactivity over that 1 year, her leg muscles shrunk, making it even more difficult to walk. she is stubborn and refuses to listen. a friend's mother did her surgery on 1 knee and she is one feisty old lady. moving around, walking, bending a few days after surgery. i saw her move. solid. 3 months later, she did the other knee. same surgeon for both women. sometimes it's not just the doctor's skill, but more of patient problem. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2017 Share August 15, 2017 my mother in law had some knee surgery done too. post operation, she refuses to move around and walk as instructed by the doctor. as a result, she still felt pain and couldn't really bend her knees 1 year after surgery. as a resut of inactivity over that 1 year, her leg muscles shrunk, making it even more difficult to walk. she is stubborn and refuses to listen. a friend's mother did her surgery on 1 knee and she is one feisty old lady. moving around, walking, bending a few days after surgery. i saw her move. solid. 3 months later, she did the other knee. same surgeon for both women. sometimes it's not just the doctor's skill, but more of patient problem. U have to mobilize early. Ideally is walking with frame on post op day 2. Yeah if u don't want to walk, u are going to get screwed. My friends father did BOTH knees at once. Home in few days. Didn't even go rehab ward. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 my mother in law had some knee surgery done too. post operation, she refuses to move around and walk as instructed by the doctor. as a result, she still felt pain and couldn't really bend her knees 1 year after surgery. as a resut of inactivity over that 1 year, her leg muscles shrunk, making it even more difficult to walk. she is stubborn and refuses to listen. a friend's mother did her surgery on 1 knee and she is one feisty old lady. moving around, walking, bending a few days after surgery. i saw her move. solid. 3 months later, she did the other knee. same surgeon for both women. sometimes it's not just the doctor's skill, but more of patient problem. Yes, patient mentality is of course the first factor. Actually, my mother developed serious knee problem as far back as ~8 yr ago. Had to go for some course of 3 expensive injection of lubricants into the knee as the cartilage were gone. When that effect wore off, for a couple of years, she walked really slowly, and with a limp. The doc recommended surgery but she was worried as she had heard some friends said they didn't turn out well after doing the op, and so she refused to go, and just tahan'ed the pain. Only until 3 yr ago after hearing of a few 'good reviews' from a neighbour-cum-long-ago-friend, and another relative's relative, then she plucked up the courage to go for it. Good thing it turned out well, and she regretted not doing it earlier. Then 7 mth later went for the other leg. Now can walk without pain, but of course not back to those like when young. But it's a real improvement and we're all glad. She goes around telling others her success story now, so hopefully can help encourage others to be positive and receptive to it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 U have to mobilize early. Ideally is walking with frame on post op day 2. Yeah if u don't want to walk, u are going to get screwed. My friends father did BOTH knees at once. Home in few days. Didn't even go rehab ward. Yah, i think even when the bleeding/drainage tube was still attached to the wound, they would already put this stretching machine to bend the patient's knee at regular interval. That way, no need to ownself bend ownself, just let the machine do the job. Think they use the machine a few times a day. Then once the drainage tube was off, will ask them to come down from bed to stand and walk. Wow, both knees at once! He is one brave man. And your friend and his family all very brave too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 (edited) Yah, i think even when the bleeding/drainage tube was still attached to the wound, they would already put this stretching machine to bend the patient's knee at regular interval. That way, no need to ownself bend ownself, just let the machine do the job. Think they use the machine a few times a day. Then once the drainage tube was off, will ask them to come down from bed to stand and walk. Wow, both knees at once! He is one brave man. And your friend and his family all very brave too... My friend is ortho surgeon. He ask his dept the most pro people do it for his father. These few surgeons do as many knee replacements as they do eat meals a year. But very old folks shouldn't do 2 knees at once. Can see them struggling in the rehab ward Edited August 16, 2017 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 my mother in law had some knee surgery done too. post operation, she refuses to move around and walk as instructed by the doctor. as a result, she still felt pain and couldn't really bend her knees 1 year after surgery. as a resut of inactivity over that 1 year, her leg muscles shrunk, making it even more difficult to walk. she is stubborn and refuses to listen. a friend's mother did her surgery on 1 knee and she is one feisty old lady. moving around, walking, bending a few days after surgery. i saw her move. solid. 3 months later, she did the other knee. same surgeon for both women. sometimes it's not just the doctor's skill, but more of patient problem. fear and phobia of pain, some people cannot even think of the pain and traumatize easily, they rather not do anything to trigger the pain. i know an elder colleague mid 70s and she went through the surgery on both knee, she went back to work on the following week. She claimed she has a pair of reborn legs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 fear and phobia of pain, some people cannot even think of the pain and traumatize easily, they rather not do anything to trigger the pain. i know an elder colleague mid 70s and she went through the surgery on both knee, she went back to work on the following week. She claimed she has a pair of reborn legs There are many people out there who don't want to consider it even though they hobble around everyday in pain. Well, main risk is infection of the implant, if u get one, it's really super duper sian. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 fear and phobia of pain, some people cannot even think of the pain and traumatize easily, they rather not do anything to trigger the pain. i know an elder colleague mid 70s and she went through the surgery on both knee, she went back to work on the following week. She claimed she has a pair of reborn legs my mother in law is a piece of tofu and damn lazy. never believe what we say about shrinking muscles (esp with ageing) and its direct relationship with not moving. So we scare her by telling her she will need to sit in wheelchair within 12 months if she still does not move. Then we'll employ a domestic helper who is so nasty she'll spit into her cup of water before letting her drink. that spurs her to do some exercise for like a week only. then it's back to square 1. harsh words from the ortho surgeon lasts longer. maybe 2 weeks at best. wheelchair is a grim reality within next 24 months if this continues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 Good thing it turned out well, and she regretted not doing it earlier. Then 7 mth later went for the other leg. Now can walk without pain, but of course not back to those like when young. But it's a real improvement and we're all glad. She goes around telling others her success story now, so hopefully can help encourage others to be positive and receptive to it. Which hospital? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 Which hospital? TTSH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 TTSH. As a private patient? So we do have good doctors in public hospitals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 I just browse thru the RoadID website. Borrowed some idea there. Excuse my lousy art and craft skill, I just want something practical. I make a bigger piece of laminated ID, so I can cut holes to slot the watch wrist band thru. It's waterproof too.. B4 i go running these days i just take a pen and write NOK and wife's hp no. big big on my inside arm. My kids cringe when i do that but i just tell them u want to find out about me collapsing on facebook? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic August 16, 2017 Share August 16, 2017 B4 i go running these days i just take a pen and write NOK and wife's hp no. big big on my inside arm. My kids cringe when i do that but i just tell them u want to find out about me collapsing on facebook? You should get a tattoo instead haha. Then don't need to write. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...