Ender Hypersonic August 1, 2017 Author Share August 1, 2017 Rip. Sad that such a young life gone. Don't know his condition, whether it's hidden heart disease, too much caffeine, push too much, recovering from a flu, salt imbalance or simply unknown cause. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Author Share August 13, 2017 Jogger dies of heart attack at Macritchie. Exercise also can trigger heart attack according to this doctor. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/man-dies-after-suffering-heart-attack-while-jogging-in-macritchie When a person is exercising, blood pressure and heart rate go up, and could cause cholesterol deposits in the arteries to get disrupted, said Dr Kenneth Ng, a cardiologist from the Novena Heart Centre. This means the deposits get dislodged, causing a fissure, or a cut, in the artery. "This would cause a blood clot to form in the artery, leading to a heart attack," Dr Ng added. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 Jogger dies of heart attack at Macritchie. Exercise also can trigger heart attack according to this doctor. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/man-dies-after-suffering-heart-attack-while-jogging-in-macritchie I'm thinking of putting some laminated card with my details/identification in my key pouch. Cos i usually run alone at night. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Author Share August 13, 2017 I'm thinking of putting some laminated card with my details/identification in my key pouch. Cos i usually run alone at night.Yup, that's what I do. I print my details on a4 paper. Buy those ic card size laminate plastic from Popular bookstore. If you print your details small enough, can fit 4 personal particulars into one plastic. Then use an iron amd heat them up. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 Hmm but exercising is a way to reduce cholesterol. So how to know when is the time to stop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 I'm thinking of putting some laminated card with my details/identification in my key pouch. Cos i usually run alone at night. got wear dog tag ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Author Share August 13, 2017 My thoughts is if he may get it anytime. Just happen it is during a run. Read somewhere statistcally, runners still have a lower rate of cardiac arrest compare to the sedentary counterparts. So I will still run and be on the right side of the statistics. Hahaha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 My thoughts is if he may get it anytime. Just happen it is during a run. Read somewhere statistcally, runners still have a lower rate of cardiac arrest compare to the sedentary counterparts. So I will still run and be on the right side of the statistics. Hahaha. a majority of heart attacks happen in early to late morning, cos of the stress hormones elevation during this period. So it happens to coincide with what you are doing bah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 (edited) Yup, that's what I do. I print my details on a4 paper. Buy those ic card size laminate plastic from Popular bookstore. If you print your details small enough, can fit 4 personal particulars into one plastic. Then use an iron amd heat them up. I carry my IC n ATM card in my arm band when I run.. and run along main road.. so that if i collapse, people can see n help and know who i am bec of my IC.... ATM card is to take money along the way if hungry n pit stop to makan... Edited August 13, 2017 by Lurpsexx 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Author Share August 13, 2017 (edited) I wonder if I carry along some crushed aspirin for a run, labelled it, would be that be enough? Approaching 50 liao.. Almost the same age as the guys in the news. .. Administering crushed aspirin if available could also help to thin the blood, said Dr Ng. Edited August 13, 2017 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 I wonder if I carry along some crushed aspirin for a run, labelled it, would be that be enough? Approaching 50 liao.. Almost the same age as the guys in the news. .. err don't need to worry so much lah. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 I also around same age but dun have such problem....... Cos I don't run. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 Good idea to bring ic along during exercise.. In the event of anything happened, can gao teng ki on the spot.. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Author Share August 13, 2017 I also around same age but dun have such problem....... Cos I don't run. Haha, but everyone also has to live thru the morning everyday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Author Share August 13, 2017 Good idea to bring ic along during exercise.. In the event of anything happened, can gao teng ki on the spot.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 13, 2017 Share August 13, 2017 Aiya, just don't push yourself so hard lah. If your body tell you to stop and rest, just stop. You carry ic and you lost it. You will feel like killing yourself for being stupid. Once you past 40 you push yourself so hard during exercise for what? If you push yourself to the limit in bed to impress your girlfriend/wife I can understand. You exercise need to to push so hard meh? Macritchie reservoir full of monkeys, unless you want to impress them. Or you are into them. No disrespect to the dead dude. Just saying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Author Share August 13, 2017 Seems like everyone, including the doc being interview, conclude it's the running that cause his heart attack. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2017 Author Share August 13, 2017 (edited) Aiya, just don't push yourself so hard lah. If your body tell you to stop and rest, just stop. You carry ic and you lost it. You will feel like killing yourself for being stupid. Once you past 40 you push yourself so hard during exercise for what? If you push yourself to the limit in bed to impress your girlfriend/wife I can understand. You exercise need to to push so hard meh? Macritchie reservoir full of monkeys, unless you want to impress them. Or you are into them. No disrespect to the dead dude. Just saying. But I think there are more people who don't push themselves at all, i.e sedentary, succumbing to heart attack. Edited August 13, 2017 by Ender ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...