Left 6mths before scrap, need to svc car?

SafeCar

My Cefiro also has 6 months left. Got minor servicing done at Tan Chong.

My car had this problem of judder at low gear and at speed between 70-80. They found it to be a ignition coil problem due to which engine is mis firing. Can live with the judder for 6 months and scrap if it completely breaks down, but not sure if it can lead to any safety issue. Can someone advise?

when I was working in Perth in 2007~2009, I once sent my car for servicing when the 10K mark was up, but was sent away by the mechanic. when I asked why, he told me come back only when the mileage reaches 40K. when I said we are doing that for every 10K in S'pore, he smiled and replied "that's becos you guys are rich"....

Nod. Nod. My $1000 datsun 120y never serviced under my few years of ownership. The only problem was the clutch cable snatched. Well, my neighbour used a safety pin to reconnect. The car was good for another one month plus before I gotten her a new clutch cable. Hahaha

Planning to renew? if not just normal oil + oil filter will do. Maybe plugs if hard to start.

No point doing full if less den a year. Toyota is a gd car which can last with minimum servicing.

Dun think really to renew.

Noted wif thanks.

It's dangerous 'cos if it died suddenly, then you might be crashed by speeding trucks behind.

It's always better to change all ignition coils at one go. But, since it's due to scrap, change the affected one.

My car had this problem of judder at low gear and at speed between 70-80. They found it to be a ignition coil problem due to which engine is mis firing. Can live with the judder for 6 months and scrap if it completely breaks down, but not sure if it can lead to any safety issue. Can someone advise?

If not going to service because of car COE expire soon, just check the engine oil more frequent and also the coolant level. If level low just top it up.

Actually the best advice is from the Technical Advisor that serviced your car. Last time I serviced my Mazda5 in mid-December 2014 and my car scrapping in end June 2015. There are areas and parts that needed to be replaced. However the Technical Advisor told me since only left 6 months, I can still drive my car without the repair and bear with all sort of noises.

Hi All,

Sorry have to hijack the thread. I have decided to renew coe for my 05 Altis, no problems with thecar but wondering if any1 can recommend parts to change as a so called maintenance to keep the car going.

I have change oils around 8-9k everytime, the car is fine except mileage is 200k plus.

Just thought that sinc going for another 5 years, do some maintenance to keep it going.

Thanks.

Hi All,

Sorry have to hijack the thread. I have decided to renew coe for my 05 Altis, no problems with thecar but wondering if any1 can recommend parts to change as a so called maintenance to keep the car going.

I have change oils around 8-9k everytime, the car is fine except mileage is 200k plus.

Just thought that sinc going for another 5 years, do some maintenance to keep it going.

Thanks.

This "10 year lifespan" is artificially imposed due to COE, and doesn't affect the car's true lifespan. Nothing special is going to happen once your car crosses the 10 year mark, just keep up the maintenance at the service intervals and the car should keep on going. If parts are worn out, then replace them. Else, why replace things that are working?

If you want to improve your driving experience then maybe get new shock absorbers if you haven't changed them recently? Maybe a nice new coat of paint or soundproofing.

Hi All,

Thanks.

If you have the money to spare by all means change every thing which you think will please you,don't have to get feedbacks from other people.

This "10 year lifespan" is artificially imposed due to COE, and doesn't affect the car's true lifespan. Nothing special is going to happen once your car crosses the 10 year mark, just keep up the maintenance at the service intervals and the car should keep on going. If parts are worn out, then replace them. Else, why replace things that are working?

If you want to improve your driving experience then maybe get new shock absorbers if you haven't changed them recently? Maybe a nice new coat of paint or soundproofing.

Thanks for your advise.

I am actually looking to change the wear tear parts like gaskets, brake pads, gear oil, fan belt etc. wondering if there are any other wear/tear parts to change as well.

Hi All,

Thanks.

hmm.

just curious.

how much the PQP and the parf value did you forgo?

still worth it meh? given the increase cost of repair and maintenence. vs the depreciation of a new car.

Thanks for your advise.

I am actually looking to change the wear tear parts like gaskets, brake pads, gear oil, fan belt etc. wondering if there are any other wear/tear parts to change as well.

unless you see leak or parts like brake pad worn off, do nothing. Service as usual.

No significance be it 8 yrs or 13 yrs. Its a mindset thingy that our lta would like to impose on us that car becomes lao kok kok after the 10 yrs mark . Its all about something else and we know what it is.... :a-no:

hmm.

just curious.

how much the PQP and the parf value did you forgo?

still worth it meh? given the increase cost of repair and maintenence. vs the depreciation of a new car.

My 5 years pqp is 33k, parf rebate 9k.

Depreciation/year is about 8.4k compared to buying a 3 year altis/vios/axio depreciation about 12k. 1 year save 3k plus, the extra road tax, maintenance etc definitely not more than 1k/year.

Will be using slightly higher grade eo like liqui moly which is about $30 extra compared to shell that I amusing.

So far i have not done any major repairs except wear/tear parts and this is my third toyota, hence decided to renew since the car still seems very smooth and the 3 Toyota's I drive had no major problems.

Depreciation/year is about 8.4k compared to buying a 3 year altis/vios/axio depreciation about 12k. 1 year save 3k plus, the extra road tax, maintenance etc definitely not more than 1k/year.

Will be using slightly higher grade eo like liqui moly which is about $30 extra compared to shell that I amusing.

So far i have not done any major repairs except wear/tear parts and this is my third toyota, hence decided to renew since the car still seems very smooth and the 3 Toyota's I drive had no major problems.

next question is full cash bro? .. [;)]

mine also about the same, 32k plus parf rebate 7k for my vios. Change some wear and tear parts for about $800.

Renewed in Dec when COE was about $66k, now was about $61k. Even if scrap now and buy a new car wont lose much. Was expecting COE to drop further when I renewed. Just hold and see the right time to enter again.

Is easy to say that the car left with 6 months to go and don't care about servicing and etc. If the car do break down ..i bet no one can live with it for a couple of days..again.....whether no servicing will cause the breakdown is rather subjective....it depend how much you will driving and under what condition......so...just do a cheapest servicing with the cheapest available oil.....buy your cheap oil and go to a workshop to change the oil.......probably they will just charge a nominal fee to do the change...

Edited by LoverofCar

My Altis is due for servicing, not sure if minor or major, can I forgo since the car is going for scrap in Oct?

no need lah, my friend sunny left one year due coe, never service anymore, still smoothly drove to scrap yard last month :a-happy: