Mercury1 Turbocharged November 2, 2015 Share November 2, 2015 Just buy him a hamper and send it to the company addressed to him bah, that's what I did. It also shows the manager he is doing a good job. No Money should be involved. Just wondering.. Is it a common practice to tip your SE during car collection? I was thinking of giving him a small token for appreciation of his time and effort.. Will $50 be deemed too little? Sorry for the noob question.. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear November 2, 2015 Share November 2, 2015 Dun give money lah .... Christmas round the corner buy a gift lor I bought mooncakes and write a nice email to compliment the good service Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LongLiveChina Clutched November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 lol, my father did give a hongbao of $200 to honda, lolfor my a3 I never give anything haha btw the famous rattle sound in engine of audi started to visit me sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear November 3, 2015 Author Share November 3, 2015 lol, my father did give a hongbao of $200 to honda, lol for my a3 I never give anything haha btw the famous rattle sound in engine of audi started to visit me sigh I didnt know there was a famous engine rattle. During idle or while moving? My car interior has a slight rattle sound when going over rough road surfaces from the front passenger seat (when no one is sitting on it). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LongLiveChina Clutched November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 in the engine, gt rattleling sound, you go google search audi a3 rattling sound, same like them for mine while moving or even idling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear November 3, 2015 Author Share November 3, 2015 in the engine, gt rattleling sound, you go google search audi a3 rattling sound, same like them for mine while moving or even idling Didnt notice such sound in my car. Is it like metal loose clanging sound from the engine bay? Anyway, I think I read somewhere the 2014 model has some parts in engine bay making rattling noise but it was supposed to have been fixed in 2015 model. On another matter, has anyone notice this in the morning sometimes when you start the car the rpm goes to 1100rpm before settling back to 800rpm 20-30sec later. At other times it is at 800rpm when you start. Dont know whether it is placebo or not but if I drive off before the engine settles down to 800rpm, the car seems to perform more lethargic (and engine also noisier). However, if I let the engine settles down to 800rpm before moving off, then the car is smoother and good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 (edited) Didnt notice such sound in my car. Is it like metal loose clanging sound from the engine bay? Anyway, I think I read somewhere the 2014 model has some parts in engine bay making rattling noise but it was supposed to have been fixed in 2015 model. On another matter, has anyone notice this in the morning sometimes when you start the car the rpm goes to 1100rpm before settling back to 800rpm 20-30sec later. At other times it is at 800rpm when you start. Dont know whether it is placebo or not but if I drive off before the engine settles down to 800rpm, the car seems to perform more lethargic (and engine also noisier). However, if I let the engine settles down to 800rpm before moving off, then the car is smoother and good. Might be because engine haven't warm up fully in the morning. It's not unusual for idle to sometimes kick up a few hundred RPM because sometimes when idling the engine, even when warmed up, as there can be a need to deliver more power to example alternator or compressor. I believe sometimes even some make of car will have transmission logic to drag gears a bit to warm up quicker. I'm not sure how VAG cars behave in this regard. Edited November 3, 2015 by 7hm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spritzer Clutched November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 I heard the rattling even in the test drive car when it was parked there with engine on idling. I asked the SE and he said it is perfectly normal and is synchronous throughout the audi makes. It's like a tick tag tick tag noise coming from the engine bay and when I opened the bonnet, the noise is apparent from the engine. But I didn't hear it at all when seated in the car nor when the car is on the drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 I heard the rattling even in the test drive car when it was parked there with engine on idling. I asked the SE and he said it is perfectly normal and is synchronous throughout the audi makes. It's like a tick tag tick tag noise coming from the engine bay and when I opened the bonnet, the noise is apparent from the engine. But I didn't hear it at all when seated in the car nor when the car is on the drive. different kind of noise from the usual belt ticking? I'm curious about this. I recall not hearing any unusual "rattling" kind of sound when I had a look at an Audi A4 previously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 On another matter, has anyone notice this in the morning sometimes when you start the car the rpm goes to 1100rpm before settling back to 800rpm 20-30sec later. At other times it is at 800rpm when you start. Dont know whether it is placebo or not but if I drive off before the engine settles down to 800rpm, the car seems to perform more lethargic (and engine also noisier). However, if I let the engine settles down to 800rpm before moving off, then the car is smoother and good. Its auto choke.. some reading below. Yes, I suppose you could say that an injected engine has a choke. It’s electronic. When the performance system senses that the engine is cold (via air and coolant sensors) it richens the fuel mixture automatically. When the engine comes up to operating temperature, the system leans out the fuel mixture to running mode. There's no manual or automatic choke like in the old days; it’s all controlled electronically now. http://www.examiner.com/article/auto-q-a-with-tom-torbjornsen-do-fuel-injected-engines-have-a-choke 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tyco_kia 4th Gear November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 Just wondering.. Is it a common practice to tip your SE during car collection? I was thinking of giving him a small token for appreciation of his time and effort.. Will $50 be deemed too little? Sorry for the noob question.. A complimentary email or letter is good enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spritzer Clutched November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 Thanks Xers007, this is good reading. My SE said the A3 runs on timing belt but doesn't need replacement until at least 120k. Is this true? I thought belt usually need to change at 80k.. I always had the feeling that new cars use timing chain these days.. And has this taplet tapping noise which is inherent of the chain.. That's why I first tot the noise was from the chain.. Also is it okay to pump ron 95 for this car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 Didnt notice such sound in my car. Is it like metal loose clanging sound from the engine bay? Anyway, I think I read somewhere the 2014 model has some parts in engine bay making rattling noise but it was supposed to have been fixed in 2015 model. On another matter, has anyone notice this in the morning sometimes when you start the car the rpm goes to 1100rpm before settling back to 800rpm 20-30sec later. At other times it is at 800rpm when you start. Dont know whether it is placebo or not but if I drive off before the engine settles down to 800rpm, the car seems to perform more lethargic (and engine also noisier). However, if I let the engine settles down to 800rpm before moving off, then the car is smoother and good. Normal for engine to rev higher on cold start, If I drive off before the engine rev settles down to below 1k rpm, the gb stays at first gear when moving I won't be able to change to d2 using paddle shift or manual mode 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear November 4, 2015 Author Share November 4, 2015 different kind of noise from the usual belt ticking? I'm curious about this. I recall not hearing any unusual "rattling" kind of sound when I had a look at an Audi A4 previously. I think the new 1.4T engine is pretty quiet. I can barely hear any engine sound in the cabin let alone rattling. But if you open the bonnet, I think the sound refered by Spritzer and others maybe the tick-tick sound of the timing belt. This sound is more distinct than other cars. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged November 4, 2015 Share November 4, 2015 I think the new 1.4T engine is pretty quiet. I can barely hear any engine sound in the cabin let alone rattling. But if you open the bonnet, I think the sound refered by Spritzer and others maybe the tick-tick sound of the timing belt. This sound is more distinct than other cars. That is what I was thinking. Almost every normal car seems to have some sort of idling ticking sound. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkiat99 Neutral Newbie November 5, 2015 Share November 5, 2015 mine quite quiet too....only on rough roads, there is some vibrations sound from the IU....otherwise quite ok.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear November 5, 2015 Author Share November 5, 2015 (edited) Thanks Xers007, this is good reading. My SE said the A3 runs on timing belt but doesn't need replacement until at least 120k. Is this true? I thought belt usually need to change at 80k.. I always had the feeling that new cars use timing chain these days.. And has this taplet tapping noise which is inherent of the chain.. That's why I first tot the noise was from the chain.. Also is it okay to pump ron 95 for this car? There is no mention of changing the timing belt in the service schedule. It should be lifetime I think (i.e. use until it needs to be changed). I think the previous generation 1.4T engine was using a chain instead of belt. Not sure the reason for reversal (efficiency/noise considerations??) I am using ron 95 now and the engine runs smoothly (even more so than 98 which I used earlier on). I dont feel any performance degradation compared to 98. And save $10 every tank. FC is pretty amazing too for this car. ECU shows around avg 18.1 km/Litre for last 17000 km at avg speed of 34km/h with engine start-stop permanently turned off. Using manual pump calculation was about 17.5km/L everytime I topped up the tank. Did Audi cheat the environment to get this kind of FC figure given the A3 performance rating?? Also some info to share is the the "Audi engine eats engine oil" hopefully can be debunked with this new 1.4T engine. I never top up any engine oil for the first 15000 km before first service. From the dipstick, the engine oil level dropped about 1/5 over that 15K distance. Edited November 5, 2015 by zerobim08 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 5, 2015 Share November 5, 2015 I think the new 1.4T engine is pretty quiet. I can barely hear any engine sound in the cabin let alone rattling. But if you open the bonnet, I think the sound refered by Spritzer and others maybe the tick-tick sound of the timing belt. This sound is more distinct than other cars. timimg belt where got tick tick sound. Maybe its the tappet or something else. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...