2015 May, 2nd COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

what about TC's QQ ? ... was also very popular Jan, Feb.

when I asked in Feb, stock for many colours already scheduled for Jun delivery

I am guessing for popular models, orders in Mar likely already scheduled for Jul delivery & new CEVs would apply. Thus ADs are just not bidding aggressively now, waiting for COE to drop, then securing lower COE to maintain / achieve target profit margin.

And there is still mercedes that didn't really have any existing cars to sell. Everything need to wait till July/Aug shipment I think.

Hope COE continues the downtrend so next year I can get a used one for cheaper prices as everybody will be trading in theirs for a new one :D

Vesak Day holiday is first day of school holiday everyone will go for holiday liao. nobody buys and coe drops?

swee swee, 1Jun Vesak Day, run promo over long weekend, 2 days' before next bidding, school holidays somemore

... buyers beware ??

here, I help you praise... [grouphug]

Depends on the AD right... some of them just use the CEVS to improve their margin... dunno which of them actually pass the saving to the customer...

And if CEVS is supposed to be incentive for us to buy a eco-friendly car (I encourage this), why does it take away our scrap value? Should be flat cash back or something to the consumer instead of reduce our PARF.

When I see the Lexus CT200h with a PARF rebate of like only $7k... :a-bang:

CEV reduces overall tax you paid by 0.5 x CEV. The other 0.5 x CEV, LTA lends to you upfront to be repaid 10 years later interest free.

Does this sound better?

CEV reduces overall tax you paid by 0.5 x CEV. The other 0.5 x CEV, LTA lends to you upfront to be repaid 10 years later interest free.

Does this sound better?

interest free...

but then when we take thing from them got lots of interest

interest very interesting to people who are receiving it

Not too sure about this cevs rebate.

Isn'tit better to get say 15/20k nett off the list price at first? Then say get 6/9k more at the end of 10years for e parf?...

How ddoes thiswork?

Isn'tit better to get say 15/20k nett off the list price at first? Then say get 6/9k more at the end of 10years for e parf?...

How ddoes thiswork?

right now... CEVS is subtracted or added to ARF...

So example you buying a car with OMV $25k and qualify for $5k CEVS...

Just example la, COE is also $25k, what you end up with is:

COE: $25,000

OMV: $25,000

CEVS: $5,000 REBATE

ARF: $20,000 + (25,000 - 20,000)×140%) - $5,000 = $27,000 - $5,000 = $22,000

PARF Rebate: $22,000 ÷ 2 = $11,000

So taking same example but with ... say, $10,000 CEVS surcharge...

CEVS: $10,000 SURCHARGE

ARF: $20,000 + (25,000 - 20,000)×140%) - $5,000 = $27,000 + $10,000 = $37,000

PARF Rebate: $37,000 ÷ 2 = $18,500

Depreciation vary accordingly...

Edited by 7hm

right now... CEVS is subtracted or added to ARF...

So example you buying a car with OMV $25k and qualify for $5k CEVS...

Just example la, COE is also $25k, what you end up with is:

ARF: $20,000 + (25,000 - 20,000)×140%) - $5,000 = $27,000 - $5,000 = $22,000

PARF Rebate: $22,000 ÷ 2 = $11,000

So taking same example but with ... say, $10,000 CEVS surcharge...

ARF: $20,000 + (25,000 - 20,000)×140%) - $5,000 = $27,000 + $10,000 = $37,000

Depreciation vary accordingly...

No. In your second example you only get back 27 / 2 = 13.5k.

Sorry, I copy-paste then forget to change to "$10,000 SURCHARGE":

ARF: $20,000 + ((25,000 - 20,000)×140%) + $10,000 = $27,000 + $10,000 = $37,000

... unless the surcharge don't add to ARF and ends up is straight penalty. In which case it's

$27,000 ÷ 2 = $13,500

just like you say...

sian sia, thinking about car $$$&¢¢¢ in SG

Edited by 7hm

Sorry, I copy-paste then forget to change to "$10,000 SURCHARGE":

ARF: $20,000 + ((25,000 - 20,000)×140%) + $10,000 = $27,000 + $10,000 = $37,000

... unless the surcharge don't add to ARF and ends up is straight penalty. In which case it's

$27,000 ÷ 2 = $13,500

just like you say...

sian sia, thinking about car $$$&¢¢¢ in SG

Cev surcharge is a penalty. You do not get anything back.

So ARF you paid is 37k but parf rebate at 10 years will only be 27/2 = 13.5K

Edited by zerobim08

How ddoes thiswork?

You really believe the so call CEVS rebate go to buyer?

There are all eaten by the AD.

You really believe the so call CEVS rebate go to buyer?

There are all eaten by the AD.

Not all the case. When I bought my Audi A3 sedan the price was only $15k more than the Altis elegance even though A3 omv was $8k more. And the calculated AD profit margin for both were about the same (with A3 higher by $2k).

If not for the CEV rebate the A3 would be $25k more expensive (in which case I would not have bought it).

CEV does make efficient cars cheaper upfront. True that AD may gobble up the rebate but that would make their car price not competitive. So market force will dictate the rebate goes back to buyers eventually.

Edited by zerobim08

erm the plot is supposed to be coe price mus first drop, msm then can report, ADs weekend big advertisements then fence sitters can b sucked in and in and in and....

I beg to differ.

Let's see this weekend if there is a crowd.

I doubt so. I do not expect Singaporeans to be so rich as to able to absorb COEs at whatever ridiculous price.

I always hope COE price will drop. $40,000 is still deemed high, in my opinion. I can afford, but I won't want to.

Cev surcharge is a penalty. You do not get anything back.

So ARF you paid is 37k but parf rebate at 10 years will only be 27/2 = 13.5K

That's incorrect. You do get 50% of surcharge back according to lta hotline I queried.

I beg to differ.

Let's see this weekend if there is a crowd.

I doubt so. I do not expect Singaporeans to be so rich as to able to absorb COEs at whatever ridiculous price.

I always hope COE price will drop. $40,000 is still deemed high, in my opinion. I can afford, but I won't want to.

do not need to wait till this weekend

there were already quite a number at the Subaru showroom today

Mercedes Cat A bookings still sizable.

The latest COE correction is a healthy one and long overdue

CEV becomes a penalty when the price of the car doesn't adjust accordingly. This is because the CEV rebate will reduce the ARF, and hence the PARF value. 5k reduction in ARF means 2.5k reduction in PARF value. If car price doesn't change, you now have an extra 2.5k depreciation.

Just wondering, does the CEV surcharge add to the ARF, hence increasing the PARF value? Or is it purely an extra surcharge that you have to pay?

do not need to wait till this weekend

there were already quite a number at the Subaru showroom today

Mercedes Cat A bookings still sizable.

The latest COE correction is a healthy one and long overdue

Oh really?

And Subau going cheap? Hmmm