2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Today, an office auntie saw that i bought a new FXT..she says "aiyo why u buy a subaru? Subaru got no resale value..no one in Singapore buy Subaru and you go buy?"

Ha..i was stunned..Subaru really that bad?? No resale value and no one in Singapore buy Subaru???

What do you guys think?

Today, an office auntie saw that i bought a new FXT..she says "aiyo why u buy a subaru? Subaru got no resale value..no one in Singapore buy Subaru and you go buy?"

Ha..i was stunned..Subaru really that bad?? No resale value and no one in Singapore buy Subaru???

What do you guys think?

Personally i buy car to drive... not to resell. If want to resell, there are other things better to buy (aka watches, wine..etc) lol...

You are right. We want to buy cheap and want higher resale value. If Subaru command same premium as Toyota, I doubt you can get it at such price level. Think hard about it. At times, it is not the brand but the styling of the new model and how popular it can attract potential new customer to switch.

What do you guys think?

Drive 10 years and scrap it. Why care for resale value?

Subaru boxer engine has higher maintenance cost compare to in-line engine.

I think this the main reason why most people avoid Subaru.

If you can afford a 100k car, surely, you have more confidence in your judgement than that. 

You only need to look at the resale/scrap market now to realize that paying a premium/compromising of specification for the sake of the Toyota/Honda badge only reaps you mere hundreds of dollars' difference in body value years down the road. 

I will not have the same fun if I will to buy a Harrier instead of the XT.

What do you guys think?

Shud instead ask office Aunty.. You drive what car?

What do you guys think?

I think Subaru buyer is a different breed n more Sophisticated :) Edited by GoodCar

Can check for the auto tailgate, is there any function or steps where it will autolock the car after it closed? I find the mechanism to be slow...

Edited by Terenceleo

What do you guys think?

Who ever makes life decisions based on a office aunty's opinion???

What do you guys think?

Did u ask the auntie what car she buy and what is she driving now or has driven in the past? Buy car where got listen to auntie one..

Maybe no resale value or have resale value but don't really care Bec resale value is subjective. Assuming 5 years later the Coe remains the same, for the Subaru bought at 125k new, resale maybe 50k. A Honda Vezel at 115k when new, resale value on 5th year maybe 50k also.

I would rather be driving the Forester than the Vezel.. 2 different car, 2 different driving characteristics..Think 10-15k savings over 5 years is not worth the shiokness of driving a mean turbo charge boxer AWD...

When I test drove the fna, I did notice that it made a little more noise when rev beyond 2k. I dun think this is the cvt whine u r referring to since fxt uses the same cvt gear box. Fxt engine sounds more refine though at all Rev range. I guess the engines have different characteristics that's y they sound different and probably not due to the cvt.

The fxt is great when handling heavier loads such as heavier passengers and stuff. Fna u got tot drive more like a regular family sedan. Overtaking on the fna need a bit more patient especially u r carrying full load of passengers and stuff. U will feel the weight more compared to fxt. Fxt is just simply effortless. :)

not to say the fna is underpowered or slow, but realistically speaking say if u have 4 passengers each weighing 80kg on average and roughly 80kg of stuff in the boot. U r effectively adding 400kg of weight. Adding to the weight of fna, u r pulling close to 2 ton with 150hp and 200nm of torque. I feel it's quite a bit of a struggle. Of course if u seldom carry so much weight like me, then fna should be sufficient. :)

Fxt uses high-torque version, similar setup to wrx version. But the whine is obvious as the whole cabin is made more refined haha...got this feeling that fna version is way audible Edited by Terenceleo

Can check for the auto tailgate, is there any function or steps where it will autolock the car after it closed? I find the mechanism to be slow...

Got to get used to the slowness.... The more expensive BMW & Audi and Porsche SUV tailgate closes much faster.. Bopian.. Cheaper car the forester

I will not have the same fun if I will to buy a Harrier instead of the XT.

Harrier good leh... Safe car can't go much faster than 130kmh on NSHW...

I think Subaru buyer is a different breed n more Sophisticated :)

Subaru buyer typically perceived as Ah Seng... Or fish seller

Got to get used to the slowness.... The more expensive BMW & Audi and Porsche SUV tailgate closes much faster.. Bopian.. Cheaper car the forester

So does is it have the autolock function? For scenario where when it rains, all u have to do is push the button and run for the nearest shelter and the car will lock once the tortise tailgate closed

What do you guys think?

Auntie ma...my bosses ask me for a ride to compare the power with his 740 and commented 几够力 lol...I mean, this is a guys thing afterall. RV is subjective Edited by Terenceleo

So does is it have the autolock function? For scenario where when it rains, all u have to do is push the button and run for the nearest shelter and the car will lock once the tortise tailgate closed

Nope. Close the slow rear gate and run for shelter.. Then turn back and press lock lor

Auntie ma...my bosses ask me for a ride to compare the power with his 740 and commented å å¤å lol...I mean, this is a guys thing afterall. RV is subjective ð

Your boss mentally ready to change his suspension on year 4-5 for 20k for his 740?