2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

different cars...engine condition all diff how to compare?

i read before that traditional dyno machines cannot measure power output properly for cars on cvt due to changing gear ratios. if this is not true, then i would be very concerned that a stock fxt on 95 ron has only 155whp.., big loss of power!

That's was what was told, giving benefit of doubt I presumed both cars are same batch and mileage not much difference. The owners just bought their car that time so its still relatively new.

Anyway the CVT of foresters can switch to 6 or 8 speed tiptronic mode so I presumed that's how the test was conducted.

No reason them to lie in our chat group.

Interesting, sounds like my car change history. I went from 1.5l turbo (colt ver r) to 2.5l NA (is250). Strangely, I actually like the 1.5l turbo a lot more! The v6 engine has a terrible acceleration that doesn't match up to its superb revving noise. That's why I feel like I cannot live with an NA engine anymore.

And needless to say, I'm getting horrible FC. About 7-8km/l at best.

I was a CVR owner too! Loved that car.

Currently pass it to my dad, he's enjoying it all the way now...lol

Edited by Pocus

different cars...engine condition all diff how to compare?

i read before that traditional dyno machines cannot measure power output properly for cars on cvt due to changing gear ratios. if this is not true, then i would be very concerned that a stock fxt on 95 ron has only 155whp.., big loss of power!

This only applies to CVTs without simulated fixed gear ratios. But all Subarus with Lineatronic CVTs and paddle shifters allow you to select a fixed ratio on the dyno. So, there's actually no issue accurately dynoing CVT Subarus.

I was a CVR owner too! Loved that car.

Currently pass it to my dad, he's enjoying it all the way now...lol

Small world! I really loved it too. Too bad it was a one-sided affair. It hated me so much it kept breaking down to protest against me. Zzz. Had to sell it in the end to save myself from going crazy hahah.

This only applies to CVTs without simulated fixed gear ratios. But all Subarus with Lineatronic CVTs and paddle shifters allow you to select a fixed ratio on the dyno. So, there's actually no issue accurately dynoing CVT Subarus.

Yah.

For FXT at Sport sharp mode with 8 speed, the gear can stay at  each gear to 6000rpm+ red line.

Small world! I really loved it too. Too bad it was a one-sided affair. It hated me so much it kept breaking down to protest against me. Zzz. Had to sell it in the end to save myself from going crazy hahah.

Breakdown? You played with the CVT issit? MT should be quite reliable.

My CVT was reconditioned once and my car was stock, so things are pretty good for me right now.

My dad was even thinking on extending it when the COE expires soon...

Edited by Pocus

Breakdown? You played with the CVT issit? MT should be quite reliable.

My CVT was reconditioned once and my car was stock, so things are pretty good for me right now.

My dad was even thinking on extending it when the COE expires soon...

I didn't, but I bought it third hand. Maybe the previous owners did? Yah if it works well for you, it may be worth extending.

Oh well, I'm looking forward to the FXT. Maybe the love will finally be mutual this time!

>>>>>>>>>

Nowadays, even a lower powered car tries to outrun me or overtake me, i also can't be bothered. unless, they try to be funny with me on a bad day.. lolzzz

actually most of the time you just pity them...

To me safety items that are must are at least 6 airbag, abs, traction control etc..... I don't even consider the car if it don't have this safety features.. And the FXT tick all the safety features that I want.

All this blind spot detection are just fancy things to have, I had been driving for 27 yrs. Turning my head to check blind spot is not difficult, keeping a safe distant and no road hogging is also not difficult.

to each his own. I have to drive about 80km a day and no longer that young, and there are days when you are just damned tired and stuck in a jam. you will really appreciate if there's Eyesight to prevent u from accidentally ramming into the car in front. worst is when you have to filter lanes in Singapore jam, stupid drivers plentiful to keep closing the space...

turning neck to check blindspot is so yesterday when you have technology to help you today...

I am talking about just giving us the options, those who want to pay will pay, those who don't want just opt out or get a lower model.

+1

The ROAD thread's latest video shows a man who was apparently on his phone whilst driving his Audi. Could have been a lot worse with lives lost..

Need bro advise.... if one is getting the non XT, what will one lost out in term of the features/stuff..... of course no turbo, no driver memory seat and no harmom kardon sound system.... these few things are good to have but to me I feel not so critical..... the most impt to me is the lack of electric tailgate(by the way can do outside??)  [:p] ...

anything else I miss out??? [confused]

Need bro advise.... if one is getting the non XT, what will one lost out in term of the features/stuff..... of course no turbo, no driver memory seat and no harmom kardon sound system.... these few things are good to have but to me I feel not so critical..... the most impt to me is the lack of electric tailgate(by the way can do outside??) [:p] ...

The meter for XT and NA is also different. XT with a colour LCD. Digital read out speed etc....

haaa did not realise it...  [:p]

Need bro advise.... if one is getting the non XT, what will one lost out in term of the features/stuff..... of course no turbo, no driver memory seat and no harmom kardon sound system.... these few things are good to have but to me I feel not so critical..... the most impt to me is the lack of electric tailgate(by the way can do outside??) [:p] ...

And the "curiosity" of XT will likely to bug you all the time... Imho, it is worth it for 10% more. Incentives to drive you work harder to recover the 10% or more

Need bro advise.... if one is getting the non XT, what will one lost out in term of the features/stuff..... of course no turbo, no driver memory seat and no harmom kardon sound system.... these few things are good to have but to me I feel not so critical..... the most impt to me is the lack of electric tailgate(by the way can do outside??)  [:p] ...

You can see my post#6116. I repeat the differences below. As mentioned in my post, the list is not exhaustive:

The performance /features difference

• the 2.0 DIT engine- this is by far the the biggest difference.  Relatively speaking, the engine is very responsive. There is imperceptible whining of the CVT at low speed. No chance to test high speed on the test drive route. The NA is no slouch either as I have owned a 525 previously. It 
  • memory seats for 2 drivers - great if there are 2 drivers always swapping duties. However the rear and side mirrors has to be adjusted independently and not linked to the memory.
  • auto tailgate
  • better hifi head unit with a larger screen
  • better display screen between the speedometer and the tachometer. The XT version is able to show the digital speed readout.
  • two USB (XT) vs one (NA) in the compartment between the front passenger and the driver
  • 18" rims (XT) vs 17" (NA) with different rim design
  • bigger (and probably better) brakes for XT
  • different speedometer and tachometer dial face

The cosmetic differences (there my be more than given below)

• Anodised silver roof rails (XT) vs black (NA)
  • Dual tailpipe (XT) vs single (NA)
  • Chrome accent on the side skirt (XT) vs none (NA)
  • Different front grill design Front bumper design is different (corrected in this post)

For your info, after considering the above, I bought the FNA.  I think everyone will have to balance between the features and the cost. As mentioned in some of my post, I am happy with the FNA.

Edited by kermitfm

Btw, electric tailgate cannot do outside. Memory seats even Mi can't retrofit for u (as mentioned by bro Muser before).

If u try to be too rational, u will likely end up with the fna.

For me after test drive both cars, and some other makes from other brands, i went to sign up for the fxt the next day. Lol that time fxt was 12k more than fna. Never looked back at that decision till today.

It's like spending on an expensive holiday trip. U pay more, buy the experience and keep the good memories.

It's not like u r forking out 30k - 50k more to pay for a premium brand. Of course, all that said is assuming u can manage the additional cost.

In the end, it still boils down to your budget. I had a 150k budget at that time. So 108k and 120k were both within my budget. Compared to x3, Tiguan, and other similar makes, the fxt at 120k was the ideal choice.

If someone has a budget of say 110k then it's a different story. He should be considering options like fna, qq, vezel etc. Spending an additional of 10k plus is exceeding his budget and it is not wise financially.

Edited by mrhan1982

You can see my post#6116. I repeat the differences below. As mentioned in my post, the list is not exhaustive:

For your info, after considering the above, I bought the FNA.  I think everyone will have to balance between the features and the cost. As mentioned in some of my post, I am happy with the FNA.

Thanks for the detailed explanation Bro, appreciate it.

Btw, electric tailgate cannot do outside. Memory seats even Mi can't retrofit for u (as mentioned by bro Muser before).

If u try to be too rational, u will likely end up with the fna.

For me after test drive both cars, and some other makes from other brands, i went to sign up for the fxt the next day. Lol that time fxt was 12k more than fna. Never looked back at that decision till today.

Thank for the advise Bro. 

actually most of the time you just pity them...

Shhh... dun like that say leh..lolzz

Thanks for the detailed explanation Bro, appreciate it.

Thank for the advise Bro.

U go test drive again today and sign Liao lor.

You sure got own a XT?

A press on the center button on the tail gate will auto open the boot.

A long press on the remote key will also auto open the boot.

The performance /features difference

• the 2.0 DIT engine- this is by far the the biggest difference. Relatively speaking, the engine is very responsive. There is imperceptible whining of the CVT at low speed. No chance to test high speed on the test drive route. The NA is no slouch either as I have owned a 525 previously. It
  • memory seats for 2 drivers - great if there are 2 drivers always swapping duties. However the rear and side mirrors has to be adjusted independently and not linked to the memory.
  • auto tailgate
  • better hifi head unit with a larger screen
  • better display screen between the speedometer and the tachometer. The XT version is able to show the digital speed readout.
  • two USB (XT) vs one (NA) in the compartment between the front passenger and the driver
  • 18" rims (XT) vs 17" (NA) with different rim design
  • bigger (and probably better) brakes for XT
  • different speedometer and tachometer dial face

The cosmetic differences (there my be more than given below)

• Anodised silver roof rails (XT) vs black (NA)
  • Dual tailpipe (XT) vs single (NA)
  • Chrome accent on the side skirt (XT) vs none (NA)
  • Different front grill design Front bumper design is different (corrected in this post)

For your info, after considering the above, I bought the FNA. I think everyone will have to balance between the features and the cost. As mentioned in some of my post, I am happy with the FNA.

To add on, the suspension set up is different. XT suspension is more performance oriented. You can see this in the brochure.