2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Hi all,

My FNA steering wheel "throbs" during idling, its more pronounced when the aircon compressor is "off", less when compressor cuts in. I feel it when I grab the steering wheel, otherwise its not noticeable(no visible vibration).

Do other owners observe the same?

Hi all,

My FNA steering wheel "throbs" during idling, its more pronounced when the aircon compressor is "off", less when compressor cuts in. I feel it when I grab the steering wheel, otherwise its not noticeable(no visible vibration).

Do other owners observe the same?

No, mine does not. Could be the idle rpm tuning.

Point to note, FXT runs best on RON 98. If its 95 the ECU actually detune it further and you lost about 5 to 10% of the intended horsepower.

This was dyno proven by an owner many months back

My FC was 0.5 - 1.0km/l poorer when using 95. That is with 3 tank of testing.

98 give better FC.

actually the power is shiok during the honeymoon period, maybe 1-3 months? 

After 5 months plus of ownership, the excitement of driving fast kinda dies off. 

On most days, its just another point A to B car. lol the great thing is, its much much more effortless to drive even when fully loaded compared to car with lower low end torque. 

Same here ... my honeymoon with FXT lasted for ~6 months.

Nowadays more relaxing driving. But..., the ability to do occasional spirited drives safely still 'shiok'. 

I guess this is probably the reason why sport cars tend to change hands more frequent, for drivers looking to renew honey-moon every 6 months. Incentives to work harder to make $$$$$$, to buy Macan 'S' ... :) 

Point to note, FXT runs best on RON 98. If its 95 the ECU actually detune it further and you lost about 5 to 10% of the intended horsepower.

curious how did the owner do that?

run on 98 go dyno then drain out the fuel followed by pump 95 drive around a bit then dyno again?

To me safety items that are must are at least 6 airbag, abs, traction control etc..... I don't even consider the car if it don't have this safety features.. And the FXT tick all the safety features that I want.

All this blind spot detection are just fancy things to have, I had been driving for 27 yrs. Turning my head to check blind spot is not difficult, keeping a safe distant and no road hogging is also not difficult.

New Subaru Impreza in Japan will have extra airbag OUTSIDE the car - for any poor pedestrian that you accidentally hit on the road. 

Air bag will deploy on the top of the engine hood so that he don't crack his skull on it.

100% guaranteed will get sacrificed for OMV savings for Subaru cars imported to Singapore.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5GC2LsJ1960

Bro who drive the XT and mainly start stop and city driving, what FC u all getting? Can hit 11km/l?

For Subaru CVT-engine combo, if your journey is 100% start-stop traffic will be happy if can reach 9 km/l - probably will be worse.

Subaru cars don't like start-stop traffic.

Edited by jg2000

My butt feel says the same too. 98 works better for fxt compared to 95. Wack in motul engine oil and fully unleash all the 240 horses compared to the crap shell helix. Lol

curious how did the owner do that?

run on 98 go dyno then drain out the fuel followed by pump 95 drive around a bit then dyno again?

It was done last year December. 2 pre-fl FXT were dyno in workshop before they when for some ECU tuning. One was running on tanks of Ron98 and the other on tanks of Ron95. In the end RON95 about 155whp vs RON98 abt 182whp. Both were stock.

Note: whp means "wheel horsepower" the actual horsepower on the wheels to the group. The 240bhp we see in catalogues measure at crank before transmission lost. So by the time the power hits the road its less than 200horsepower.

But dun fret, cos its the same for all cars... The whp of stock vezel is less than 100.

Manual cars tend to have smaller bhp whp gaps as manual gear have less power loss.

Edited by Pocus

Just to share the number for comparison [:p]

Currently I pump say around 35litre, Esso 95 around $1.64326 after discount aka aka= $$58 travel about 390 to 400km.

Base on your number, pump 50litre x $1.64326 aka aka = $83., travel around same distance. Diff is $25 per time. 1 month if pump around 3 time, pay around $75 extra per month. If pump 4 times, diif about $100 more. [:p]

Guide for those who is considering if can accept or not.... [laugh]

If u r driving a 1.5 na and trying to transit to a 2.0L turbo, I can understand your concern. My first car upgrade was from a puny 1.5 vios to a 2.5 v6. My initial concern was the fuel cost. But end up the difference is like only $100 plus diff a month. 1.5 get around 12km/L and 2.5 v6 get 10-11 km\L.

However the difference in performance, refinement , space , etc were too overwhelming and very soon I got used to the extra petrol cost.

Just to compare, even the 2.5 v6 is no match for the 2L boxer turbo. It's like 212bhp, 270nm torque vs 240bhp 350nm torque. Even the fxt is 100kg plus heavier also can makan the v6 sedan. Lol

I'm not sure if those 1.2t, 1.5t, 1.6t or hybrid ones are more fuel efficient? Maybe u can consider those as well.

So I can tell u your intended upgrade will keep u in the honeymoon period for quite a long time.

Edited by mrhan1982

If u r driving a 1.5 na and trying to transit to a 2.0L turbo, I can understand your concern. My first car upgrade was from a puny 1.5 vios to a 2.5 v6. My initial concern was the fuel cost. But end up the difference is like only $100 plus diff a month. 1.5 get around 12km/L and 2.5 v6 get 10-11 km\L.

However the difference in performance, refinement , space , etc were too overwhelming and very soon I got used to the extra petrol cost.

Just to compare, even the 2.5 v6 is no match for the 2L boxer turbo. It's like 212bhp, 270nm torque vs 240bhp 350nm torque. Even the fxt is 100kg plus heavier also can makan the v6 sedan. Lol

So I can tell u your intended upgrade will keep u in the honeymoon period for quite a long time.

I always dun believe you.

Your old vios get 12km/h while my old vios get 14km/h.

Your FXT get 10km/l while my FXT get 8.5km/l.

Either your vios got problem, or my FXT got problem...

Lol. My vios is auto 2008 version. It's slightly heavier than the previous gen and I always carry a lot of additional weight with me. 12km/L I tot quite good....

Fxt I guess I control my right foot pretty well. 10km/L is easily achievable for me. The cvt gearbox is quite interesting. Got to play it well to keep the car in a good power band. As long as it moving, even slowly, the fc is good. Only thing it dun like it's constant start stop.

Edited by mrhan1982

[laugh]  [laugh] [laugh]  [laugh]  

It was done last year December. 2 pre-fl FXT were dyno in workshop before they when for some ECU tuning. One was running on tanks of Ron98 and the other on tanks of Ron95. In the end RON95 about 155whp vs RON98 abt 182whp. Both were stock.

Note: whp means "wheel horsepower" the actual horsepower on the wheels to the group. The 240bhp we see in catalogues measure at crank before transmission lost. So by the time the power hits the road its less than 200horsepower.

But dun fret, cos its the same for all cars... The whp of stock vezel is less than 100.

Manual cars tend to have smaller bhp whp gaps as manual gear have less power loss.

different cars...engine condition all diff how to compare?

i read before that traditional dyno machines cannot measure power output properly for cars on cvt due to changing gear ratios. if this is not true, then i would be very concerned that a stock fxt on 95 ron has only 155whp.., big loss of power!

Makes me wonder whether my car has less output on 95 given it is similar figures to FXT.

But never thought of paying for dyno to test.

I'm not sure if those 1.2t, 1.5t, 1.6t or hybrid ones are more fuel efficient? Maybe u can consider those as well.

Interesting, sounds like my car change history. I went from 1.5l turbo (colt ver r) to 2.5l NA (is250). Strangely, I actually like the 1.5l turbo a lot more! The v6 engine has a terrible acceleration that doesn't match up to its superb revving noise. That's why I feel like I cannot live with an NA engine anymore.

And needless to say, I'm getting horrible FC. About 7-8km/l at best.

Agree Bro... if just for $100.... the performance, space, shiokness of ride is well worth the diff....