shutterbox 3rd Gear March 6, 2022 Share March 6, 2022 22 minutes ago, richard_crl032 said: @shutterbox Yes, 1k with parts and installation as well as 6 or 12 mths warranty by BKS that I cannot remember liao Got it. Read your post on ur tein endura pro plus +pink spring setup. Prolly something I'd go with, for a comfy yet sufficiently compliant ride ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear March 7, 2022 Share March 7, 2022 On 3/5/2022 at 7:55 PM, shutterbox said: you are right 😅 I try to contribute, where i can. recently kena poison to tune forester, so couple of things came to mind - tuning engine perf itself - cooling - suspension upgrades - BBK+suitable rims. need to prioritse what I desire most, within a set budget lately also acquired another COE car (Allion A15), so quite a fair bit tinkering to get this running well, kind of losing focus 😋 Suggest get the cooling done first. Our CVT is the weak point, tuning more efficiency. For power, cannot increase much before the gearbox will give way. Our stock front brake caliper is quite big, only the brake pads cannot make it. If not on BBK, can upgrade the brake pads first. Suspension, can change to other brand when the stock ones give way. Just my thoughts. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear March 7, 2022 Share March 7, 2022 (edited) On 3/6/2022 at 3:28 PM, shutterbox said: Got it. Read your post on ur tein endura pro plus +pink spring setup. Prolly something I'd go with, for a comfy yet sufficiently compliant ride @shutterbox Hi, that should be older post as I had changed to Swift springs more than 1 yr ago I think. The pink springs were fine but jittery whiile the Swift springs were not. Cheers. Edited March 7, 2022 by richard_crl032 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear March 7, 2022 Share March 7, 2022 Oops ... paiseh .. missed attachment of the Swift spring info 🙏🙏 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shutterbox 3rd Gear March 7, 2022 Share March 7, 2022 I think you are really brave, to try something that doesn't have much/any presence here 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear March 7, 2022 Share March 7, 2022 (edited) 3 hours ago, shutterbox said: I think you are really brave, to try something that doesn't have much/any presence here 😂 Hi Shutterbox, Cos I was desperate to improve compliant and stable ride for an almost perfect car for me at the right $ .. stock, pink, bilsten, rsr, cusco etc. and thick skinned to have approached many nice bros here on full subaru sti, tein, bc, peddars etc. etc. 😅 It was my 2nd set of Swift actually but kept with installing it but sold and upon test driving buyer's fna, I knew I had to buy the 2nd set to try .. and rest is and are history. But dynamic suspension via tein edfc is in a different league ... setting to soft compliance at low speed for it to tighten up when speeding up but still compliant since less contact to any harsh road conditions ... imho. In addition, all 4 dampers adjusting individually to compensate for further road condition like cornering or even braking brings stability that no fixed damping can compete .. at a very reasonable $. Still think forester sj series is not for our singapore road but very popular in usa for some off road where farmlands or light trials need this wobbly but hard stock suspension setup especially for fxt. Another point to case is looking at sti stuff for fxt, all are flexible type which I installed, including front strut, front stabiliser bar, rear stabiliser bars and subframe. Cheers. Edited March 7, 2022 by richard_crl032 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fumio74 1st Gear March 8, 2022 Share March 8, 2022 (edited) @shutterbox i am using that swift spring with my Tein Endura pro. comfy Edited March 8, 2022 by Fumio74 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear March 8, 2022 Share March 8, 2022 50 minutes ago, Fumio74 said: @shutterbox i am using that swift spring with my Tein Endura pro. comfy Hi Fumio, Cool .. another user of Tein Endura Pro with Swift springs 🥳🥳 Already with edfc or planned as next upgrade ? 😈 Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fumio74 1st Gear March 8, 2022 Share March 8, 2022 @richard_crl032 Actually i am your Swift spring buyer. Jason 😄 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear March 8, 2022 Share March 8, 2022 1 hour ago, Fumio74 said: @richard_crl032 Actually i am your Swift spring buyer. Jason 😄 Hey Jason, Aaaah ... many thanks to your purchase of the NIB Swift springs set that pushed me to buy another after your "experiment". Guess you din miss your BC coilover 😂 Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
milynot 1st Gear March 9, 2022 Share March 9, 2022 On 3/4/2022 at 7:09 PM, thefalcon said: @milynoti replaced wheel bearing at BMS in June 2020. Rear left only S$214 all in. Thanks. MI quote me the wheel bearing $900 before gst. Will go BMS to get it fixed? Is $214 original or oem parts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fumio74 1st Gear March 9, 2022 Share March 9, 2022 @richard_crl032 my first coilover was Tein Flex Z so i will not go for any other Coilover for SUV anymore. Aftermarket shock with adjustable absorber is balanced enough for SUV. i do not believe in making our SUV vibrate until like gonna chui on our street road. Having EDFC of course will be a plus... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunshines11 1st Gear March 12, 2022 Share March 12, 2022 Hi all… Any recommendation for reliable workshop in Sin Ming Area to do regular servicing for Forester FNA? Many Thks in advance! 🙂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5ub23r0 1st Gear March 17, 2022 Share March 17, 2022 @richard_crl032 i don't understand 1 thing Bro, for this Flexible Sub Frame support, how does it affect ride and handling? stock XT already have some form of subframe support d right? and should I go and install the subframe support, will the rear power brace work hand it hand to tightened the rear end too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5ub23r0 1st Gear March 17, 2022 Share March 17, 2022 @shutterbox I am also tinkering with my forester setup but since its a daily driver and long distance visit relatives back in Msia car I am focusing on cooling and handling. Had the Engine Oil Cooler and CVT cooler installed to protect, and to prolong Engine and Transmission life cycle. Next i'm focusing on getting the necessary bars and braces. When i received the car it already have the Front STI Tower strut, Rear ARB and Gecko coilovers. It had 18 inches rims so i went to get a BBK, followed by changing 225/50/18 to 235/50/18. the ride was a bit soft so then I increased the damper settings from 12/24 to 17/24 then I changed the rear cambers arms, traction rods and installed front ARB. also changed out the engine mounts and stop pitch mount. next i'm gonna go for rear tower strut. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear March 17, 2022 Share March 17, 2022 5 hours ago, 5ub23r0 said: @richard_crl032 i don't understand 1 thing Bro, for this Flexible Sub Frame support, how does it affect ride and handling? stock XT already have some form of subframe support d right? and should I go and install the subframe support, will the rear power brace work hand it hand to tightened the rear end too? Hi, Yes .. there is a stock one in fxt that is not in fna but it is rigid. STI flexible subframe is flexible .. makes ride more compliant i.e. less harsh. Same for the STi rear stabiliser bar which is thin flexible one compare to thick stock steel one I guess .. just like the subframe. STI front stabiliser bar and front strut/anti roll bar in engine bay I added are add-ons instead and also flexible ones. Instead of this rear "power" brace, I have damping bar under front and read bumpers instead and frankly dun know the answer to your query except that these ties to the 2 parallel beams of the frame while subframe are more of undercarriage nature. I via for compliant ride and not stiff controlled ride. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear March 17, 2022 Share March 17, 2022 (edited) 5 hours ago, 5ub23r0 said: @shutterbox I am also tinkering with my forester setup but since its a daily driver and long distance visit relatives back in Msia car I am focusing on cooling and handling. Had the Engine Oil Cooler and CVT cooler installed to protect, and to prolong Engine and Transmission life cycle. Next i'm focusing on getting the necessary bars and braces. When i received the car it already have the Front STI Tower strut, Rear ARB and Gecko coilovers. It had 18 inches rims so i went to get a BBK, followed by changing 225/50/18 to 235/50/18. the ride was a bit soft so then I increased the damper settings from 12/24 to 17/24 then I changed the rear cambers arms, traction rods and installed front ARB. also changed out the engine mounts and stop pitch mount. next i'm gonna go for rear tower strut. Hi, Front arb is great ... I removed the much thicker cusco one but handling drops significantly which prompted me to reinstalled it .. too harsh for my tofu butt. Rear arb is a different story .. great that I removed the cusco one and went with thinner sti one. Playing around with bars for handling to me is not cost effective or effective in practice as well as introduces harshness and add more weight that we should avoid .. especially at 3.50/l for oct98 🤦♂️ A better solution is active damping via tein edfc active pro ... each damper/spring tightens individually to stabilise your car in seconds or parts of a second as well as giving your compliant ride at low speed when you feel the road the most but tightens up when you speeds up. Even when you brakes or takes off will have front or rear tightening up to avoid the dips and bounces. If only I knew back then what I know now 😅 Ymmv as usual and cheers Edited March 17, 2022 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5ub23r0 1st Gear March 17, 2022 Share March 17, 2022 @richard_crl032 agreed that Tein + EDFC will provide better handling/ride solution than adding bars but as my approach is to not replace anything unless broken (and install anything that i wanted that is not yet installed.... like the master brake cylinder brace and rear tower strut bar) hence i'm just gonna add the "missing" bars and braces and continue to use the current coilovers. once the current coilovers kaput i may just go Tein EDFC and then slowly remove the bars and braces.... as for comfort, right now on the 235/50s it's quite compliant so long as i don't overinflate and the extra bars right now for me is ok from weight perspective as i do very very short trips daily.... fuel consumption is fked anyways haha. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...