2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

@milynot Original. or you also can get the parts from Lesun (Stockies), then you have to find a reliable workshop to change it. If you search Youtube there is video on how to replace it, the only thing for us is we do not have those tools and space at home compare to those in US.

Hi anyone use Tourado Tyre? If you are, did you experience the following. (At 32 Old Toh Tuck Rd branch)

1. When the guy unscrew the nuts, it sound unusual ( by force and with louder sound then other workshop)
2. After replace the tyres before they install back the wheels, the guys will tell you most of your nuts is spoiled and cross you a set of 20 nuts(those with adapter) for $50. 
3. Also ask to to try to hand screw to test, I did try and almost 10 nuts were spoiled. 
4. So LL replace all nuts.
5. At car park as I observed, most car with the Tourador Sticker has change to new nuts.

Has anyone experience the same?

Edited by thefalcon
  • Shocked 3

21 minutes ago, thefalcon said:

Hi anyone use Tourado Tyre? If you are, did you experience the following. (At 32 Old Toh Tuck Rd branch)

1. When the guy unscrew the nuts, it sound unusual ( by force and with louder sound then other workshop)
2. After replace the tyres before they install back the wheels, the guys will tell you most of your nuts is spoiled and cross you a set of 20 nuts(those with adapter) for $50. 
3. Also ask to to try to hand screw to test, I did try and almost 10 nuts were spoiled. 
5. At car park as I observed, most car with the Tourador Sticker has change to new nuts.

Sounds like a place to avoid.... I have never replaced my nuts in my life. 😄

27 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Yah lor. My previous car 10 years till COE end also no replace of any nuts.

Nuts and bolts are old technology and there are no cases where they are wheel nuts are so damaged that they need to be replaced under normal wear and tear situation. If there is a need to replace one damaged nut, then may be it is bad luck. But to replace 10 nuts? More a case of using wrong tools or very incompetent workman.

1 hour ago, thefalcon said:

Please avoid this tyre... If you want to skid in the rain.

Tyre is something that I will not save on it, it is the only contact to the road.

@kermitfm 

1 hour ago, kermitfm said:

Nuts and bolts are old technology and there are no cases where they are wheel nuts are so damaged that they need to be replaced under normal wear and tear situation. If there is a need to replace one damaged nut, then may be it is bad luck. But to replace 10 nuts? More a case of using wrong tools or very incompetent workman.

I'm agreed that the nuts and bolt is not so easily damage. 

I think is more like a scam lor.

Edited by thefalcon

1 hour ago, Tohto said:

Please avoid this tyre... If you want to skid in the rain.

Tyre is something that I will not save on it, it is the only contact to the road.

🙏  Thanks bro.

Edited by thefalcon

2 hours ago, thefalcon said:

Yah lor. My previous car 10 years till COE end also no replace of any nuts.

knn let them play with your nuts, sure angry de 😡

3 hours ago, thefalcon said:

Forester SJ version is using M12x1.25, the threads are finer and more prone to cross-threaded on the wheel nuts. Should not use a high-impact gun with high torque to mount the wheel nuts.

A good tyre shop should be aware and able to try to save the wheel nuts.

Just FYI.

4 hours ago, thefalcon said:

i changed mine too. When i changed rim, the ah beng told me my stock nuts not gum with my new rims and i agree. 😂

But that's with another shop. 

i used to frequent al tyres (ubi outlet) and never got this kind of BS. But they did asked me to change the nuts to fit my new rims.

Normally both lugs and nuts will be damaged together. you need to see the threads. 

4 hours ago, Incom said:

Forester SJ version is using M12x1.25, the threads are finer and more prone to cross-threaded on the wheel nuts. Should not use a high-impact gun with high torque to mount the wheel nuts.

A good tyre shop should be aware and able to try to save the wheel nuts.

Just FYI.

I think they are aware and damage those nuts to up sell the nut set, everyone knows that the nut will not be so easily damage.

So there is something fishy about this shop. 

8 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

The shop is AL Tyres 

Edited by thefalcon

4 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

i changed mine too. When i changed rim, the ah beng told me my stock nuts not gum with my new rims and i agree. 😂

But that's with another shop. 

i used to frequent al tyres (ubi outlet) and never got this kind of BS. But they did asked me to change the nuts to fit my new rims.

Normally both lugs and nuts will be damaged together. you need to see the threads. 

I have no choice but to pay extra for the full set of the 20 lug nuts. If I insist to use my original nuts, they may damage the bolt too. if that's damage then I have to replace all 4 wheel bearing (because the bolt is build into the wheel bearing). 🧐

Found this for reference (for those who is interested)

https://cartreatments.com/lug-nut-sizes-types/ 

Edited by thefalcon

Tein Enduropro plus, Is this a Coilover or just the shock only?

My current coilover is aging start to making a lot of noise will need to be replaced soon.

Edit.. google an found more information. OK. Need to use original spring. Now I need to check whether I still have it.

Is BMS selling the Tein Enduropro plus?

Edited by Tohto

@Tohto nope, i think BMS sells their inhouse brand called APi Racing (not to be confused with AP Racing of Coventry). 

i haven't been looking around much but i know STpower sell Tein coilovers. You can also go to DynamicMechanics to look at their Gecko coilovers. FongKim Exhaust has BC Racing. Garage R has HKS? RZcrew has Ohlins i think. there are also Bilstein and Eibach but I don't know who sells it.

some Forester drivers prefers the STI springs but i don't know how will you be able to test different suspension setup short of calling a mass forester meetup lol.

12 minutes ago, 5ub23r0 said:

@Tohto nope, i think BMS sells their inhouse brand called APi Racing (not to be confused with AP Racing of Coventry). 

i haven't been looking around much but i know STpower sell Tein coilovers. You can also go to DynamicMechanics to look at their Gecko coilovers. FongKim Exhaust has BC Racing. Garage R has HKS? RZcrew has Ohlins i think. there are also Bilstein and Eibach but I don't know who sells it.

some Forester drivers prefers the STI springs but i don't know how will you be able to test different suspension setup short of calling a mass forester meetup lol.

I am currently using Gecko Coilovers, almost time to replace it. 

Consider try other different one.

I remember some bro recommend the Tein Enduropro plus, but can't really find where they got it.

And mention it is quite comfort.

Edited by Tohto

13 hours ago, Tohto said:

I am currently using Gecko Coilovers, almost time to replace it. 

Consider try other different one.

I remember some bro recommend the Tein Enduropro plus, but can't really find where they got it.

And mention it is quite comfort.

pg 1035/1036 2 bros mentioned cost and workshop for tein. 👍