Icarus 1st Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 Yesterday at around 6.30pm overcast day but still got plenty of sunlight, the AUTO headlamps came on. I was following a slow motorbike (engine run in) and he thought i highbeamed him... LOL I see the US manual and it mentioned a light sensitivity setting but i can't find it in my Forester. Probably need to bring in to MI to setup. Anyone else felt that the AUTO headlamps are too sensitive? Probably a LOW setting will be good. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 I also say. Happy wife, happy life. This is getting really confusing. How to have confidence in what oil is actually inside our cars when we can't even trust what's on the receipts they print for us? A bit nonsense, right? Anyway, I think I want to look for this Jeffrey since he seems to know what's going on. lol. I think that Jeffrey a bit blur one. but quite polite la. I think they put in 5w40 shell helix ultra synthetic la. Run-in period for forester is 1000 miles (roughly 1600km) They probably got tons of shell helix and dun mind putting this in after 1k. Save the trouble of stocking up mineral oil. maybe at 5k i will top up for their Motul oil. Btw, i just realized i got 2 paint chips caused by flying stones on my bonnet ;( That day heard some loud spiak sound now i know what damage it did to my car... I called MI and they say they will do touch up for me but at a small cost. However, my paint color now no stock, next week then come in. hiaz.. Flying stones no joke, PPS also can't prevent. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WML888 2nd Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 lol. I think that Jeffrey a bit blur one. but quite polite la. I think they put in 5w40 shell helix ultra synthetic la. Run-in period for forester is 1000 miles (roughly 1600km) They probably got tons of shell helix and dun mind putting this in after 1k. Save the trouble of stocking up mineral oil. maybe at 5k i will top up for their Motul oil. Btw, i just realized i got 2 paint chips caused by flying stones on my bonnet ;( That day heard some loud spiak sound now i know what damage it did to my car... I called MI and they say they will do touch up for me but at a small cost. However, my paint color now no stock, next week then come in. hiaz.. Flying stones no joke, PPS also can't prevent. Time to look for stone deflector to fit at bonnet. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SubaruOutbackMax Neutral Newbie June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 I had my Outback in for 1k and 5k Services this year. Both receipts printed Shell Helix Ultra 5W-30 Synthetic. Are you guys saying in reality, I got scammed to have mineral oil instead? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 MI Subaru price pretty stable over last 4 months or so where COE hover arund 40k to 50k ...Feels like their premium/profit buffer is about 10k or more before they change price noticeably. MI prices just went up by $6k across the board: www.subaru.asia/sg/media/buying/info/pricelist.pdf?id=644d3 Yesterday at around 6.30pm overcast day but still got plenty of sunlight, the AUTO headlamps came on. I was following a slow motorbike (engine run in) and he thought i highbeamed him... LOL I see the US manual and it mentioned a light sensitivity setting but i can't find it in my Forester. Probably need to bring in to MI to setup. Anyone else felt that the AUTO headlamps are too sensitive? Probably a LOW setting will be good. I don't know about the Forester, but the Legacy and Outback auto headlamp sensitivity can be adjusted by owners for US models, but must be adjusted by MI for SG models because our in-car settings computer doesn't have the same options as US variants. Auto headlamp sensitivity is a matter of personal judgement. I actually don't find them sensitive enough, so I'm going to ask MI to max out the sensitivity for me. lol. I think that Jeffrey a bit blur one. but quite polite la. I think they put in 5w40 shell helix ultra synthetic la. Run-in period for forester is 1000 miles (roughly 1600km) They probably got tons of shell helix and dun mind putting this in after 1k. Save the trouble of stocking up mineral oil. maybe at 5k i will top up for their Motul oil. Btw, i just realized i got 2 paint chips caused by flying stones on my bonnet ;( That day heard some loud spiak sound now i know what damage it did to my car... I called MI and they say they will do touch up for me but at a small cost. However, my paint color now no stock, next week then come in. hiaz.. Flying stones no joke, PPS also can't prevent. Hah? Blur then I dowan already, thank you very much. I don't need polite (though it's nice to have), I need si bei zai. The SA I spoke to over the phone, Jason, also didn't seem very sure exactly what sort of oil our cars come with upon delivery, and my SE could only tell me that "heavier" oil was put in for the break-in period, whatever that means (I sure hope it doesn't mean 5W40). If you go by the manual, Outback and Legacy run-in is also officially 1,000 miles or 1,600km, but if MI wants to change my oil earlier, I'm only too happy to let them... as long as they use the right oil, for goodness sake. I'm definitely going to try my best to get them to let me top up for Motul or MIRT oil, if they refuse to let me bring my own. See how. True, PPS may not protect against chips, but still better than no protection at all mah. I had my Outback in for 1k and 5k Services this year. Both receipts printed Shell Helix Ultra 5W-30 Synthetic. Are you guys saying in reality, I got scammed to have mineral oil instead? I'd really like to know the answer to this too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 (edited) After driving for 100km after my 1k service, i do feel my FXT is a bit heavier and response is slightly slower. Think the shell 5w40 oil sux... But i heard it has good protection. Anyway, will surely change to better w30 oil when doing 5k. I also noticed that they pump 230kpa for all 4 tires. This seems to be the sweet spot between comfort and handling. Edited June 10, 2016 by mrhan1982 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jthl 2nd Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 anyone has this in your forester? How to 'trigger' this? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rachdanom 2nd Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 Yesterday at around 6.30pm overcast day but still got plenty of sunlight, the AUTO headlamps came on. I was following a slow motorbike (engine run in) and he thought i highbeamed him... LOL I see the US manual and it mentioned a light sensitivity setting but i can't find it in my Forester. Probably need to bring in to MI to setup. Anyone else felt that the AUTO headlamps are too sensitive? Probably a LOW setting will be good. Ya I find a bit impractical. Even go under a bridge, under the shadow the lights flashed on then off in a second. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icarus 1st Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 anyone has this in your forester? How to 'trigger' this? Hold your front windshield mist spray for more than 2 seconds. The headlamp washers will pop out to wash your headlamps too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jthl 2nd Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 Hold your front windshield mist spray for more than 2 seconds. The headlamp washers will pop out to wash your headlamps too. hahaha...must ask my wife to see whether it works. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 This is news to me. SA told me they only have Shell Helix 5W30 and 5W40, but didn't tell me it was mineral (I assumed it was synthetic), and didn't mention the Motul upgrade. Also told me I wasn't allowed to bring my own oil or warranty void. Who's your SA, please? My 1k servicing for my Legacy is this coming Tuesday at Tpy and I want synthetic, and am happy to pay for it. Now to persuade MI to please take my money. What a strange situation. Synthetic oil lah.. This was my 1k servicing. You need to request and insist on 5W30 if you want it. If not they will use 5W40. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 After driving for 100km after my 1k service, i do feel my FXT is a bit heavier and response is slightly slower. Think the shell 5w40 oil sux... But i heard it has good protection. Anyway, will surely change to better w30 oil when doing 5k. I also noticed that they pump 230kpa for all 4 tires. This seems to be the sweet spot between comfort and handling. Heavier oil doesn't necessarily mean more protection leh. My understand is that the second number (40) refers to viscosity of engine oil (not coolant, which is what our gauges measure, and which doesn't always correspond to engine oil temp) at full operating temp, while the first number (5) refers to viscosity when starting cold. In short city commutes, many of us won't even reach full operating temp, so what matters more is the cold-start viscosity. Which is why if forced to choose only between 5W30 and 5W40, I'd choose 5W30, no need to think. And what I really want is 0W20 recommended by the Legacy/Outback manual, precisely for the cold-start protection. 230kpa all round, eh? Bro, what does your door sill/manual officially recommend ah? Just curious. Ya I find a bit impractical. Even go under a bridge, under the shadow the lights flashed on then off in a second. My problem is when entering a covered carpark, my lowbeams don't come on fast enough, and it's at the carpark entrance that I need them the most. Eg, Income@Prinsep carpark entrance is a blind corner. I need the lights on immediately so that the oncoming cars will know to please wait and let me get in first, otherwise both kena stuck then must reverse, dance around, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 Btw, i just realized i got 2 paint chips caused by flying stones on my bonnet ;( That day heard some loud spiak sound now i know what damage it did to my car... I called MI and they say they will do touch up for me but at a small cost. However, my paint color now no stock, next week then come in. hiaz.. Flying stones no joke, PPS also can't prevent. there's a thick clear sticker that can be used as stonechip guard on bonnet, front bumper, side mirrors etc. mine turned slightly yellow after a few years. Very obvious on white/light coloured cars. Not so obvious on dark colours my current bonnet swee swee, no stone chips. But kena many stone chips on front grill and windscreen LOL my previous forester had many many chips on the front bonnet thus decided to get the film on my current car. if i'm not wrong, the film is from Oracle, but i'm sure there are other brands available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 Synthetic oil lah.. This was my 1k servicing. You need to request and insist on 5W30 if you want it. If not they will use 5W40. Thanks, this is extremely useful! Much appreciated. I take it you're driving a Forester? I'll definitely be super cheong hei and insist on 5W30 then, assuming they don't let me bring my own 0W20 or 5W20. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SJGDKK8 1st Gear June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 u taking them in? Given the rate my tyres get puncture, I am thinking to buy tyres to stock up, maybe even 1 of the rim to change out the spare to a full size if possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 Given the rate my tyres get puncture, I am thinking to buy tyres to stock up, maybe even 1 of the rim to change out the spare to a full size if possible. full size spare is a good idea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SubaruOutbackMax Neutral Newbie June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 lol. I think that Jeffrey a bit blur one. but quite polite la. I think they put in 5w40 shell helix ultra synthetic la. Run-in period for forester is 1000 miles (roughly 1600km) They probably got tons of shell helix and dun mind putting this in after 1k. Save the trouble of stocking up mineral oil. maybe at 5k i will top up for their Motul oil. Btw, i just realized i got 2 paint chips caused by flying stones on my bonnet ;( That day heard some loud spiak sound now i know what damage it did to my car... I called MI and they say they will do touch up for me but at a small cost. However, my paint color now no stock, next week then come in. hiaz.. Flying stones no joke, PPS also can't prevent. 3M clear bra brah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 10, 2016 Share June 10, 2016 Thanks, this is extremely useful! Much appreciated. I take it you're driving a Forester? I'll definitely be super cheong hei and insist on 5W30 then, assuming they don't let me bring my own 0W20 or 5W20.I am driving the XT. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...