2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Thanks man, I'm going to pay it a visit soon. Hey wait, you've poisoned me!

Over-pumping no real harm, but under-pumping can be a problem, especially if you're kiasu and kiasi like me. Since you bring up load index, my 225/50R18 tyres have a 95W load index. Pumped to 230, it will perfectly bear my car's weight + load + passengers. Pumped beyond that, it will still do its job. But if pumped below that, I end up with tyres insufficiently inflated to tahan the load.

Another benefit of experimenting with different tyre pressures is seeing how it influences ride quality, noise and handling. Part of getting to know my new car and tyres.

I admit that I'm also not used to having new tyre valves that don't leak. My old car was, well, getting old, inside and out. Leaked everything.

I'm using the slime portable inflator too. Got it from Amazon years ago for about S$40+. Even when I pump during cold at my multi-storey car park I also add another 10kpa for all 4 tires. I also kiasu lol....

My understanding from new owner workshop is that 5W40 is used on FXT in Singapore because of (a) our hot, now even hotter, weather, not like US; and (b) it addresses an issue with the engine burning up oil - there are forum threads about how the FXT needs top up before it is due for servicing. I used lighter oil in my previous drive, but I think I'll just stick to what MI wants to put in it. They use the 5W30 for FNA.

For auto light sensitivity, the default factory setting it is at max sensitivity. Same as sensor for wiper. If you want them less sensitive, you can ask MI to adjust during servicing. However, when the battery is changed (or disconnected), it will all reset to factory default.

BTW, noticedt the Blackvue had stopped recording a while back. Looks like firmware got corrupted. Working now after firmware update. Recommend to check on it regularly.

Thanks for the info bro! I didn't attend the workshop as I didn't even know there is one. Lol. I guess I will follow MI recommendation of putting 5w40 for my xt. :)

Hi bros, some newbie questions - 

1. Do your foresters beep when unlocked? Example in the JP video below:

2. Do we have this welcome lighting in our foresters?

3. Is there any way to display Chinese song titles on the HU?

Edited by Icarus

Hi Bro who has booked the Forester but didn't get this round COE.  Did your SE ask you whether to consider top up option?

My understanding from new owner workshop is that 5W40 is used on FXT in Singapore because of (a) our hot, now even hotter, weather, not like US; and (b) it addresses an issue with the engine burning up oil - there are forum threads about how the FXT needs top up before it is due for servicing. I used lighter oil in my previous drive, but I think I'll just stick to what MI wants to put in it. They use the 5W30 for FNA.

For auto light sensitivity, the default factory setting it is at max sensitivity. Same as sensor for wiper. If you want them less sensitive, you can ask MI to adjust during servicing. However, when the battery is changed (or disconnected), it will all reset to factory default.

BTW, noticedt the Blackvue had stopped recording a while back. Looks like firmware got corrupted. Working now after firmware update. Recommend to check on it regularly.

Thanks for highlighting there's a firmware update. Didn't realise until u mention it. It was released on 1 June.

No to Q1 becos our car don't come with alarm. There are aftermarket alarm which works with the original remote such as the steelmate 838 IIC model. If anyone has tried it or install any other alarm, please share!

Also No to Q2 and Not sure about Q3

Edited by Jamesgetz

Hi Bro who has booked the Forester but didn't get this round COE. Did your SE ask you whether to consider top up option?

Me lah. SE bidded $50k. Asked me to wait next round. He doesn't sound happy. Maybe never kenna any. Boh commision.....

Me also... 8NG... SE suggest top up for 6G..

Thanks for highlighting there's a firmware update. Didn't realise until u mention it. It was released on 1 June.

No to Q1 becos our car don't come with alarm. There are aftermarket alarm which works with the original remote such as the steelmate 838 IIC model. If anyone has tried it or install any other alarm, please share!

Also No to Q2 and Not sure about Q3

For welcome-lights, isn't that the cabin lights up when we are near to the car prior to unlocking? I also notice 2 ambient lights. One at the center compartment below the entertainment screen and one near the sunglass holder compartment.

Just came back from 5k servicing at Leng Kee. Decided to try out LK as 1k service done at TP. Wanted to see any difference, although LK further from my place.

Confirmed with service technician that they're using Shell Helix Ultra Synthetic engine oil for their servicing on Foresters. Even for 1k and 5k servicing.

Rectified my steering too, which had a tendency to veer left on the highway. Solved.

Car wash also seems to be better as compared to TP Service Centre. Lesser oil stains and watermarks. Engine bay was cleaned up as well.

For welcome-lights, isn't that the cabin lights up when we are near to the car prior to unlocking? I also notice 2 ambient lights. One at the center compartment below the entertainment screen and one near the sunglass holder compartment.

That's different from the video which shows the headlamp DRL lighting up. Don't recall mine does that... I will go check later Edited by Jamesgetz

Hi Bro who has booked the Forester but didn't get this round COE. Did your SE ask you whether to consider top up option?

Don't top up. You should able to get your COE. If your car stock is not here yet. They will only bid for you when it it almost here.

My car price was base on the $38k COE. 1ST 3 bid they did not bid high. 4th bid, car arrived the port. So they bid and revised the price till I sure get the COE.

My COE is $47k.

Don't top up. You should able to get your COE. If your car stock is not here yet. They will only bid for you when it it almost here.

My car price was base on the $38k COE. 1ST 3 bid they did not bid high. 4th bid, car arrived the port. So they bid and revised the price till I sure get the COE.

My COE is $47k.

Seem like MI is willing to topup at least an additional 10k base on the list price to secure the coe. However, we also need to take into the account of discount they have given during the purchase. Many of current buyer get like 8k discount for 8 bid when they sign the dot.

What about yours?

Edited by Axela72

I'm using the slime portable inflator too. Got it from Amazon years ago for about S$40+. Even when I pump during cold at my multi-storey car park I also add another 10kpa for all 4 tires. I also kiasu lol....

Madness loves company. Thanks for making me feel less weird. You do know that doesn't make us any less kiasu, right?

Legacy doesn't beep or turn on headlamps either. Looks like a difference between US and SG/JDM trims.

The inability to display Chinese characters drives me nuts. Even my crappy old Cerato HU did that. Bugs my CO too. We both listen to lots of Chinese music in the car.

Just came back from 5k servicing at Leng Kee. Decided to try out LK as 1k service done at TP. Wanted to see any difference, although LK further from my place.

Confirmed with service technician that they're using Shell Helix Ultra Synthetic engine oil for their servicing on Foresters. Even for 1k and 5k servicing.

Rectified my steering too, which had a tendency to veer left on the highway. Solved.

Car wash also seems to be better as compared to TP Service Centre. Lesser oil stains and watermarks. Engine bay was cleaned up as well.

I've been curious about LK vs TP (1k servicing at TP this coming Tue) so thanks for the review. Car wash is better at LK, eh? Too bad TP is so near my office I really cannot justify trying LK.

Interesting point about the Chinese characters. Not collected my ride yet but will check and confirm. Reason is I am quite OCD about having proper encoding for Chinese double byte titles and artist names and proper Album art covers. So usually my songs will work on almost all HU and phones and software so far. Except one Zune player years ago :).

Do let us know if you have better luck. I'm OCD about audio file metadata too, and haven't really had a problem till now. On my Kia Cerato, sometimes certain characters wouldn’t show, but with the Fujitsu Ten OEM HU in my Legacy (same as the one in OB and FXT), titles and artists are completely blank unless there are numbers or English words. Infuriating.

I suspect MI asked for the Aussie spec HU to use for Spore.

Hence no support for Chinese.

By right can techinically resolve by updating the software to China version since MI also operate in China.

But I won't hold my breath for MI Spore to help in this.

Another solution is to buy a China original Subaru HU to fit here.

I suspect MI asked for the Aussie spec HU to use for Spore.

Hence no support for Chinese.

By right can techinically resolve by updating the software to China version since MI also operate in China.

But I won't hold my breath for MI Spore to help in this.

Another solution is to buy a China original Subaru HU to fit here.

You could be right.

Cost of replacing our HU with a Chinese version of the same OEM model would probably be the equivalent of getting a high-end Pioneer aftermarket HU with Carplay and Android Auto, though we'd lose the tight integration with voice commands and car systems, the clean aesthetics I like, and of course there are warranty issues. Sigh. Firmware flash sounds like a better idea. Dunno how viable though.

I think their strategy is like this:

Now that they marked up the prices of their cars, until they are sure of the profit margin and the number of orders, then they see if make sense to secure COEs for their customers the next round; depending on the trend of COEs.

So in the end those who paid lower car prices may end up with higher COEs and poor fellas who paid more may have lower value of COEs

Edited by Jaris32