2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Hello,

I'm new to the forum, have a Forester 2.0 bought end of last year. Thinking of putting in new solar film and doing some soundproofing (the road and wind noise a bit loud). Looked around, found many solar film, not sure which is good. Also dunno where to do soundproofing for Forester. Any good recommendations? thanks!!

MI does soundproofing (which doubles as heat insulation) for all Subaru models, FYI. It isn't cheap - was quoted $1,150 for four doors plus roof for a Legacy - but, depending on how important soundproofing is to you, it might be worth it. A quiet cabin naturally give a more premium feel, zens you out in traffic, and of course lets you enjoy your music more, which is why I'm still considering it. Do let us know if you manage to find a cheaper quote elsewhere.

I recommend Infratint. Infratint done up my previous 2 cars.

There is 1 flim which i can't rem the name now. It is a clear flim that reject 90+% IR (source of heat in car) but 50% clarity. For new car, u can keep it for 3 years before inspection.

3 years inspection or when kena stopped by TP whichever is earlier..

Will not kenna from TP as it is cleared film. Our eye will not be able to tell the diff btw 50% and 75%

Unfortunately yours sincerely kena...

By the look at the specs at Zen, it's even better than 3M with half the price. Worth while going for it! Initially i have a bit of doubt but many owners said its very good.

I was recommended by fellow owners to go to Zen for window film. Their package price for Forester including sun roof is $430. Workmanship is pretty good and most importantly, their film is decent.

My old car's film (think it's Rike Cool) compared to my 2 colleague's Latio stock film was already quite good. I find the Zen one even better than my old car's film.

When I was at Zen, another Forester was there too and he had the stock film provided by MI. He was there to replace the stock film with Zen's. Zen boss took the Forester stock film and folded it to give a double layer and put it under a lamp to test the heat. The heat rejection was quite bad. The single layer Zen film cuts more heat under the same lamp. Zen contact number is 98459289 (Jimmy).   

Vezel vs FXT

(1) both are cars-like SUV

(2) both made in Japan

(3) one always sees the other car's butt

(4) in MY FXT always like to park next to a Honda and/or Toyota (Mark X)

(5) In MY FXT get scratch, Vezel don't..  

I completed Item (1) and (4) for you

But Item (5) :

Share your complete vision leh ... Scratch by who ... ?

I completed Item (1) and (4) for you

But Item (5) :

Share your complete vision leh ... Scratch by who ... ?

Oh.. In MY Honda and Toyota don't get scratched.. They get stolen

My friend was considering either FNA or FXT and went down for a test drive last week. The SE told him FXT can only use 98. If use 95 and got problem, dun call the SE. 

I'm also considering FXT. Saw in some posts ok to use 95, though might have some knocking. 

If use 95 will void warranty? I just joined the forum to try to find this out. Couldn't find a definite answer from reading so many posts.

Saw in some US posts that warranty will not be voided if using lower octane petrol.  

Thanks. [dizzy]

hahaha. at first i thought the same

but i realised i miss having the alarm when i in a large carpark trying to find my car. lol

just press and follow the sound.

Even luxury conti also don't equipped with alarm, why you need the alarm.
Most of the alarm are local fit or after market.

what racks?

the only racks i saw was on the SE.

Just curious only, is impossible to buy forester without the racks? Anyone has any idea?

My friend was considering either FNA or FXT and went down for a test drive last week. The SE told him FXT can only use 98. If use 95 and got problem, dun call the SE.

I'm also considering FXT. Saw in some posts ok to use 95, though might have some knocking.

If use 95 will void warranty? I just joined the forum to try to find this out. Couldn't find a definite answer from reading so many posts.

Saw in some US posts that warranty will not be voided if using lower octane petrol.

Thanks. [dizzy]

Can use 95. Even service technician at MI also said so, although it's recommended to use 98. The recommended Ron label on the FXT fuel cap also states minimum Ron 95.

95 can use, just that if engine notice any knocking, it will adjust and retard the ignition causing slight reduction in power. But will not damage engine and most likely we won't feel it.

However, most FXT owners will use 98 as recommended in the car manual. Going by full tank fill up, it roughly cost $15-$18 more per tank. Worth it in my opinion to go for the higher octane grade.

Edited by razor54

Can use 95. Even service technician at MI also said so, although it's recommended to use 98. The recommended Ron label on the FXT fuel cap also states minimum Ron 95.

95 can use, just that if engine notice any knocking, it will adjust and retard the ignition causing slight reduction in power. But will not damage engine and most likely we won't feel it.

However, most FXT owners will use 98 as recommended in the car manual. Going by full tank fill up, it roughly cost $15-$18 more per tank. Worth it in my opinion to go for the higher octane grade.

Wah, that means the SE not very nice to say dun look for her if got problem. Maybe she pushing FNA instead of FXT. 

Thanks razor54!

Based on my Google degree, all are saying go for min requirement of 95 for FXT so thats what I am using. Dont know what knocking sounds like though but havent heard anything from engine.

I tried using 95 too. Cannot feel any negligible difference, if any. Modern ECU too advanced, even if knock will be compensated immediately with adjustments.

I'm back to using 98 because the additional cost over 95 is not too much to my usage.

I tried using 95 too. Cannot feel any negligible difference, if any. Modern ECU too advanced, even if knock will be compensated immediately with adjustments.

I'm back to using 98 because the additional cost over 95 is not too much to my usage.

I try 2 tank of 95.

Some how my butt feel less smooth and powerful. So used back 98.

Thanks. [dizzy]

I use esso 8000 on my FXT. 3rd tank (roughly 52-54L per tank) of esso 8000 and now mileage showing 1700km, with 1/4 tank left. collected car when its 9km. So far, it has been averaging 11.5km/L. This car is quite efficient using esso 8000. I do a mix of roughly 60%hw and 40% city. So far i find that esso 8000 is smooth and powerful for Fxt. Fxt fuel cap says min ron 95, so typically most users will put in slightly better fuel (eg. 98). Most 1.6L sedan requires 92 but most ppl uses 95. 

BTW, this is  the FIRST car I own that actually achieved the manufacturer's claimed FC figure on paper! I have never been able to achieve anything close in my previous cars. Its quite amazing, really. My friend's 3 year old BMW 320i (F30) started with 10+km/L in first year. Now deteriorated to 7.5km/L... and he's driving in comfort mode with occasional eco mode.  

I have tried using esso 5000 and 8000 on my old cars before. I find that 8000 gives better mileage and smoother. I personally feel that the small savings ain't worth it.

Edited by mrhan1982

I think your assumptions are more or less accurate, though I didn't manage to force my HU to use filenames for title display.

I copied AAC music files with both Chinese and Japanese character file names to a USB flash drive.

Title were still blank on the HU.

I then used Windows 7 to strip the files of metadata (right-click, select Properties, Select All, remove), and tried again.

Still blank on the HU.

So, I think that:

- Our HUs could benefit from a firmware update, or

- I'm missing a way to more thoroughly strip my files of metadata in order to force the HU to default to the file names.

On another note, perhaps a better workaround would be to find a way to update our Gracenote database, because I prefer to use my iPhone for playback instead of a USB flash drive. Anyone know where we can find an updated library, please? Because if we can, then uploading it looks like the easy bit:

IMG_5285_zpsabd154bd.jpg

I tested also but does not work.

Suspect that the person with the working HU is actually having a more up-to-date firmware.

Maybe, can see if Fuji-Ten or MI can flash our HUs to that version.

Did anyone encounter situation where the auto rain sensing wiper activates the wipers when there is not much water on the windscreen and the lower portion drags noisily ?  I don't know if the sensor is too sensitive or the wiper is not installed properly....appreciate help.

On the Octane issue, I found this informative and entertaining :