2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

I think the installer didn't follow/aware the ♤ sign, put the bitumen sheets upside-down Lah... deflecting sound waves the wrong way...

Possible ?

Hahaha... the bitumen sheets came with a self-adhesive side... no way it was stuck on wrongly... overall all these measures add a lot of weight to the car... hence there is a significant trade off...

In any case, if you do read articles of various manufacturers who advertise improved NVH through soundproofing measures, you will find that some of the most effective ways is to:

1) Use thicker glass for windscreen / windows - but the weight penalty is substantial. Especially some cars now use triple-laminate windscreens, and some windscreens are simply humongous (think C4 Picasso)

2) Extrusion of foam inserts into the hollow A or B pillars, this also weighs quite a bit.

3) Strategic placement of sound insulation materials (not sure what these are, but likely rubber/bitumen bits of varying densities) on the chassis and car frame, particularly large sheet metal surfaces to reduce resonance and vibrations, e.g. wheel wells, both inside and on the inner surface (inside the body).

4) Thicker steel sheets for strategic parts, including the firewall, front door posts (A pillars), B pillars, and roof.

5) Plugging the holes in the firewall, doors, body etc where wires pass through with rubber grommets and seals to reduce the amount of space for air and noise to pass through. Also covering all inner metal surfaces with soft materials (like inside of boot lid, door panels, roof, windows, etc). This includes the boot cavity where the rear seats fold down for access to the boot. This part is one of the largest culprits for noise coming through. The rear seats always have worse sound insulation than the front seats cos the boot isn't insulated from noise and it travels through largely through that cavity. Sealing this cavity isn't easy.

For all these measures, a lot of measurements for the attenuation of the noise are made against how much (area coverage), how thick, how dense, how expensive and how heavy and how it impacts fuel consumption and meeting emissions standards has to be done before the manufacturer decides how to approach the sound insulation. You could of course seal up the car very well, but it may neither be cost effective or practical to use. This is why after that one experience with the Proton Wira and then reading up, I realise that all these third party sound insulation doesn't really work.

For those considering, you have to ask yourself if you're irritated with the high or low frequency noises. This will then help you decide what type of third party insulation you want to install. Don't get your hopes too high... effects are rather minimal. You can actually measure the noise in your car before you do it... run on a certain stretch of road that you find particularly noisy. Check the sound file, see which frequencies are the highest, and work on those with the installer. Then check back again... will be good if you can post your results here... then we have some objective measure (may be limited scientifically but still better than nothing nevertheless) to go by.

Edited by teomingern

the cheapest solution . A Kilat sound cancellation headphone. For those really serious be prepared to spend. For those who got Budget ($1K and below) lots of products out there. Just don't expect too much..

It's just like PPS some do 3 layers some do 12 layers. Shiny shiny easy to wash.. That's all.. Still get scratches and dents.

And for those who put in lots of $$$$$$.. On sound insulation, PPS, hi fi, speakers.. The one who buys your car in 3-5 years time will say thank you! But then life is short.. Got money spend la..

Edited by BenTong

the cheapest solution . A Kilat sound cancellation headphone. For those really serious be prepared to spend. For those who got Budget ($1K and below) lots of products out there. Just don't expect too much..

It's just like PPS some do 3 layers some do 12 layers. Shiny shiny easy to wash.. That's all.. Still get scratches and dents.

And for those who put in lots of $$$$$$.. On sound insulation, PPS, hi fi, speakers.. The one who buys your car in 3-5 years time will say thank you! But then life is short.. Got money spend la..

Aiyah... I think you just let the cat out...

Quickly go file the patent, before car manufacturers comes up with in-cabin noise cancellation frequency generator.

Hahaha... funny... but it was a decent car... very tough... reliable...

Any car that don't come with any modern electronics will not fail easily.

Mechanical parts are always very reliable. Electronics under our hot and humid weather will never last long.

Aiyah... I think you just let the cat out...

Quickly go file the patent, before car manufacturers comes up with in-cabin noise cancellation frequency generator.

Onz.. Let's kick start!

I think i used the normal type its a silver coloured one. not gold colour. kinda long ago liao can't recall much. Got a diy installer to do it at some multistorey carpark. $400 and he gave me $50 discount, was considered cheap at that time. haa

Sometimes all these add-on sound proofing only gives more of a placebo effect than having much real results. But if u think along the line of improving sound then it will probably give u better results. and of course, the sound proofing will also give u a nicer thud when closing.

The fxt doors still feel a bit hollow compared to my friend's 320i, but of course that doesn't mean 320i is a safer car than the fxt. In fact, i think i recall reading somewhere the fxt has better ncap crash results than even the 320.

The fxt is quieter than the current gen of jetta. Though the jetter has heavier doors. I test drove the x3 xdrive 2L before too. at normal speeds (0-80km/h) they all sound pretty quiet, can't tell the difference. At >100km/h that's where the difference comes in. The car with the bigger and lower profile tires will always be nosier! Wind noise becomes very negligible liao.

I noticed that the next 2 sats all fully booked for servicing at both TPY and LK!! Too many Subarus around these days!

Wa lao... Had to book for next thurs morning and ask bro for help to send in for servicing.

Hmm.. the more i think the more i can't decide to sound proof the 4 doors. lol. I even put down under remarks to do sound proof on 4 doors in my booking.

Oh no, please don't let us dissuade you from soundproofing at MI! We need you review leh

Today drove in light/medium rain along kpe/tpe, noise mostly came from rain splattering on windscreen. I notice the roof is pretty well insulated. Hardly hear much from roof. Windscreen also quite thick so splattering noise was minimal. Confirm roof no need extra insulation Liao. I was still enjoying a nice conversation with Wife despite the rain. Both of us no need to talk louder than usual.

Think I might forgo doing the 4 doors Liao. Lol.

Today drove in light/medium rain along kpe/tpe, noise mostly came from rain splattering on windscreen. I notice the roof is pretty well insulated. Hardly hear much from roof. Windscreen also quite thick so splattering noise was minimal. Confirm roof no need extra insulation Liao. I was still enjoying a nice conversation with Wife despite the rain. Both of us no need to talk louder than usual.

Think I might forgo doing the 4 doors Liao. Lol.

You must be newly weds. Coz at my age Uncle Aunty when shout at each other also cannot hear the rain or sound Edited by BenTong

You must be newly weds. Coz at my age Uncle Aunty when shout at each other also cannot hear the rain or soundððððð

Errr...

Need to shout at each other seems to indicate car noisy leh..., therefore, shout to raise voice level.

Secondly, when shouting (>50db), and if voice loud enough to exceed decibal generated by rain splashing on windshield/roof (~45db) and with no sound insulation, one should be able to hear both 50+45=95db, and this is quite noisy... For reference, car horn typically 100-130db (legal ones).

You must be newly weds. Coz at my age Uncle Aunty when shout at each other also cannot hear the rain or soundððððð

Not newly weds la. 5 yr plus Liao. Talk comfortably in car is a luxury. Past cars all need to talk louder when raining or going over rough patches.

I have been driving the FXT for about 2000KM and noticed that both sides of the rear bumper are missing some rivets. Does anyone has the same observation?

post-141890-0-07027400-1468767284.jpg

post-141890-0-43370300-1468767284.jpg

I have been driving the FXT for about 2000KM and noticed that both sides of the rear bumper are missing some rivets. Does anyone has the same observation?

Same I just saw this just now. I think for mounting mud Flaps?

It's normal. The holes are for securing the mud flap which is an optional item.

Cantonese saying.. "Dai Keng Siew Kwai"

Errr...
Need to shout at each other seems to indicate car noisy leh..., therefore, shout to raise voice level.

Secondly, when shouting (>50db), and if voice loud enough to exceed decibal generated by rain splashing on windshield/roof (~45db) and with no sound insulation, one should be able to hear both 50+45=95db, and this is quite noisy... For reference, car horn typically 100-130db (legal ones).

Newly weds like to whisper. So car sounds are annoying. Uncle and Aunty shout even with sound insulation...you know when you get there.. [drivingcar]  [furious]

Not newly weds la. 5 yr plus Liao. Talk comfortably in car is a luxury. Past cars all need to talk louder when raining or going over rough patches.

Please la..haven't even pass PSLE.. :a-aggressive:  :a-dothewave:  :a-fun:

Edited by BenTong

Price is still the same:

Subaru Forester 2.0 I-L @ $113,800  ,

2.0 XT @ $126,800 with trade in vehicle. 

(8 bids non-guaranteed COE ) . T & C applies.

Somemore it's final price without anymore discount.

Price is still the same:

Subaru Forester 2.0 I-L @ $113,800  ,

2.0 XT @ $126,800 with trade in vehicle. 

(8 bids non-guaranteed COE ) . T & C applies.

Somemore it's final price without anymore discount.

That means it's more expensive lar... cos no discount, cannot bargain mah...