Zommy3 Neutral Newbie July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 Sent in for 5k servicing today. They told me 5k Can still use shell oil since it's free and only using it for another 5k. 10k onwards can choose mirt 5w40 at $17+ or motul 300v 5w40 racing for $70+. The 300v sounds like good deal. Also took the plunge to do 4 door sound proof using 3m for $680... See how it goes.. Do share ur reviews after the door sound proofing..thx ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 (edited) Sent in for 5k servicing today. They told me 5k Can still use shell oil since it's free and only using it for another 5k. 10k onwards can choose mirt 5w40 at $17+ or motul 300v 5w40 racing for $70+. The 300v sounds like good deal. Also took the plunge to do 4 door sound proof using 3m for $680... See how it goes.. is tht the top up price/litre? any 5w30 mirt or motul? Edited July 21, 2016 by BenTong 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legacygts 1st Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 Actually anyone did Stage 1/2 for their FXT yet? The CVT gearbox can take it? What is the weakest link which limits the increment in power? My friend ordered the manual base rex and will be get his car in aug/sept. He read that the auto cvt gearbox is quite weak if looking to do up the car.. Lets say up hp to abv 300 and torque to above 400nm. Can i say the same for FXT CVT gearbox? Correct me if i am wrong but I think the WRX uses the same CVT gearbox as FXT just that ratio might be different. So if WRX gearbox can take upward tuning..I believe its the same for FXT CVT gearbox. By the way, care to share where to do stage 1/2? What's in stage 1/2? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 first thing to end is definitely MI warranty... no...wallet first 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 (edited) Correct me if i am wrong but I think the WRX uses the same CVT gearbox as FXT just that ratio might be different. So if WRX gearbox can take upward tuning..I believe its the same for FXT CVT gearbox. By the way, care to share where to do stage 1/2? What's in stage 1/2? Stage 1 - Air intake, exhaust, intercooler, custom mapping https://www.torquecars.com/tuning/tuning-stages.php as to where to do... i think the usual Subaru specialist workshop (BKS / BMS) should be able to do ba Edited July 21, 2016 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 Actually anyone did Stage 1/2 for their FXT yet? The CVT gearbox can take it? What is the weakest link which limits the increment in power? My friend ordered the manual base rex and will be get his car in aug/sept. He read that the auto cvt gearbox is quite weak if looking to do up the car.. Lets say up hp to abv 300 and torque to above 400nm. Can i say the same for FXT CVT gearbox? No owner will reply to you on this topics on a open forum.. Ya fc for the fna and fxt are terrible. A vezel or qq 1.2 turbo or even a vezel hybrid is much better buy. Heard these can hit 15-20km/L easily. Dun buy it just because it looks like a big car and quite value for money. Got to think of the high maintenance cost in long term ownership. Heard that the awd is very complex and cost a lot to repair if spoil too. A vezel or qq wun have this prob. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 Sent in for 5k servicing today. They told me 5k Can still use shell oil since it's free and only using it for another 5k. 10k onwards can choose mirt 5w40 at $17+ or motul 300v 5w40 racing for $70+. The 300v sounds like good deal. Also took the plunge to do 4 door sound proof using 3m for $680... See how it goes.. How many layer they put? Please update the results of the sound proofing. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 is tht the top up price/litre? any 5w30 mirt or motul?Total top up price. The mirt 5w30 top up is very value for money. 300v top up for $70+ is a steal too. I'll probably take 300v for my 10k servicing. Mirt and 300v only available at 5w40. They say 5w40 is necessary for boxer turbo coz of our climate and it can reduce engine oil consumption. 5w30 for non turbo boxer. 5w30 they have motul hitec plus. But that one is for legacy and fna. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 Total top up price. The mirt 5w30 top up is very value for money. 300v top up for $70+ is a steal too. I'll probably take 300v for my 10k servicing. Mirt and 300v only available at 5w40. They say 5w40 is necessary for boxer turbo coz of our climate and it can reduce engine oil consumption. 5w30 for non turbo boxer. 5w30 they have motul hitec plus. But that one is for legacy and fna. Thanks man!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 (edited) How many layer they put? Please update the results of the sound proofing. Thanks. Should be one bah. All lot of bros here waiting for my feedback on 4 door sound proof. Heheh. I took grabcar from tpy to Pahang street this morning. Came a Altis (last gen) I was surprise at how noisy and uncomfortable it was! Didn't realised the forester was so quiet... The 1.6L Altis engine was noisy and struggling to keep up with traffic. Well with an additional 100kg (me..), I can't blame it... Then I took grabcar again from Pahang street to tampines. This time came a Camry 2L (also last gen). The pick up was noticeable better than the Altis, and less noisy. But road noise was quite apparent. When it was traveling in the kpe tunnel towards Bartley exit I could feel all the bumps as the car was bouncing like a boat ( typical Toyota soft suspension) and it wasn't quite a good experience. Uncle tried to make a right turn a little faster and I could really feel the body roll. Almost like 1 wheel is floating in the air. Hmm, wasn't quite wat I expected after hearing all the good reviews of the Camry. It couldn't handle uneven roads well and sound insulation wasn't too good either. then I realised that the forester is indeed a good car. Haa Edited July 21, 2016 by mrhan1982 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 No owner will reply to you on this topics on a open forum.. modding car legally is also wrong? pai sey meh? haha All those i mentioned are very small mods only leh 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 (edited) I realised that the forester is very smart when comes to negotiating bends at higher speeds (70-90/km/h) especially when u turn the steering towards the direction of the bend just before u enter the bend. U will feel very little body roll and the car just cruise around the bend confortably without having to apply too much brake. Is this the active torque vectoring at work? The feeling is kinda different when say I try to make a fast turn from stop, where I still experience quite a lot of body roll. Edited July 21, 2016 by mrhan1982 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 Total top up price. The mirt 5w30 top up is very value for money. 300v top up for $70+ is a steal too. I'll probably take 300v for my 10k servicing. Mirt and 300v only available at 5w40. They say 5w40 is necessary for boxer turbo coz of our climate and it can reduce engine oil consumption. 5w30 for non turbo boxer. 5w30 they have motul hitec plus. But that one is for legacy and fna. So MI are more expert than Subaru engineer that design this engine. You believe them. They just want to max out their profit lah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kayaloti 2nd Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 I done my own 4 door sound proof using material bought off tb. It's just a fraction of what you paid to mi to do. It's rather easy for door and I did 2 layer on them. Took me only 2-3hrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 So MI are more expert than Subaru engineer that design this engine. You believe them. They just want to max out their profit lah.I also used to think that 5w40 oils are not necessary in our climate until I experienced oil leaks in some of the seals when using thinner oils in the past. Used to try various kinds of oils at 30 weights on a few Jap makes, all end up with some oil leaks problems in engine bay. The whole intention of using lighter oils was getting better fc and better throttle response. Yes u do get those benefits, but very marginally. A high quality 40 weight oil will still give u the same or better performance as a 30 weight oil. Nvm la, this time round I'll be good and believe in them. I doubt they can profit much if they charge $17+ more their mirt oil top up, or even $70+ for 300v top up. It's actually more expensive for me to buy 5L of 300v and pass to them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
swong19 1st Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 Will install soon! Stock film only good at cutting out 99% of the UV but quite hopeless in cutting the heat. Sometimes used it together with the laser shades still can feel a bit of heat. Tohto is right! The Zen film is good and probably the cheapest i have heard for Forester. Beat the crap out of stock film 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 I done my own 4 door sound proof using material bought off tb. It's just a fraction of what you paid to mi to do. It's rather easy for door and I did 2 layer on them. Took me only 2-3hrs. Good results? Foam type or rubber type? Tot of doing it myself by buying from Amazon too. But scared if I screw up then door panels start to creak or squeak then sian Liao. Hence I end up paying MI to fit 3m panel. anything wrong I can still find MI. Lol I also scared to screw up my hk writings which are inside the door panels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear July 21, 2016 Share July 21, 2016 Should be one bah. All lot of bros here waiting for my feedback on 4 door sound proof. Heheh. I took grabcar from tpy to Pahang street this morning. Came a Altis (last gen) I was surprise at how noisy and uncomfortable it was! Didn't realised the forester was so quiet... The 1.6L Altis engine was noisy and struggling to keep up with traffic. Well with an additional 100kg (me..), I can't blame it... Then I took grabcar again from Pahang street to tampines. This time came a Camry 2L (also last gen). The pick up was noticeable better than the Altis, and less noisy. But road noise was quite apparent. When it was traveling in the kpe tunnel towards Bartley exit I could feel all the bumps as the car was bouncing like a boat ( typical Toyota soft suspension) and it wasn't quite a good experience. Uncle tried to make a right turn a little faster and I could really feel the body roll. Almost like 1 wheel is floating in the air. Hmm, wasn't quite wat I expected after hearing all the good reviews of the Camry. It couldn't handle uneven roads well and sound insulation wasn't too good either. then I realised that the forester is indeed a good car. Haa Aren't those old 8-9+ year cars that you are comparing with ? Most of the time the suspension and engines are not maintained very well also. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...