2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

By the way, any Forester owners here have dechrome their cars? Any pics and advise on where to do it? 

Also anyone done 9H glass coat when collect their car? Any recommendation and pricing to share? 

The Forester will be great with a dual clutch transmission... not only start from standing but the switch up to higher gears on the move.

Yea, a dual clutch would be great! Must be done right though.. otherwise end up always visiting workshop then sian 1/2 liao. [laugh]

i guess most Fxt owners are just being modest when they say the initial pick up is not fast. Haa. This thing outruns a sonata taxi from stop anytime. Most taxi drivers Rev to 3k or more from initial Rev and u can feel the pull from the peak low end torque. The feeling of being pulled is also due to their 4 speed auto (or maybe 5 speed??) The cvt in the fxt wun let u feel the pull in normal I or sports mode but u got to notice how fast it actually picks up speed. Tried a few times personally when I had to cut in left to exit. Nowadays, I always stop at an empty lane (eg right most even if I need to exit left after traffic lights) as I know I can overtake most cars including taxis at low revs below 3k (up to 2.5k is good enough for most instances).

Btw, changing to the recommended oil grade (5w30) confirm can feel better response. The seehum oil is crap...

What is your take on adding an after market Engine Oil Cooler ? Ie : HKS, Nishimoto, Perrin, or is there a STi from Subaru ?

Not for tracking, mainly to maintain a lower engine oil temp than the stock set-up, during long drive up north. From the readings, seems like a technical add-on that makes sense. But,this is my 1st Subary boxer turbo, learning from the gurus here.

Correct me if I am wrong but Subaru WRX also uses CVT gearbox (same as Forester??). Their engine (not sure if it is the same make as Forester) is tune higher for greater HP output and torque is mated to a CVT gearbox, I dont see any slow pick up from WRX but then it could also be that WRX is 200+kg lighter than FXT.   :P

Yes the WRX, Forester XT an d Levorg GT all uses the same FA20 DIT engine, though the Levorg they offer here is only the 1.6 GT-S.

However the tuning of individual cars gearbox and engine varies too. I believe the WRX is tuning for performance. the JDM WRX S4 is even more hardcore.

If you watch Youtube video you will also see the main complaint on the CVT WRX is it's not as quick as it should be, However the manual version is a different story.

The Forester will be great with a dual clutch transmission... not only start from standing but the switch up to higher gears on the move.

Are you trying to turn Forester into mini Macan?

Whenever u need to change clutch pack, there are 2 to change hor.

What is your take on adding an after market Engine Oil Cooler ? Ie : HKS, Nishimoto, Perrin, or is there a STi from Subaru ?

Not for tracking, mainly to maintain a lower engine oil temp than the stock set-up, during long drive up north. From the readings, seems like a technical add-on that makes sense. But,this is my 1st Subary boxer turbo, learning from the gurus here.

Any aftermarket mod to lower engine temp will make the car performs better even in start/stop traffic.

Not forget to change all the rubber hose to silicon hose.

I teach 1 trick.

Close up to them fast as close as tailgating before you jam brake.

If these drivers look at their rear view mirror, sure kancheong spider move left.

Last time, i drive MRS also cannot tahan these roadhogger le.

Please don't offer more ideas. I already kenna cut when on lane 1 following the car in front with a constant 5 car space at 90+. He was coming out from Alexandra towards west. Red.

Thanks ah

Please don't offer more ideas. I already kenna cut when on lane 1 following the car in front with a constant 5 car space at 90+. He was coming out from Alexandra towards west. Red.

Thanks ah

Maybe you could drive on lane 2 to avoid this incident in future

:XD:

Maybe you could drive on lane 2 to avoid this incident in future

:XD:

I will go to lane 2 when its empty and when someone behind me is faster. I do not need Inline 6 to teach me.

Sh..................

It is V12 cut half.

By the way, any Forester owners here have dechrome their cars? Any pics and advise on where to do it?

Also anyone done 9H glass coat when collect their car? Any recommendation and pricing to share?

I did opti coat with Benny. Can find his contact from this forum under the detailing session. Dunno how many h but only cost me $290 for 2 coats. So far so good. He's a diy detailer btw.

No idea and no intention to mod the car. Only thinking of using a better quality and lower viscosity engine oil to save some fuel and get slightly better response.

Any aftermarket mod to lower engine temp will make the car performs better even in start/stop traffic.

Not forget to change all the rubber hose to silicon hose.

how does lower engine oil temp enhance performance?

shouldn't it be a lower intake temp instead?

[dizzy]   

[dizzy]

(1) As long as the operating temperature not exceed the engine oil boiling temperature (typical ~125 degree C), it is OK. Am I correct ?

(2) What are the option to lower intake temperature ?

I did opti coat with Benny. Can find his contact from this forum under the detailing session. Dunno how many h but only cost me $290 for 2 coats. So far so good. He's a diy detailer btw.

No idea and no intention to mod the car. Only thinking of using a better quality and lower viscosity engine oil to save some fuel and get slightly better response.

Thanks bro..i will check him out.. :)

Any LTA approved exhaust for XT?

Following two are approved and available for the XT~  [laugh]

Invidia Q300

HKS Legamax Premium

Edited by Cboonh

[dizzy]   

You are definitely right about intake temp.

Engine oil, i am not sure.

Following two are approved and available for the XT~ [laugh]

Invidia Q300

HKS Legamax Premium

Hopefully got more to come.

(1) As long as the operating temperature not exceed the engine oil boiling temperature (typical ~125 degree C), it is OK. Am I correct ?

(2) What are the option to lower intake temperature ?

every engine oil has operating temp range.  operating temp should fall within this range.

CAI but little gain and also many downsides to CAI

bigger intercooler?

Edited by Enye