2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Haha for real? Looking forward to joining the groups soon!

Btw I'm actually not too concerned about the high interest rates. Please don't get me wrong - I'm not being a snob. I just think it's good that there are some bad things about the car that turn others away. The crossing of the OMV beyond 20k which results in borrowers being limited to 60% loan is another (actually, how is the OMV determined to begin with?). Otherwise, it'll just become another national car aka Honda Vezel!

Eh txt omv is below 20k if not wrong. So you are entitled to 70% loan... Can someone correct me if I m wrong? actually everyday I see as many fxt on the road too... I think the FL model is more appealing to a lot of ppl. I started considering fxt partly because of the FL.

Just visited and checked yesterday. Omv > 20k, so loan only 60%.

Also test drive liao. 1 word - shiok! Very stable under acceration.

I'm also thinking of getting the FXT in the next few months (my current sedan's COE expires in Feb next year). Need a bigger car to accommodate the baby chair and pram. :) And the impressive value it brings relative to its power is a huge plus for me. (I totally agree with some of you that poor FC is a small cost in the grand scheme of things.)

That said, the FXT was not my first choice. I had originally set my eyes on a Lexus NX, but obviously it's way more expensive (I can buy two FNAs at that price!) and after having committed to buying a house, I could only wave goodbye to that dream.

But a part of me still itches to look around. The new VW Tiguan seems quite attractive, and is going to be cheaper than the NX for sure - that is if i can finally come to terms with the fact that VW is a cheater-bug brand. :)

I'll most probably stick to the FXT though. I'm already thinking of transferring my BBK to it and shopping around for a set of rims that can accommodate it (yes I know the warranty will be void). But what's a Subaru that is not zhng-ed? The rear underspoiler is also super chio but it may make more financial sense to buy the Taiwanese replica online.

Anyone else also into lightly modding their Foresters?

FXT is a good choice for value and fun. If still itchy, have you looked at others like Ford Kuga or maybe even wagons, though?

its for owner nia,,once u book any forester, FNA or FXT, can join liao

Ah okay. I'll be sure to look for you after I become another proud FXT owner.

As for Ford Kuga, I can't really see the beauty in a Ford car. Americans just don't cut it in the automotive industry. Also, wagons are not my kind of thing. The Levorg actually is bordering on acceptability (to me), but cast it aside after realising that it's similar price for much lesser specs compared to the FXT.

Don't look at the Kuga as an American car. Look at it as a German/British car. That is where its lineage is strongest.

Ford cars here are from Ford Europe.

Edited by 7hm

don look for me, come back here and SHOUT that u wanna join, members will be glad to add u.

ford cars are not that bad la...to me, it beats the toyotas n hondas n nissans.  the handling is quite good and quite well build, for the price.  

it's yr money, buy what u like [:p]  

Don't look at the Kuga as an American car. Look at it as a German/British car. That is where its lineage is strongest.

I dutifully went to take another look at the Ford Kuga. It doesn't appeal to me, unfortunately, American or not. :) But it does seem to sport some impressive specs for a 1.5l engine.

Anyway, haha okay I'll be sure to shout out loud when the time comes!

I dutifully went to take another look at the Ford Kuga. It doesn't appeal to me, unfortunately, American or not. :) But it does seem to sport some impressive specs for a 1.5l engine.

Anyway, haha okay I'll be sure to shout out loud when the time comes!

Very well. I think the current Kuga's a bit ugly with the gapping 'mouth' anyway. Lol. It is really impressively equipped though. Loaded with active technology.

Forester is still a good choice. And its local population is growing steadily.

[:)]

There are two different views of the Forester which I read in the forums. In this forum, there are quite a lot of discussion on the FC and how bad (or acceptable) it is. In the European, American and Australian forums, it is about how versatile the Forester is compared to the  competition. I attribute this to how we look at the Forester.

For the Singaporean, the cost is the measurement of the car. We tend to compare the Forester with cars within the same price range - so we compare it with the CX3, the Vezels, the QQs, Xtrails etc. When we do so, the FC becomes a talking point and sometime a negative.

For the other forums, the performance is the measurement of the car. They compare the Forester with cars of the within the same performance windows. These would be the Audi Q3 Turbo, NXT etc. Here the Forester shines because with a comparable performance, it comes at a lower price. FC in this group is still a measurement point but not the critical one. That's why the Forester made it to the best small cross-overs in 2016 (note that this is for the 2.5 NA version which is not available here). 

I would not insist which view is correct but suggest we understand the Forester for what it is. The observation is just a generalisation from the thousands of postings in the various forums. I drove a 2.5L, 4-Speed, 1.6 ton SUV prior to the Forester. The Forester has the same (maybe slightly better) performance with more features and better FC. I occasionally look at the FC numbers just to see if there are any significant changes which may indicate issues which need to be addressed.

For those readers who are researching which car to buy, you need to know what are the important criteria you are looking for. If you think that a FC of 7-10 l/100km is a strong negative, than perhaps you should strike out of the FXT. However if you are looking at 240bhp, 350 Nm torque AWD SUV at an 'affordable' price, then the FXT should be in your shortlist. 

Edited by kermitfm

There are two different views of the Forester which I read in the forums. In this forum, there are quite a lot of discussion on the FC and how bad (or acceptable) it is. In the European, American and Australian forums, it is about how versatile the Forester is compared to the  competition. I attribute this to how we look at the Forester.

For the Singaporean, the cost is the measurement of the car. We tend to compare the Forester with cars within the same price range - so we compare it with the CX3, the Vezels, the QQs, Xtrails etc. When we do so, the FC becomes a talking point and sometime a negative.

For the other forums, the performance is the measurement of the car. They compare the Forester with cars of the within the same performance windows. These would be the Audi Q3 Turbo, NXT etc. Here the Forester shines because with a comparable performance, it comes at a lower price. FC in this group is still a measurement point but not the critical one. That's why the Forester made it to the best small cross-overs in 2016 (note that this is for the 2.5 NA version which is not available here). 

I would not insist which view is correct but suggest we understand the Forester for what it is. The observation is just a generalisation from the thousands of postings in the various forums. I drove a 2.5L, 4-Speed, 1.6 ton SUV prior to the Forester. The Forester has the same (maybe slightly better) performance with more features and better FC. I occasionally look at the FC numbers just to see if there are any significant changes which may indicate issues which need to be addressed.

For those readers who are researching which car to buy, you need to know what are the important criteria you are looking for. If you think that a FC of 7-10 l/100km is a strong negative, than perhaps you should strike out of the FXT. However if you are looking at 240bhp, 350 Nm torque AWD SUV at an 'affordable' price, then the FXT should be in your shortlist. 

I totally agree..if FC is an issue skip the Forrester...

There are two different views of the Forester which I read in the forums. In this forum, there are quite a lot of discussion on the FC and how bad (or acceptable) it is. In the European, American and Australian forums, it is about how versatile the Forester is compared to the competition. I attribute this to how we look at the Forester.

Very well said. That's y I said the fna and fxt has no competition in our local markets. It's an oddball in its own rights. Compare price, feature, or performance with others all seem wrong. There's nothing similar to compare with in the first place. It's just a simple, practical, safe and affordable compact SUV/crossover. Yup, it's not even considered a mid size full fledge SUV. Those qq, vezels don't even fit in the SUV category. They r simply raised up hatch backs... look at the fwd setup and suspension setup u know they cannot qualify Liao.

Lastly, fc for fxt can varies a lot depend on the individual driving habits and traffic conditions. On good days with lotsa time spent on the hw, I can hit something like 700+km per full tank, no kidding. With lotsa city zipping on heavy foot, 7km/L is reasonable.

A friend's friend bought a X1 sdrive 18i 3 cylinder petrol turbo, 6 speed (jap aisin) gearbox, fwd for close to 170k... omg!!!??? That's a whopping 40k more than the fxt. Premium car buyers dun even take a peep at our foresters lor. That guy was like so proud of his new car. It sure looks good on the outside and inside. Then he was asking for sound insulation advice from me as he feels that the engine sounds a bit rough.... I told him I got no such knowledge as I only did simple 4 door sound proof and I was able to tolerate my engine noise....

FXT @$122K (after standard 5K discount), no other rides close enough in term of HP nor Value.

How about FNA @ $109K? Any other rides come close or near it? Rides at this price range I can think of are Vezel/QQ but they much smaller cc and a dwarf compare to Forester.

I was in Taiwan for the past 3 weeks, and taking my Taiwan Colleague Ford Mondeo turbo diesel everyday, not the latest model though.

The noise insulation was very good and can hardly hear the diesel rattle as compare to those Sonata taxi. The way it accelerate and merge into highway was also very impressive. 

Edited by Tohto

How much u travel a month? Say 1500km a month and fc around 10/L, esso 800 is around 1.8 after 20% discount 1500/10* 1.8 = $274.5. That's less than $300 a month is which pretty reasonable. I set aside $350-$400 for petrol monthly, but usually spend around $300.

currently I drive around 2200-2800km in Singapore... Previous car around 1800-2200 km but staying slightly further from work.. "Hate" this car don't know why my monthly driven distance longer now

Very well summarize....your last point is exactly the reason I had bought the Forester XT.