Lao_Ah_Di Neutral Newbie September 17, 2015 Share September 17, 2015 Checked with Workshop known for Subaru expert told me there is no LTA compliance exhuast. Please help to confirm who can supply? Thanks in advance. Hear the roar on YouTube. Sweeeeeeeee. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear September 17, 2015 Share September 17, 2015 With is higher CG, it can never be compared to a sport sedan with a lower CG, spec for spec. FXT's brakes are not exactly very bitty. Haha.. Tailgate is dangerous thing to do with it. Forester XT with AWD cannot scramble its way around curves under power meh?? Should be do-able within limits, even though the body roll might be scary. I too prefer to measure the other driver's "hell-driver" level by the way he/she takes a curve/expressway exit/flyover ramp at speed --- straightline speeding and tailgating means nothing. Actually, a SUV's higher driving position makes it easier for me to anticipate traffic up ahead --- better for overtaking. Me driving a 2007 Murano and waiting for COE levels to come down before booking a FXT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Googoo 4th Gear September 17, 2015 Share September 17, 2015 Haha... Fair enough, is the journey not the destination. I'm not so into driving fast on a straight line. To me the feeling comes when you go round a bend faster than the rest. I have met many drivers who drive like a reckless cheetah on a straight line. They will keep on pressing you from behind Then just before the bend, they become a snail and suddenly they are 10 car length away after we exit the bend. I absolutely look down on such drivers. totally agree with u on some drivers slowing down to become a snail when it comes to a bend... i always call them straight road hero.. only a hero when comes to straight road.. always kana taligate by such people and only to shake them off when it comes to bend... tons of straight road heroes in singapore.. wait... maybe becos i am a straight road snail.. hahahahahahah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 17, 2015 Share September 17, 2015 So you like the Forester? Cat B price drop is now very tempting.yes I prefer the forester over Xtrail.. different animal. I like the Xtrail at first look. Second look feels that the interior is too clustered.. 3rd look totally write off.. only thing that's making me consider the Xtrail is the seats are really comfortable. I have also tried other cars because my younger brothers one have a 2.5 CX5, another Sorento, and another CRV. I like sorento for being able to stuff in 6 mid size adults, and 5 kids.. and nothing else. CRV.. really nothing to like except it's a Honda.. 2.5 CX5, interior not bad but not as good as what some critics have say until.. anywhere the MP3 function on the CX5 is really stupid.. don't have memory and always goes back to track1.. handling ok, not bad.. but it's more Expensive than the FXT.. and CX5 does not have 350nm of torque.. The cheap, simple yet functional cabin of the FXT grows to me.. and after the 3rd visit to showroom.. I actually prefer the simple dashboard of this car. So, finally booked it last Sunday $127,800 6 bid guaranteed COE, waiting for next week COE bidding. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahdes Neutral Newbie September 17, 2015 Share September 17, 2015 Hi Everyone, I am new to this forum and was hoping someone could help with a question I have. What does free 5 years / 100,000km servicing mean ? Is it just free labour for the items on the standard servicing checklist or includes some consumables ? Apologies if this question had been asked and answered before. I drive a 2.0XT dark metallic grey. Thanks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 yes I prefer the forester over Xtrail.. different animal. I like the Xtrail at first look. Second look feels that the interior is too clustered.. 3rd look totally write off.. only thing that's making me consider the Xtrail is the seats are really comfortable. I have also tried other cars because my younger brothers one have a 2.5 CX5, another Sorento, and another CRV. I like sorento for being able to stuff in 6 mid size adults, and 5 kids.. and nothing else. CRV.. really nothing to like except it's a Honda.. 2.5 CX5, interior not bad but not as good as what some critics have say until.. anywhere the MP3 function on the CX5 is really stupid.. don't have memory and always goes back to track1.. handling ok, not bad.. but it's more Expensive than the FXT.. and CX5 does not have 350nm of torque.. The cheap, simple yet functional cabin of the FXT grows to me.. and after the 3rd visit to showroom.. I actually prefer the simple dashboard of this car. So, finally booked it last Sunday $127,800 6 bid guaranteed COE, waiting for next week COE bidding. Other than the equipment of this car is outdated, did u consider its worst FC amount it's peer? Ty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitemondeo 1st Gear September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 Hi Everyone, I am new to this forum and was hoping someone could help with a question I have. What does free 5 years / 100,000km servicing mean ? Is it just free labour for the items on the standard servicing checklist or includes some consumables ? Apologies if this question had been asked and answered before. I drive a 2.0XT dark metallic grey. Thanks. bro, Inclusive of labour, consumable spares, such as lub. oil, filter, wiper blades etc.. within the 100,000km service period or 5 years, which ever come first. Normal wear and tear not included. Such as tyres, battery etc.. Hope this assist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 (edited) Other than the equipment of this car is outdated, did u consider its worst FC amount it's peer? Ty Car interior looking abit dated and spartan doesn't mean it's equipment is outdated. Please get this straight. It's equipment level does not lose to it's competitors and it's the reason why many choose this car (including me), even if it looks Spartan and has not much curves. You use SGcarmart do a comparision on the equipment level of the Forester with it's peers of the same price and class, you'll be surprised. FC is relative to power. It may have the worst FC but it's also WAY more powerful than the rest in it's class. It's up to you if you are willing to sacrifice power for FC. Also, this ride can be driven decently too and ave FC can hit 9.5 to 10km/l realistically in local roads which is almost the same as it's peers. For 2.0 Turbo with 350nm of torque, not bad liao. Edited September 18, 2015 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxykh Neutral Newbie September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 Car interior looking abit dated and spartan doesn't mean it's equipment is outdated. Please get this straight. It's equipment level does not lose to it's competitors and it's the reason why many choose this car (including me), even if it looks Spartan and has not much curves. You use SGcarmart do a comparision on the equipment level of the Forester with it's peers of the same price and class, you'll be surprised. FC is relative to power. It may have the worst FC but it's also WAY more powerful than the rest in it's class. It's up to you if you are willing to sacrifice power for FC. Also, this ride can be driven decently too and ave FC can hit 9.5 to 10km/l realistically in local roads which is almost the same as it's peers. For 2.0 Turbo with 350nm of torque, not bad liao. Well said, I seconded that. Equipment and features certainly are much better compare to other made at this price point. Also FC is really not that bad, for my travelling pattern of 90% highway 10% urban, with a few red line acceleration in S# or S mode on every single drive (usually in manual paddle shifter mode), I've been able tto get avg of 12.8km/l tank after tank. Overall, really like this car and no horse run! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 (edited) Well said, I seconded that. Equipment and features certainly are much better compare to other made at this price point. Also FC is really not that bad, for my travelling pattern of 90% highway 10% urban, with a few red line acceleration in S# or S mode on every single drive (usually in manual paddle shifter mode), I've been able tto get avg of 12.8km/l tank after tank. Overall, really like this car and no horse run! LOL realistically speaking, 90%highway is a rare travel pattern. my is about 60-70% highway , getting about 9.5 to 10.4l/100km which is 10.5 to 9.6km/l, mostly on i-mode. If I feeling crazy and switch to S and S# the whole journey, FC meter can go to 8km/l..lol Edited September 18, 2015 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 In Japan the satin white paint is an optional extra. I think because it requires 1 layer more than the other colours. Here is in Singapore it is the same price ;) Downside is when it rains the car gets dirty - need a bit more looking after than colours like silver. Also, I find the metal body is easy to clean, but the the white bumper is harder to wash the dirt off. Not very noticable, but if you look closely the grey stains from the rain tend to soak in. I like my cars to look dirty outside.. of course I usually have coated the paint with some good collinite wax.. people usually don't want to walk too close or near dirty cars.. prevent unwanted scratches. In ocotber, if u see any white FXT that's extremely dirty, likely to be my car hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kopilim Clutched September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 What is the kerb weight of this car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 Other than the equipment of this car is outdated, did u consider its worst FC amount it's peer? Tyseriously if FC is a consideration, one should go for below 1.5L or even hybrid.. but the higher cost of the hydrid makes cost wise back to square one. Maybe diesel but what if LTA reverse their discount for diesel surcharge for private cars? They have screwed CNG cars before so.... Anyway I drive around 2000km a month so petrol is $270-$400 so not that big worry, and I'm ok with 1km for 7 to 9km mileage on a car that can deliver some relatively good performance I think if one if thinking of good FC, then went to get another car that cost 20-50k more to save that $100-$300 per month of petrol doenst make sense... Maybe it's better to use that 20-50k extra $$ into some bank shares or blue chip shares.. receive dividend offset the increase monthly fuel cost, and still have potential upside.. of course must buy at right time, don't buy when it's at all time high la What is the kerb weight of this car? somewhere more than 1000kg, less than 2000kg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 (edited) somewhere more than 1000kg, less than 2000kg LOL... it's actually around 1600kg Edited September 18, 2015 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 the price point really attractive. almost 10-20k cheaper than others in its class? so tempting.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 the price point really attractive. almost 10-20k cheaper than others in its class? so tempting.... 10 to 20k cheaper because its OMV is ~10k cheaper than its competitor seriously if FC is a consideration, one should go for below 1.5L or even hybrid.. but the higher cost of the hydrid makes cost wise back to square one. Maybe diesel but what if LTA reverse their discount for diesel surcharge for private cars? They have screwed CNG cars before so.... Anyway I drive around 2000km a month so petrol is $270-$400 so not that big worry, and I'm ok with 1km for 7 to 9km mileage on a car that can deliver some relatively good performance I think if one if thinking of good FC, then went to get another car that cost 20-50k more to save that $100-$300 per month of petrol doenst make sense... Maybe it's better to use that 20-50k extra $$ into some bank shares or blue chip shares.. receive dividend offset the increase monthly fuel cost, and still have potential upside.. of course must buy at right time, don't buy when it's at all time high la somewhere more than 1000kg, less than 2000kg I am heavy footed. I read for review tht it is 7km/L. My currently drive use give 10km/L but after 7 yrs it give me 7km/l. I cant imagine if i get 4 to 5km/l per with forester, i got to visit and pump pertol every 2 days. Too troublesome for me seriously if FC is a consideration, one should go for below 1.5L or even hybrid.. but the higher cost of the hydrid makes cost wise back to square one. Maybe diesel but what if LTA reverse their discount for diesel surcharge for private cars? They have screwed CNG cars before so.... Anyway I drive around 2000km a month so petrol is $270-$400 so not that big worry, and I'm ok with 1km for 7 to 9km mileage on a car that can deliver some relatively good performance I think if one if thinking of good FC, then went to get another car that cost 20-50k more to save that $100-$300 per month of petrol doenst make sense... Maybe it's better to use that 20-50k extra $$ into some bank shares or blue chip shares.. receive dividend offset the increase monthly fuel cost, and still have potential upside.. of course must buy at right time, don't buy when it's at all time high la somewhere more than 1000kg, less than 2000kg I am heavy footed. I read for review tht it is 7km/L. My currently drive use give 10km/L but after 7 yrs it give me 7km/l. I cant imagine if i get 4 to 5km/l per with forester, i got to visit and pump pertol every 2 days. Too troublesome for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryl 1st Gear September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 10 to 20k cheaper because its OMV is ~10k cheaper than its competitor I am heavy footed. I read for review tht it is 7km/L. My currently drive use give 10km/L but after 7 yrs it give me 7km/l. I cant imagine if i get 4 to 5km/l per with forester, i got to visit and pump pertol every 2 days. Too troublesome for me I am heavy footed. I read for review tht it is 7km/L. My currently drive use give 10km/L but after 7 yrs it give me 7km/l. I cant imagine if i get 4 to 5km/l per with forester, i got to visit and pump pertol every 2 days. Too troublesome for me Don't get the XT lor, get the normal 2.0. I saw some said here that the FC is not that bad and it is not over-powered nor under-powered. But of course, one has to test drive to judge for themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged September 18, 2015 Share September 18, 2015 Hi Everyone, I am new to this forum and was hoping someone could help with a question I have. What does free 5 years / 100,000km servicing mean ? Is it just free labour for the items on the standard servicing checklist or includes some consumables ? Apologies if this question had been asked and answered before. I drive a 2.0XT dark metallic grey. Thanks. Warranty itself means factory covers the car against defects and failures that are not normal wear and tear for five years. Example, your engine, when properly maintained or suspension with appropriate care, fail prematurely under normal conditions, this is considered failure under warranty. Servicing plan is not necessarily part of warranty, but Subaru used to offer five years servicing plan. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...