AhJason 5th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 this even more so in japan, korea, taiwan, etc - not sure about hk which university you graduate .... pretty much know which big corporation will hire you chapalang uni ... don't want ... because the hiring manager probably come from the same univeristy ... lol Waiting for first Singtel CEO or first Microsoft Singapore Managing Director to hold degree from UniSIM. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 i was wondering what was SNGS i kept thinking it was Singapore Naughty Gals Schools Yup. @Staff69 is Headmaster cum Discipline Mistress during role play. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
magaritas 5th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 CHIJ Ang Mo Kio...97 childred vying for 92 spots for Phase 2A1 closed yesterday. Tmr result will be out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 In the past, parents will eagerly volunteer at schools to get priority placing for their children going into P1. Based on this year's stats, and because of the new ruling to keep 40 spaces for Phase 2B and 2C, there is one school so popular that there may not be any vacancies at all for Phase 2A(2)! Guess which school? http://edumatters.sg/p1-registration-phase-2a1-closed-stats-update/ Isn't Phase 2A(2) old boys/old girls? Parent Volunteers still get absolute priority over Phase 2C for the 40 slots I would presume... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Isn't Phase 2A(2) old boys/old girls? Parent Volunteers still get absolute priority over Phase 2C for the 40 slots I would presume... 2A1 and 2A2 are old boys+alumni and old boys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 2A1 and 2A2 are old boys+alumni and old boys I thought I just stated that for 2A(2)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Heh... Perhaps it's time to relook the "alumni priority" more than anything else - have said many times that don't agree with this priority... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 CHIJ Ang Mo Kio...97 childred vying for 92 spots for Phase 2A1 closed yesterday. Tmr result will be out. Which means that even if you're alumni, your child is not guaranteed a spot. No need to even speak of old boys/girls who didn't join alumni... Heh... Perhaps it's time to relook the "alumni priority" more than anything else - have said many times that don't agree with this priority... Well, apparently there is some form of committment and contribution expected when joining the alumni. So technically, they are old boy/girl parent volunteers. From that standpoint, shouldn't they get priority over the "other" parent volunteers and "other" old boys/girls? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Heh... Perhaps it's time to relook the "alumni priority" more than anything else - have said many times that don't agree with this priority... Alumni or Old boys/ girls? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Which means that even if you're alumni, your child is not guaranteed a spot. No need to even speak of old boys/girls who didn't join alumni... Well, apparently there is some form of committment and contribution expected when joining the alumni. So technically, they are old boy/girl parent volunteers. From that standpoint, shouldn't they get priority over the "other" parent volunteers and "other" old boys/girls? I have spent much time in the past on this - If you remain a part of the school community, and are an active participant in what makes the school strong (i.e - attending events, helping out, being at the school) as an alumni then I feel it's only correct you should get some form of priority. I don't believe that you get priority simply by having attended the school in the past, or simply because you pay a fee to join a club. By the same token - for the clan / church schools - if you didn't attend the school, but you were "converted" to the group, and have been an active participant in that school community - I would give that person priority over the person who attended in the past but is not a part of the ongoing community. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swifter78 2nd Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 The title is wrong leh. It's not Parent Volunteer (phase 2b). It is for Phase 2A(1), which ended yesterday. There are 2 phases of 2A.. Phase 2A(1)(a) For a child whose parent is a former student of the primary school and who has joined the alumni association as a member not later than 30 June 2014. (b) For a child whose parent is a member of the School Advisory / Management Committee Phase 2A(2)(a) For a child whose parent or sibling has studied in the primary school of choice (b) For a child whose parent is a staff member of the primary school of choice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Heh... Perhaps it's time to relook the "alumni priority" more than anything else - have said many times that don't agree with this priority... exactly, get rid of all the priority shit from phase 2 onwards and make it all ballot to be fair... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) This kind of topic have been discussed till death many times over. And every single time its the same old arguement........lol. MCF ppl will claim any school is good, siao lang then go voluteer, school in front of my block can liao. This is so unfair lar....THEY WILL NEVER GO THAT EXTRA LENGTH FOR ANY SCHOOL. blah blah blah. Butttttttttttt...........the outside market sentiments is always the opposite. More & more good schools are overwhelming applied many times over, even to the point where one cant even get to ballot!....lollllllllllll And every year, the situation gets worst & worst....but MCF options always stay firm. Im always amused by this occurance. KNN...... Edited July 8, 2015 by Hiphiphoray 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 I have spent much time in the past on this - If you remain a part of the school community, and are an active participant in what makes the school strong (i.e - attending events, helping out, being at the school) as an alumni then I feel it's only correct you should get some form of priority. I don't believe that you get priority simply by having attended the school in the past, or simply because you pay a fee to join a club. By the same token - for the clan / church schools - if you didn't attend the school, but you were "converted" to the group, and have been an active participant in that school community - I would give that person priority over the person who attended in the past but is not a part of the ongoing community. Yes, but you specifically highlighted only alumni in your earlier post... Which, in the current scheme of things seems to make sense; being placed where they are in terms of priority. On another note, I feel that, the onus is on the school/clan/church to ensure involvement, which I'd think that the schools typically do. Can't speak for the clans or churches though... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyTan_74287 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 In the past, as long as you are old boys or old girls, your child get priority for enrolling into the school. However few years back MOE changed the ruling that old boys/girls that join alumni will get more priority. This is I believe as alumni you normally participate and contribute to the school event and school sometimes really requires help from the alumni. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 exactly, get rid of all the priority shit from phase 2 onwards and make it all ballot to be fair... And so Citizens also shouldn't get priority over PRs as well.... and why stop at just Phase 2? Hell, just make it a random allocation for every school... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Yup. @Staff69 is Headmaster cum Discipline Mistress during role play. Like this is it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Yes, but you specifically highlighted only alumni in your earlier post... Which, in the current scheme of things seems to make sense; being placed where they are in terms of priority. Ok ok -- I lazy mah... Although strictly speaking - I tot alumni meant "graduate of the school" Old boy / girl means attended school I didn't mean "part of the alumni club" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...