Which SUV would you choose for now?

Sgfunguy

hmm what's wrong with the plastics in the accord? All seem to be ok for me. But I'm more a functional person. Can't compare to the premium brands.

But against the usual toyota, nissan, mazda suspects, i don't feel shortchanged.

Creaky and when you press, it yields... now that's ok for a entry level car like a city, or HRV but in a more premium model, especially since it costs as much as a Passat or Audi A4, it should have better materials.

That's one major reason why as popular as it is in USA, it is a marginal seller locally - it costs too much compared to other cars.

About 18,000 to less than 20,000 clicks per year....

That is about 10% more than the average annual mileage.  Thanks for the info. 

Keen to know more about this, do you have a link to a website which shows our local average mileage or even one from overseas..

PS: from our local website, it's around 20 000km:

http://www.------.com/used-car-buying-guide/690/pre-owned-car-buying-guide-part-1-getting-a-pre-owned-car

And in 2015 it was 17500km:

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/motorists-driving-less-amid-high-costs-and-congestion

Annual average car mileage down for nearly a decade; shift to public transport also cited
Senior Transport Correspondent

It may not seem obvious to someone on the Central Expressway during peak hours, but motorists in Singapore are driving less.

According to Land Transport Authority (LTA) statistics, the annual average mileage of a passenger car here has been falling every year for almost a decade.

Last year, the average was 17,500km - 11 per cent less than five years earlier, and 17 per cent less than the peak of 21,075km in 2006.

In what must be good news for environmentalists and public transport advocates, the continuous drop in annual mileage clocked also comes on the back of a shrinking vehicle population.

At the end of last month, Singapore's car population had shrunk to a three-year low of 608,043, down by 2.5 per cent from the high of 623,688 in 2013.

• The road to less car use
  • •Increasing congestion is putting people off driving.

•It may also be more expensive to be on the road, due to higher parking and fuel costs. More electronic road-pricing gantries have also been erected.

•The use of GPS apps and development of a better road network are helping drivers plan their trips better.

•More households also have more than one car each, and that means usage is split between vehicles.

•People are shifting to buses and trains as improvements are made to the public transport system.

According to the Housing Board, the number of HDB households with more than one car had shot up by 77 per cent to about 46,000 from 2005 to 2011.

"We may need a little bit more digging into the statistics to find out which contributed more," Dr Park added.

"But I find that I've been using my motorcycle more over the years because of the congestion."

National University of Singapore transport researcher Lee Der Horng also offered his experience to support the data.

"My car mileage has dropped as much as 40 per cent in the last year because my wife and I now use public transport more.

st_20150920_mile20_1698368.jpgTransport expert Park Byung Joon, an adjunct associate professor at SIM University, said this could be due to a combination of factors. They include worsening congestion, more Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) gantries erected over the years and people planning their trips better or shifting to buses and trains. He added that a rise in the number of households with more than one car could also be a contributing factor, as people may take turns driving each vehicle.

"I totally do not drive during weekdays," he said.

Motorists said they have been driving less too. Workshop operator Joey Lim, 49, said the data was "not surprising".

He added: "Usage costs such as ERP, parking and fuel have gone up a lot in the past few years, especially parking, which is so expensive now. I try not to drive so much these days. When I go to town, I take the MRT.

"Public transport has improved."

Mr David Ting, editor of motoring magazine Torque, said the advent of mobile apps "has also made it easier for motorists to take a shorter route to anywhere".

He added: "Another possibility is the growth of budget air travel in recent years, which has given Singaporeans even more opportunities to leave the country and their cars behind."

Retiree Lee Chiu San, 69, said Singapore's ageing population may also explain the shrinking mileage trend.

"I now clock 350 to 400km a week, slightly less than when I was working a few years ago," he said.

According to the Department of Statistics, the median age of residents here has risen from 34 years in 2000 to 39.3 years last year.

Mr Lee also said that when he was a motor trader, he noticed high-end cars tend to have a lower mileage than bread-and-butter models. He said this is because these cars tend to be owned by people with more than one car and who travel overseas more.

According to the LTA, the combined population of Mercedes-Benz, BMW and Audi cars has more than doubled from 2004 to last year, while the general car population has grown by 47.5 per cent over the same period.

Meanwhile, the mileages of all other vehicles types - from private buses to trucks to motorbikes - have either remained unchanged or risen over the years.

They account for 37 per cent of Singapore's vehicle population of around 960,000.

Edited by therock

And what I don't understand is how come MIJ Subaru cars can have low OMVs whilst their other Jap counterparts like Toyota and Honda MIT cars have much higher OMVs? Even taking into account perceived T & H brands being premium Japs.

FOREX is the key..... Strength or weaknesses of YEN vs USD

Keen to know more about this, do you have a link to a website which shows our local average mileage or even one from overseas..

http://www.------.com/used-car-buying-guide/690/pre-owned-car-buying-guide-part-1-getting-a-pre-owned-car

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/motorists-driving-less-amid-high-costs-and-congestion

See the link below.   The ST's 17500km is likely from there as well.   Have fun analyzing - especially the part where car population and car mileage decreases but road more congested (i.e. more ERP)

Singapore Land Transport Statistics In Brief ->

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/Statistics%20in%20Brief%202015%20FINAL.pdf

Creaky and when you press, it yields... now that's ok for a entry level car like a city, or HRV but in a more premium model, especially since it costs as much as a Passat or Audi A4, it should have better materials.

That's one major reason why as popular as it is in USA, it is a marginal seller locally - it costs too much compared to other cars.

Erm, i think vezel plastics are markedly inferior to the accord plastics. 

Creak? which panel? i go test later. There's only 2 panels that are bit more hard plastic which is the one around the central display and the ones lower down.

Hmm no lah. I dunno about current pricing, but when i bought it, the outgoing passat event car was still another 5000 dollars more expensive in terms of depreciation. 

If talking brand new to brand new, its 15k difference. If u compare the difference in trade in values of my altis then, actually it's 20k more.

A4 is small lah. It's barely bigger than a jetta?

But yeah the cabin interior is not comparable to the contis. But didn't feel impressed with the VW interior also. Probably it's not the most important thing to me.

Erm, i think vezel plastics are markedly inferior to the accord plastics. 

Creak? which panel? i go test later. There's only 2 panels that are bit more hard plastic which is the one around the central display and the ones lower down.

Hmm no lah. I dunno about current pricing, but when i bought it, the outgoing passat event car was still another 5000 dollars more expensive in terms of depreciation. 

If talking brand new to brand new, its 15k difference. If u compare the difference in trade in values of my altis then, actually it's 20k more.

A4 is small lah. It's barely bigger than a jetta?

Just like you don't want to compare sizes with the Audi 4, comparing plastics with a much lower HRV isn't fair.

It's well put together, just that it does not use the same materials as a conti car. If Mazda can do it, I can't see why Honda can't for more money.

You are one of the few here in SG to drive it.

I did consider it, but the price, plastics and the foot brake put me off.

My old rep told me to hang loose until the new one comes in. Right now the 2017 Camry has potential Accord drivers drooling..

Just like you don't want to compare sizes with the Audi 4, comparing plastics with a much lower HRV isn't fair.

It's well put together, just that it does not use the same materials as a conti car. If Mazda can do it, I can't see why Honda can't for more money.

You are one of the few here in SG to drive it.

I did consider it, but the price, plastics and the foot brake put me off.

My old rep told me to hang loose until the new one comes in. Right now the 2017 Camry has potential Accord drivers drooling..

whats up with the new camry? doesn't look good to me.

Foot brake? All japs use foot brake. even volvo. Only the passat had the electronic park brake that i tested.

hmm i guess i'm more chin chai. the interior is just functional to me. After all i graduated from an altis haha. And i was perfectly fine with all the 100% hard plastics interior haha.

As long as there's leather padding and some soft plastics on the places i put my arms, can liao  [laugh]

I'm seeing some more on the road nowadays. Amazingly, i can see two or three almost every week now haha

Even the Audi A3 has better materials.. but the heart of your Accord is a solid one.

Will work for more than 10 years.

5 speed GB super reliable, and a well put together interior. Suits you sir, I feel. Predictable, and reliable. 

Even the Audi A3 has better materials.. but the heart of your Accord is a solid one.

Will work for more than 10 years.

5 speed GB super reliable, and a well put together interior. Suits you sir, I feel. Predictable, and reliable. 

audi interior is top notch, to make up for the sibei boring exterior.

My friend drives A3, i gave him a lift earlier this year, he sit beside me. He say "wow, feels like a towkay seat"  [laugh]

yeah honda interiors are very boring and functional type. totally no pizzazz.

Waiting for 2017 Peugeot 5008 Suv.

haha carwow review seems to criticise it as being quite stupid.

The middle row headroom is low. They say just buy the 3008 instead lol.

See the link below. The ST's 17500km is likely from there as well. Have fun analyzing - especially the part where car population and car mileage decreases but road more congested (i.e. more ERP)

Singapore Land Transport Statistics In Brief ->

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/Statistics%20in%20Brief%202015%20FINAL.pdf

More KuKu drivers?

More private hire cars?

More goods vehicle?

Can someone tell me how does the vehicle population shrink, when it's determined by COEs and that the COE numbers have been growing according to LTA?

"From August 2012, the growth rate was 1% per annum. From February 2013 to January 2015, the growth rate was 0.5% per annum. From February 2015 to January 2018, the growth rate is set at 0.25% per annum."

Aside to that, made in Thailand, made in korea, made in Japan, all these are preconceived perceptions of individuals.

Cars are manufactured using robots, machinery and automation in (likely to be) ISO certified facilities. How bad can it get?

If a car is bad it's bad, no matter where it's made.

Or even if it's made in japan, does it mean all components are made in Japan as well?

Open your minds folks.

Edited by Theoldjaffa

audi interior is top notch, to make up for the sibei boring exterior.

My friend drives A3, i gave him a lift earlier this year, he sit beside me. He say "wow, feels like a towkay seat" [laugh]

yeah honda interiors are very boring and functional type. totally no pizzazz.

Having viewed the new honda freed, I found that's where honda shines - ergonomics n ease of use.

doc... for the price of x1 1.5t, you could buy a sharan with change to spare

in addition, i think even the qashqai has a more refined drive than the x1

ð

I didn't believe a BMW could sound that bad until my colleague bought a brand new 1.5 diesel X1 s18i. Standing outside, the thing was loud... sitting inside, the sound was pretty audible too.. if I close my eyes, I also dun believe it's a BMW. Quite a unrefined car. And the price to pay is quite ridiculous... but it's a great looking car nonetheless.

Having viewed the new honda freed, I found that's where honda shines - ergonomics n ease of use.

Honda is not really a high volume maker compared to the others like GM, Fiat/Chrysler, VW group and Ford.

But they do are like Mazda. When they do innovations, they can come up with interesting ideas on the car.

And actually the JDM models are very innovative.

Small on the outside, spacious inside and very functional. For the practical family man, the Free, Stepwagon and Sienta from Toyota are merely a few of the cool cars which abound in Japan. Most do not make it overseas, which is a pity.

And their main expertise is their engines.

Reliable and fun to use. The current 1.6 NA Civic is still using the same 10 year old engine as the older FD. Likewise for the 1.8l NA used elsewhere in the HRV around Asia. 

I didn't believe a BMW could sound that bad until my colleague bought a brand new 1.5 diesel X1 s18i. Standing outside, the thing was loud... sitting inside, the sound was pretty audible too.. if I close my eyes, I also dun believe it's a BMW. Quite a unrefined car. And the price to pay is quite ridiculous... but it's a great looking car nonetheless.

Diesels are pretty loud, but effective..

Compared to your FXT, it's quite a different feel. But it after you pump petrol three or four times, the diesel BMW might not need to pump once yet..

So YMMV..

Honda is not really a high volume maker compared to the others like GM, Fiat/Chrysler, VW group and Ford.

But they do are like Mazda. When they do innovations, they can come up with interesting ideas on the car.

And actually the JDM models are very innovative.

Small on the outside, spacious inside and very functional. For the practical family man, the Free, Stepwagon and Sienta from Toyota are merely a few of the cool cars which abound in Japan. Most do not make it overseas, which is a pity.

And their main expertise is their engines.

Reliable and fun to use. The current 1.6 NA Civic is still using the same 10 year old engine as the older FD. Likewise for the 1.8l NA used elsewhere in the HRV around Asia.

Diesels are pretty loud, but effective..

Compared to your FXT, it's quite a different feel. But it after you pump petrol three or four times, the diesel BMW might not need to pump once yet..

So YMMV..

Talkin about Toyota, although reliable n v practical, but disappoints in some ergo n lack better feature / quality build. The Indo sienta priced so near to freed hybrid. To think I was shortlisting sienta n wish not long ago.. As for suv, I've dropped them fr my list recently as I didn't feel like paying for more fuel after having paid substantial amt for car..