Fibre broadband

Ysc3

Should sign everything under 88 year old grandma name.

She goes want to break just show death cert.

Still need just keep paying.

If only my MIL stay with me I will use her name in every contract.

If only a matter of time she won't be here.

On 2/4/2026 at 10:34 AM, Jamesc said:

So much data and back up?

In case downloading adult educational videos and 8 goes down CL to the rescue in full HD and not 4k?

IMHO.
Different purposes.  Both are experimental. 

On 2/4/2026 at 10:33 AM, Ysc3 said:

@Kklee this came in pretty handy for me when I got my bto....I setup up a cctv at my new place to monitor the renovation works.

IMHO.
Good use.  My ID also want to do this. 🤣

On 2/3/2026 at 5:39 PM, Jman888 said:

why would a 88yo women need a broadband? she try to BS lah [laugh]

partly for IP camera to monitor her, think it's mentioned somewhere in the article. 

My sinktel broadband contract up(2Gbps $60/mth) & recently my kids complaining WIFI sometime lag.(have restart router & ONT few times)

Any bro using SIMBA home broadband can give some review?

SIMBA now on limited time offer 10Gbps $30/mths(2yrs contract). All fees in include WIFI 7 router & ONT.

I am on Simba for the second year ... So far ok... Can use... Coz I am using old equipment... So still stuck in 1gbps although my plan is 10gbps.

Edited by Ysc3

On 3/24/2026 at 9:37 AM, Si4dr said:

My sinktel broadband contract up(2Gbps $60/mth) & recently my kids complaining WIFI sometime lag.(have restart router & ONT few times)

Any bro using SIMBA home broadband can give some review?

SIMBA now on limited time offer 10Gbps $30/mths(2yrs contract). All fees in include WIFI 7 router & ONT.

IMHO.
It could be a wifi issue. 

On 3/24/2026 at 9:48 AM, Ysc3 said:

I am on Simba for the second year ... So far ok... Can use... Coz I am using old equipment... So still stuck in 1gbps although my plan is 10gbps.

Macam cat b car detuned to cat a liddat...😂

On 3/24/2026 at 9:55 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
It could be a wifi issue. 

Sinktel 2Gbps $60/mth damn expensive after contract expired so take the chance to upgrade faster & newer equipment with lower fee...just need to confirm reliability of new provider..

@mersaylee actually I don't see the "need for speed" ... I was doing fine on 1 gbps ... Just normal surfing... Shopping... Not a gamer... So enough can already 

On 3/24/2026 at 10:11 AM, Si4dr said:

Sinktel 2Gbps $60/mth damn expensive after contract expired so take the chance to upgrade faster & newer equipment with lower fee...just need to confirm reliability of new provider..

Its like mobile phone...who uses this kind of "premium" fibre nowadays?

On 3/24/2026 at 2:00 PM, Ysc3 said:

@mersaylee actually I don't see the "need for speed" ... I was doing fine on 1 gbps ... Just normal surfing... Shopping... Not a gamer... So enough can already 

IMHO.
I slower, 500Mbps. 🤣

Bloody Sinktel increase my monthly broadband charges to $65 and said my 1Gps service is being phased out and then offer a 2 yr contract for me to upgrade to 3gps for $50 monthly. 

Today Techguy came to just plug and play the network unit.   Wifi worked and he left. 

Thereafter whole day I have been experiencing Wifi dropping off for no reason.  between 3 pm and now, wifi has dropped off and reconnected at least 10 times causing a lot of disruptions.   

Bloody hell Sinktel, wake up your bloody idea !!!!.  cant deliver, dont talk big.   

My set up is just Singtel network unit plugged into my switchboard where I have 3 APs (one for each level of my house)  .... 

So the problem is definitely not at my end.   

Edited by Throttle2

On 4/6/2026 at 8:42 PM, Throttle2 said:

Bloody Sinktel increase my monthly broadband charges to $65 and said my 1Gps service is being phased out and then offer a 2 yr contract for me to upgrade to 3gps for $50 monthly. 

Today Techguy came to just plug and play the network unit.   Wifi worked and he left. 

Thereafter whole day I have been experiencing Wifi dropping off for no reason.  between 3 pm and now, wifi has dropped off and reconnected at least 10 times causing a lot of disruptions.   

Bloody hell Sinktel, wake up your bloody idea !!!!.  cant deliver, dont talk big.   

My set up is just Singtel network unit plugged into my switchboard where I have 3 APs (one for each level of my house)  .... 

So the problem is definitely not at my end.   

IMHO.
Just call them again lor.  
Your contract just expired and they up the charges to $65 ?

On 4/6/2026 at 10:19 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
Just call them again lor.  
Your contract just expired and they up the charges to $65 ?

Yup, the reason they gave was that the plan has been discontinued so if i wanted to stay on it, the charges are higher.

On 4/6/2026 at 10:40 PM, Throttle2 said:

Yup, the reason they gave was that the plan has been discontinued so if i wanted to stay on it, the charges are higher.

IMHO.
I guess that is the norm now.   They just want to keep re-contracting.   Check if you Fiber Termination Point (FTP) can support two ISP,  the next round, you can switch to maybe Eight Home seamlessly. 

almost forgot my starhub home broadband and tv going to expire this week, went down to starhub and spoke to the customer service. Before i start asking for promo price, they auto offer to waive off the Asia tv channel cost for 1 yr :D then they up the fiber speed from 1gb to 5gb (no choice cos no more 1gb) :D :D

so total bill for 1st year is $50+ with upgrade modem & router, extra tv box for another room, 'rent' another mesh access for a cost cheaper than buying used from carousell, on top of everything still come with Netflix and Viu tv channel, happy!