Bugs Cafe! Bon Appetit

missmarigold

deep fried ones I still can be a little adventurous

in Thailand ate fried fat worm and grasshoppers..

This reminds of a kopitiam in JB that sells all kind of 野味 over there.  Dog meat is the favourite there, and served in a claypot. I'm sorry if I offend any animal lovers here, but I took a very small piece of dog meat and I recalled it tasted harder than a chicken, but much softer than snake. Still don't understand why people eat it though. 

Out of curiosity, I asked the kopitiam assistant to bring me to their freezer to show me their "inventory". And man, some of the most disgusting things I have seen are inside. There are a few complete bats, civets, parts of fox, horse, kangaroo and croc. I almost vomit on the spot. :sick:   

how does the snake meat tastes like? I recon there's a shop in my hometown that sell snake soup, and its popular. But the last time i went back, the shop is no longer there. 

yuks! i was having my breakfast when i see this youtube video.. suddenly my appetite is gone.. 

:TT_TT:

how does the snake meat tastes like? I recon there's a shop in my hometown that sell snake soup, and its popular. But the last time i went back, the shop is no longer there. 

Snake meat tastes like rubber! It's extremely hard, has no distinct smell and I understand from the chef it is very hard to season too!

Avoid at all cost, haha. :grin:

the food looks gourmet.. but i wont try.. i cook maggie mee better!

Unless out of desperation ... I won't even think about eating bugs ... *Yucks* ...

With all the great food u r having at home, dont think u got chance to try all these...kekeke [laugh]

deep fried ones I still can be a little adventurous

in Thailand ate fried fat worm and grasshoppers..

Woah....u r very daring n super adventurous, not a little only [thumbsup]

I think i will throw up before they even go into my mouth [:p]

yuks! i was having my breakfast when i see this youtube video.. suddenly my appetite is gone.. 

:TT_TT:

my parents brought me to watch temple of doom when I was kid

scared until I cannot sleep :dizzy:  :dizzy:  :dizzy:

Snake meat tastes like rubber! It's extremely hard, has no distinct smell and I understand from the chef it is very hard to season too!

some like snake meat :grin:    

Haha Tankie, this classic scene has caused me a few sleepless nights.

Later on, the heart digging scene has changed my perception about "adventure" movie

yalor the heart part made me cannot sleep

knn, nowadays my kids watch simi mortal combat on youtube,

got simi FATALITY!!!!

got simi GORE!!!!!

knn one, must ban all these youtube videos and give them some wholesome movie like Indiana jones

yalor the heart part made me cannot sleep

knn, nowadays my kids watch simi mortal combat on youtube,

got simi FATALITY!!!!

got simi GORE!!!!!

knn one, must ban all these youtube videos and give them some wholesome movie like Indiana jones

There was another wholesome movie called "The Ring" that had a profound impact on me. I finally understood what a spine chilling sensation was and hair standing up all over my body.

No more horror show after that. Not taking anymore chance. :scared:

Edited by Weez911

I ate the thick grub worm before, fried version. A group of us went BKK and at the street hawker, we bought a whole bunch of varieties of insects for sale, got cricket, grub worm, meal worm, super worm, water bug and grasshopper. The scorpion and tarantula were too expensive. Then we bought beers and went back to hotel room. We all gathered around and play chua dia di. Loser with the most cards left got to pick one insect to eat.

Lucky me, lost early so got to select those fried thick grub worms. For me, no taste at all, cos I swollowed them whole and down with lots of beer. [grin]

Those kena eat the cricket, water bug and grasshopper removed the legs and quickly chomp it down. Followed by lots of beer.

It was so fun. [dead]

Haha i remember people are eating it for health benefits.. Not for fun

I have friends that drink snake's blood, it is prescribed to cure pimples..

I ate the thick grub worm before, fried version. A group of us went BKK and at the street hawker, we bought a whole bunch of varieties of insects for sale, got cricket, grub worm, meal worm, super worm, water bug and grasshopper. The scorpion and tarantula were too expensive. Then we bought beers and went back to hotel room. We all gathered around and play chua dia di. Loser with the most cards left got to pick one insect to eat.

Lucky me, lost early so got to select those fried thick grub worms. For me, no taste at all, cos I swollowed them whole and down with lots of beer. [grin]

Those kena eat the cricket, water bug and grasshopper removed the legs and quickly chomp it down. Followed by lots of beer.

It was so fun. [dead]

Not a bad idea for MCF's event ice breakers activity! Hahaha

tried some crickets and meal worms in phnom penh...

taste like twisties... haven't seen tarantula though, must special order... hahah

some like snake meat :grin:

I think a lot of people here like to eat snake...

Many eat snake surfing mcf during office hours....