Worst interview moment?

Runforyourlife

The problem with this is that, the second interview was 5 days away from the first interview. The first interview lasted 2 hours where the JD was discussed and explained to death. He basically asked for answers to the same questions he asked during the first interview

haha.... U actually remember?? Maybe the guy really went for many interviews. I usually print out job scope and bring with me to every interview *the thing you do as you age*

If you are too capable the hiring manager will see you as a threat.

If they are looking for a yes man, just pretend to be one.

Works for me.  [thumbsup]

And that's how we leave behind a country with no job, and no future for our children. 

You can cheat in short term, but in long term, it will show. 

And that's how we leave behind a country with no job, and no future for our children. 

That's exactly right.

But what can we do?

How can we change the hiring manager?

The hiring manager couldn't care less if country has no job and no future for our children.

He only cares about his job.

This happens every where.

My fren staying up north was worried his fat no 2 wanted to kick him

out and take his position. Lucky my fren kicked out the no 2 and

replaced him with a yes man. Is my fren concerned no job in the

country and no future for the next gen. As far as he is concerned

he couldn't care less as long as he kept his job. Anyway he is busy

doing deals with the Chinese trying to sell every thing he can to them.

That's exactly right.

But what can we do?

How can we change the hiring manager?

Well, I suggest I should call you mister then.

You can call me anything you like.  [thumbsup]

Besides calling me names do you have any good suggestion?

This happens every where.

My fren staying up north was worried his fat no 2 wanted to kick him

out and take his position. Lucky my fren kicked out the no 2 and

replaced him with a yes man. Is my fren concerned no job in the

country and no future for the next gen. As far as he is concerned

he couldn't care less as long as he kept his job. Anyway he is busy

doing deals with the Chinese trying to sell every thing he can to them.

Exactly. That's why it's a kind of national urgency now. 

The "someone" I mentioned above is a high flier. His team at the end like what you said, only left with 1 person working, which is himself. Not that he is not hardworking or not capable. Just that he can't change the mini society (in his team) 's mentality. After 2 years now I check back, he said his position is very shaky now, can go any moment. The team is gonna be dissolved in very near future. I would be surprised if they are still around till mid year. The co might move headquarter to other countries soon. 

Of cos not just your friend, for peasants like me, I only care about my rice bowl. But when rice no more, bowl also no more soon then gotta think what exactly went wrong.

You can call me anything you like.  [thumbsup]

Besides calling me names do you have any good suggestion?

mister eh, what names. cos you said you are sister, but since you said those you can't be sister. LOL. Just a joke. Chill. 

Edited by G1234

No choice bro..just have to keep on trying!! Best is if u have lobang ( know someone or referred by someone ). "Few final interview"..tough if it's only 1 head count / vacancy. Need a bit of LUCK also.

Ya. Went for 3 final interviews (different hirers) last year. All is only one vacancy. All missed. Don't know why I keep screwing up final interviews. :relief: lol. Sometimes it's just whether the hirer like your face or not. Hope that 2017 will have better luck. 

If you are too capable the hiring manager will see you as a threat.

If they are looking for a yes man, just pretend to be one.

Works for me.  [thumbsup]

Yes Boss. ^_^

Exactly. That's why it's a kind of national urgency now. 

The "someone" I mentioned above is a high flier. His team at the end like what you said, only left with 1 person working, which is himself. Not that he is not hardworking or not capable. Just that he can't change the mini society (in his team) 's mentality. After 2 years now I check back, he said his position is very shaky now, can go any moment. The team is gonna be dissolved in very near future. I would be surprised if they are still around till mid year. The co might move headquarter to other countries soon. 

Of cos not just your friend, for peasants like me, I only care about my rice bowl. But when rice no more, bowl also no more soon then gotta think what exactly went wrong.

mister eh, what names. cos you said you are sister, but since you said those you can't be sister. LOL. Just a joke. Chill. 

If got good retrenchment package your fren should wait and get the retrenchment package

and then find another job. If no retrenchment package he should go now and find a job before

they all get chopped and he has to compete with more people looking for fewer and fewer jobs.

I get the joke. Only man do bad things and if I do bad things then I must be a man. I completely

agree but I only pretend to do bad things. So I am actually a women pretending to be a man.

Edited by Jamesc

haha.... U actually remember?? Maybe the guy really went for many interviews. I usually print out job scope and bring with me to every interview *the thing you do as you age*

you are so right about long term, it will show.

I remember an old friend, he got MBA. But he wanted a job so badly, that he didn't declare his MBA.  He only apply as basic degree holder.  and not telling about his MBA.  

He got the job. and everyone was happy.  He worked, and as first few months went past, his boss noticed that my friend's performance is way above his expectation.  The boss actually asked him if he has received other forms of training or education.  My friend admitted that he got MBA and boss was abit stunned.  Friend explained that he wanted this job so badly.  Boss also happy that he hired a good worker, let him stay on. 

so actually, in the eyes of HR policy, he might do a wrong for not declaring his education, but its also not wrong because everyone has the right not to declare everything.  In this case, its only not declaring his highest education. Doesn't affect the performance.

But in long term, it will show.

If got good retrenchment package your fren should wait and get the retrenchment package

and then find another job. If no retrenchment package he should go now and find a job before

they all get chopped and he has to compete with more people looking for fewer and fewer jobs.

I get the joke. Only man do and things and if I do bad things then I must be a man. I completely

agree but I only pretend to do bad things. So I am actually a women pretending to be a man.

My friend mid 50s. People his level if get it will just early retire, like most of his peers now. Quite sad actually. 

I remember an old friend, he got MBA. But he wanted a job so badly, that he didn't declare his MBA.  He only apply as basic degree holder.  and not telling about his MBA.  

He got the job. and everyone was happy.  He worked, and as first few months went past, his boss noticed that my friend's performance is way above his expectation.  The boss actually asked him if he has received other forms of training or education.  My friend admitted that he got MBA and boss was abit stunned.  Friend explained that he wanted this job so badly.  Boss also happy that he hired a good worker, let him stay on. 

so actually, in the eyes of HR policy, he might do a wrong for not declaring his education, but its also not wrong because everyone has the right not to declare everything.  In this case, its only not declaring his highest education. Doesn't affect the performance.

hahaha..... that's quite entertaining. 

His boss so nice.  [thumbsup]

His boss is the owner?

Other managers see him got MBA they don't have

worry he take their job, out he goes.  [bigcry]

My friend mid 50s. People his level if get it will just early retire, like most of his peers now. Quite sad actually. 

so this teach us not to see everything as face value.   :grin:

Its also the same thing as a guy wearing old shorts and t shirt, walk into car showroom.  SE see this man, all act blur don't want to serve him. But this guy could be a millionaire.

I watched the movie The Intern so there is always hope for your fren.

There again maybe it only happens in the movies.

The-Intern-new-poster.jpg

Seems like many company like to call up people for interview and yet tell the person you have no experience or little experience. Really waste time going for such interview. I also kenna such interview before.

Reminds me of an interview I went where the interviewer kept telling me I won't be able to adapt to the working culture at their company. Tried to defend myself because how will she know when we just met right.. End up I just agree with her and left the interview feeling sian.

Sometimes I wonder how the recruiter decided who they want to meet when they receive so many applications.. Confirm cannot finish reviewing all to decide the best one what.

Reminds me of an interview I went where the interviewer kept telling me I won't be able to adapt to the working culture at their company. Tried to defend myself because how will she know when we just met right.. End up I just agree with her and left the interview feeling sian.

Sometimes I wonder how the recruiter decided who they want to meet when they receive so many applications.. Confirm cannot finish reviewing all to decide the best one what.

lol. Sounds like one of the HR I talked to. After 1.5 years someone told me, she still can't find anyone to fill in the position. 

So he declare to what level ? O level hur ? kekeke  :D

MBA very good meh?

Got big diff over bachelors?