Bukit Batok bi-election!

Duckduck

Why would the other parties be interested to salvage csj from that old impression? It is every man for himself. We still remember how WP rejected csj proposals to work in arms. Would you think they trust him that much to form a coalition?

Let's rethink, would you accept sdp proposal that it works together with you, rides on your wave and when it wins, it goes into parliament and you clear all the shit at the TC? I can almost hear wp scowl.

Quoted from the mrbrown- SDP Secretary-General Chee Soon Juan says:

"In the spirit of compromise and cooperation, we would like to propose that our two parties run a joint campaign and field one candidate from the SDP. If victorious, the SDP candidate will enter Parliament and the WP will run the Punggol East Town Council."

And he calls it a win win scenario..

every politician will say their idea is win win . but I also think it was a 死Q ! 

Why would the other parties be interested to salvage csj from that old impression? It is every man for himself. We still remember how WP rejected csj proposals to work in arms. Would you think they trust him that much to form a coalition?

Let's rethink, would you accept sdp proposal that it works together with you, rides on your wave and when it wins, it goes into parliament and you clear all the shit at the TC? I can almost hear wp scowl.

Quoted from the mrbrown- SDP Secretary-General Chee Soon Juan says:

"In the spirit of compromise and cooperation, we would like to propose that our two parties run a joint campaign and field one candidate from the SDP. If victorious, the SDP candidate will enter Parliament and the WP will run the Punggol East Town Council."

And he calls it a win win scenario..

On this part I feel CSJ is trying to be funny. Either that or he is trying to put WP on a spot and sabotage WP and give the impression to some people who wanted alliance "See? Not I dont want to cooperate is WP who doesnt want" 

Ya I think you mean this...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/lee-wei-ling-denies/2758212.html

Denying that she was one of the signatories, Dr Lee said she has a âvery poor opinionâ of Dr Chee and does not think âhe is fit to be in Parliamentâ.

Now the same opposition ib on Facebook that support her should be busy turning against her Liao.

This weekend is the mother of elections: 1) Bukit Batok, 2) Sabah, 3) Pinoy President. individually, it means not much, combined they can change the landscape and the effect can be big & wide.

(2) and (3) no impact, just change from one corrupt politician to another.

there will be a changing hands  for Sabah ? 

Singapore..... Ho-Jit-Ho-Kun... Do you think BB residents will vote mostly SDP?

Edited by HP_Lee

The Chiams set the record straight

http://six-six.com/article/the-chiams-set-the-record-straight

Singapore People’s Party’s (SPP) Chiam See Tong and Lina Chiam want to clarify reports that had been put out by supporters and members of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) of what transpired in meetings between them and representatives of the SDP back in early 2011 (hereafter referred to as “the 2011 meetings”). 

One such report was written by a member of the SDP’s Healthcare Advisory Panel, Dr Wong Wee Nam, in a chapter to the 2015 book Teacher Thinker Rebel Why: Portraits of Chee Soon Juan

In rationalizing why the SDP initiated the 2011 meetings with the Chiams, Dr Wong asserted that the “public perception” was that Mr Chiam was “a one-man show” and that this “needed to be addressed”.  He went on to further state that Mr Chiam “needed to show Singapore he was magnanimous and had big ideas”. 

In email correspondence with this writer, however, it was clear that the Chiams felt that this portrayal of Mr Chiam amounted to an unwarranted attack on him. More to the point, it was also a distortion of the facts. 

In Mrs Chiam’s words, “Mr Chiam and SPP have always been interested in ways to collaborate with political parties”.  Her remarks are supported by the fact that it was Mr Chiam who was instrumental in the establishment of the Singapore Democratic Alliance back in 2001 which, at its outset, had four component political parties.  Similarly, in the run-up to the 2011 general election, Mr Chiam held talks on possible collaboration with, among others, members of the Reform Party. 

In the same chapter of Teacher Thinker Rebel Why, Dr Wong made the following claim about the 2011 meetings: “The fact that he (Dr Chee) was willing to let Chiam See Tong come back as a leader to a party that Soon Juan had invested all his youth and kept afloat with all his sacrifices says a lot to me about his dedication.”

This claim that in the 2011 meetings Dr Chee was prepared to make way for Mr Chiam to return to the SDP as its leader was also made by SDP member and parliamentary election candidate Bryan Lim at an SDP election rally at the promenade next to UOB Plaza on September 7, 2015. 

Reading from a prepared script, Mr Lim was emphatic in saying: “No one can deny that Dr Chee had willingly made way for Mr Chiam to head the party, the party he had made so much (sic) sacrifices for.  My friends, if this isn’t a display of Dr Chee’s selflessness then I don’t know what is.”

These claims made by the SDP and its supporters that in the 2011 meetings Dr Chee was willing to let Mr Chiam return to the SDP and head the party has been disputed by Mrs Chiam. 

She provided a clarification to this writer of what was offered by the SDP. “Among their [the SDP representatives] proposals was that Mr Chiam should return to SDP by himself to take on a non-CEC position as Honorary Chairman, or a similar position that will acknowledge his role as the founder of SDP,” she said. Nowhere did she say that there was a proposal by the SDP for Mr Chiam to return to the party as leader, i.e., as a person with power. 

Mrs Chiam also made clear that the SDP representatives had laid down terms and set a deadline for their terms to be accepted.  “Given their condition that the proposal had to be accepted within one week, among other terms, it was a non-starter,” she made clear.

This approach of making proposals which are really empty gestures, laying down terms and setting deadlines which the other party had to accept, has been a consistent approach of the SDP under Dr Chee’s leadership. 

Here, it is worthwhile recalling that in the lead up to the Punggol East by-election in January 2013, Dr Chee tried to apply pressure on the Workers’ Party by releasing the contents of three letters the SDP had sent to the WP to have a meeting on possible collaboration in the by-election.  The SDP also announced its own deadlines for when a meeting would be held. 

Subsequently, Dr Chee publicly floated the idea that the SDP and WP collaborate in the by-election where the SDP would field a candidate and, if that person won, he would take the seat in Parliament, while the WP would be assigned the far less glamorous, more demanding, job of managing the Punggol East town council.  

Going back to the Chiams, Dr Chee’s candidacy in the Bukit Batok by-election has reignited unpleasant memories of their dealings with Dr Chee and his close associates.  There is clearly no reconciliation between the two sides.  And, it is also evident, that the Chiams do not wish to be used to further one man’s political ambitions.    

Actually I think is his supporter think LwL really turn against his brother anyhow do.

When actually it's just normal sibling quarrel.

I think its a bad move CSJ to bring in LWL .

But he also ownself shoot ownself.

Say he know what his people going to talk. Then say the will not shoot.

It's like u say me..."I know j22 is a king troll, his word cannot believe. But no I am not going to say he is king troll"

Slap Liao then say not slap.

Edited by Joseph22

I think its a bad move CSJ to bring in LWL . 

It is really a very stupid move........he tried CST.........tio kan..........now try LWL....... tio kan big time.................ccb I think I going to lost my bet on him liao.............

ok lah, miracles do happen like Leicester City winning the EPL... Monk Power...  :XD: He should engage the same party of monks to pray at his rally tonight... last day liao... Chiong ah!!!  :grin:

Edited by Carnoob

LWL I think is his supporter keep disturbing her.. Ask her to stand up say bad about pap.

They never think, she got issue with LhL could be just sibling issue. Doesn't mean she don't support pap.

I will be voting this saturday. I voted for David Ong last year. He was sincere and get things done. On the other hand, SDP fielded a weak candidate who I do not know.

Just want to share my thoughts after reading through most of the posts here.

To those who say CSJ will create havoc in parliament and cause unnecessary waste of time to debate big issues, I say please do not look down on Speaker of Parliament, Ms Halimah. She is there to control parliamentary proceedings. Are you saying she will lose control once CSJ enter parliament?

To those who say CSJ will ruin Singapore, I think you see CSJ wayyyy toooo uppppp.... PAP will remain the governement, CSJ will merely have a seat in Parliament with one vote, which will not count for anything with all PAP MPs voting along party line. 

However, he can ask difficult questions in Parliament which the ministers need to answer. Again, I beseech you to trust Halimah's ability as Speaker.

Despite serving bb for 18yrs, I do not recognise Murali, but from whatever little I know and seen, I form the opinion that he is meek and submissive. He may be a good man with his heart in the right place. He must be. Why else would he want to join politics despite being at the top of his profession? Stripping himself of privacy and sacrificing family time. He must have more money than he knows or have time to spend. Yet he joined politics. That is admirable. But the Parliament does not need another meek voice.

There is no doubt who I want to be in Parliament.   

My conservancy fees will more or less be the same whoever win. My estate will be generally clean whoever win. That is all I ask for and I think both should be able to do a good job here. 

Yes, there is some worry my HDB price will drop if the estate is not managed by a PAP Town Council. I am the most pragmatic and calculative person amongst my friends, I am having a hard time straightening this out. 

However, come Saturday, I know who I am voting for.  

Majulah!

Edited by Simonsoh
  • Praise 14

But he also ownself shoot ownself.

Say he know what his people going to talk. Then say the will not shoot.

It's like u say me..."I know j22 is a king troll, his word cannot believe. But no I am not going to say he is king troll"

Slap Liao then say not slap.ððð

It's a win loss. Because he win election he enter parliament and he collect 15k. Wp collect nothing but do all the Sai kang.

Hahha ur first part was referring to lwl's comment hur hahaha . I was thinking abt this point too earlier. Abit lame for him to do that hahha. Then i realised he playing the same trick pappy used last time . Hahha

I will be voting this saturday. I voted for David Ong last year. He was sincere and get things done. On the other hand, SDP fielded a weak candidate who I do not know.

Just want to share my thoughts after reading through most of the posts here.

To those who say CSJ will create havoc in parliament and cause unnecessary waste of time to debate big issues, I say please do not look down on Speaker of Parliament, Ms Halimah. She is there to control parliamentary proceedings. Are you saying she will lose control once CSJ enter parliament?

To those who say CSJ will ruin Singapore, I think you see CSJ wayyyy toooo uppppp.... PAP will remain the governement, CSJ will merely have a seat in Parliament with one vote, which will not count for anything with all PAP MPs voting along party line.

However, he can ask difficult questions in Parliament which the ministers need to answer. Again, I beseech you to trust Halimah's ability as Speaker.

Despite serving bb for 18yrs, I do not recognise Murali, but from whatever little I know and seen, I form the opinion that he is meek and submissive. He may be a good man with his heart in the right place. He must be. Why else would he want to join politics despite being at the top of his profession? Stripping himself of privacy and sacrificing family time. He must have more money than he knows or have time to spend. Yet he joined politics. That is admirable. But the Parliament does not need another meek voice.

There is no doubt who I want to be in Parliament.

My conservancy fees will more or less be the same whoever win. My estate will be generally clean whoever win. That is all I ask for and I think both should be able to do a good job here.

Yes, there is some worry my HDB price will drop if the estate is not managed by a PAP Town Council. I am the most pragmatic and calculative person amongst my friends, I am having a hard time straightening this out.

However, come Saturday, I know who I am voting for.

Majulah!

Yes..: that's the problemZ don't know why big guns always think they have to go GRC. Go Smc Lahr why GRC??

Hahha ur first part was referring to lwl's comment hur hahaha . I was thinking abt this point too earlier. Abit lame for him to do that hahha. Then i realised he playing the same trick pappy used last time . Hahha

Different Hor.. Pap is...

"I won't say bad about J22. But he is bloody king troll..."

Edited by Joseph22

My mum just called me at the office, she said they have not received the polling slips. Now that she mentioned, I dont remember seeing mine. Must check letterbox tonight. If never receive, how ahh?

ok lah, miracles do happen like Leicester City winning the EPL... Monk Power... :XD: He should engage the same party of monks to pray at his rally tonight... last day liao... Chiong ah!!! :grin:

Who knows the monk might appear on voting day........ in red......huat ah!!!....[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]