Bukit Batok bi-election!

Duckduck

Caught DPM Tharman from the news speaking in the rally... heaping alot of praises on Murali... a person who can deliver, with leadership... as shown in his past achievements... e.g. Murali's platoon is the best platoon etc...

I've no doubts on this Murali's ability, passion & willingness to serve... seem a likable person... But just wondering... with this committed person who have contributed to the grassroots for more than a decade, why then didn't the PAP put him forward as a candidate back in GE 2011 ??? You mean he even loose out to a certain TxL :blink: (though I have to admit she has worked hard over the years to win back pple's trusts)???

I will be voting this saturday. I voted for David Ong last year. He was sincere and get things done. On the other hand, SDP fielded a weak candidate who I do not know.

Just want to share my thoughts after reading through most of the posts here.

To those who say CSJ will create havoc in parliament and cause unnecessary waste of time to debate big issues, I say please do not look down on Speaker of Parliament, Ms Halimah. She is there to control parliamentary proceedings. Are you saying she will lose control once CSJ enter parliament?

To those who say CSJ will ruin Singapore, I think you see CSJ wayyyy toooo uppppp.... PAP will remain the governement, CSJ will merely have a seat in Parliament with one vote, which will not count for anything with all PAP MPs voting along party line.

However, he can ask difficult questions in Parliament which the ministers need to answer. Again, I beseech you to trust Halimah's ability as Speaker.

Despite serving bb for 18yrs, I do not recognise Murali, but from whatever little I know and seen, I form the opinion that he is meek and submissive. He may be a good man with his heart in the right place. He must be. Why else would he want to join politics despite being at the top of his profession? Stripping himself of privacy and sacrificing family time. He must have more money than he knows or have time to spend. Yet he joined politics. That is admirable. But the Parliament does not need another meek voice.

There is no doubt who I want to be in Parliament.

My conservancy fees will more or less be the same whoever win. My estate will be generally clean whoever win. That is all I ask for and I think both should be able to do a good job here.

Yes, there is some worry my HDB price will drop if the estate is not managed by a PAP Town Council. I am the most pragmatic and calculative person amongst my friends, I am having a hard time straightening this out.

However, come Saturday, I know who I am voting for.

Majulah!

The moment someone said would you trust a person with no experience to manage a town council? I was like slapping my forehead.

Town Council is run by a group of professionals, contractors, tradesman.

MP don't run the day-to-day municipal operation.

But to help people in need , listen to their problem, refer them to the right resource for help. Be their voice in the parliament.

Not to direct cleaners to wash the blocks, clear the rubbish.

Lucky most people now are more educated and understand the services provided of most organisation.

The moment someone said would you trust a person with no experience to manage a town council? I was like slapping my forehead.

Town Council is run by a group of professionals, contractors, tradesman.

Last I heard, SMRT entrusted to someone without train (not training - maybe the head hunter mixed up the 2 words!) experience, Education Ministry to someone(s) without education experience..... as so on.

Town Council must be even more suap suap shui!

Actually in this case anyone who claims got pest control/rat catching experience would get my vote if I had one.  This practical experience is urgently needed in Bukit Buttocks.

Edited by Volvobrick

Caught DPM Tharman from the news speaking in the rally... heaping alot of praises on Murali... a person who can deliver, with leadership... as shown in his past achievements... e.g. Murali's platoon is the best platoon etc...

I've no doubts on this Murali's ability, passion & willingness to serve... seem a likable person... But just wondering... with this committed person who have contributed to the grassroots for more than a decade, why then didn't the PAP put him forward as a candidate back in GE 2011 ??? You mean he even loose out to a certain TxL :blink: (though I have to admit she has worked hard over the years to win back pple's trusts)???

Every party has internal politics and external politics. What happened TxL (act cute young lady) is internal politics lah.

It's cooling day ... Time to cool down and drink liang tea :))

Hopefully we will see a result that the voters in BB want ....

the big question is why send M to Aljunied in last GE instead of BB since claimed served 16 years in BB

M is worst off than David Ong?

I've no doubts on this Murali's ability, passion & willingness to serve... seem a likable person... But just wondering... with this committed person who have contributed to the grassroots for more than a decade, why then didn't the PAP put him forward as a candidate back in GE 2011 ??? You mean he even loose out to a certain TxL :blink: (though I have to admit she has worked hard over the years to win back pple's trusts)???

the big question is why send M to Aljunied in last GE instead of BB since claimed served 16 years in BB

M is worst off than David Ong?

David oh was the incumbent thEn.

When is the result going to be posted?

Somebody is going to kpkb later  [laugh]

the one who loses is going to say : you made your choice,now don't make any more noise  -_-