Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 so friday is cooling off day???.....................MCF BB bi election got cooling off day or not???................ ya hor before thread closes, more Kevryn pics preaaasssseee!!! ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 No significant result from his work, his party didn't win any seat at GE15. In real votes his party has not quite won the minds of the electorate, securing just 3.76% of the valid votes in GE15. Since 1992, he has been seeking a job as an MP. He could have chosen an easier path but he has a score to settle. This Saturday, any prediction? My prediction Maybe there are black-out in vote counting stations 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 This weekend is the mother of elections: 1) Bukit Batok, 2) Sabah, 3) Pinoy President. individually, it means not much, combined they can change the landscape and the effect can be big & wide.Good observation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 Good observation. ðAll 3 are in the alliance of liberal and democrats right? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 My unprofessional prediction: 1. Singapore Pool Based on last GE results - a drop from 70% to below 50% is huge. There is nothing since then to sway fence seaters to change their mind. Trains breakdown had been accepted as norm as it occur so frequent. 2. Wild Cards Against incumbent 2nd time indiscretion. Several surprising speakers like auntie artist (not affiliated to any party) speaking for opposition. PM and ministers were the first to fire below the belt attacks which turned off some educated Singaporeans because they believe and live to see fair play (or at least more fair play than last 50years). PM announced that Israelis are smarter than Singaporean, which some Singaporeans may feel insulted. One speaker did say, but not smart enough to get along with their neighbours. Carrots and threats effect seems to diminished when it was discovered that 1.9million upgrade proposed as new was actually part of the 24million upgrade as promised during previous GE. Also, URA and HDB master plans had everything planned for the next 5 years. Hence, this incentive to vote for had diminished. Race. LKY himself say, it is inevitable. It is like would be "shoot" a fellow Singaporeans or a foreigner if we had no choice but to save a situation. It is human / social nature. Many elites have decided to join the SDP including several leaders of various industries. Against opposition Legacy issue and history (rightly or wrongly) of SDP and her leader. SPP indirectly publicly state no support for any candidates. Apart from RP, the largest recognised opposition party is absolutely silent except for a lone voice CSM who lends support. Untested party, a lot of theory but zero practical experience. With the not so long ago events of town council taken care of by WP despite having a GRC and not SMC, already had their resources stretched to the limits. Will a single person in an SMC run counter any pot-shots that is thrown at him? Singaporeans at large are busy and more concern about their daily lives and do not their daily routine disrupted. As a nation we have not reached that level yet but we are heading towards that direction. 9 days of canvasing is too short a time to convince 20000 odd residents why SDP is for them. If elected, some fear that power may cause misalignment in the head of the SDP leader and bring havoc in parliament. As we know anything said in parliament attracts immunity to sued. Observation: It is highly likely the incumbent would win but with a smaller percentage than the last GE. If SDP cannot secure a higher percentage of win then the last, I believe it is time for CSJ to recognise that there is a need for a new leader with a new direction for the party. Many elites would like to join the opposition but the availability of parties that suit there "style" is extremely limited. The closes they can join currently is SDP. This may explain why SDP has attracted these type recently. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 My unprofessional prediction: 1. Singapore Pool Based on last GE results - a drop from 70% to below 50% is huge. There is nothing since then to sway fence seaters to change their mind. Trains breakdown had been accepted as norm as it occur so frequent. 2. Wild Cards Against incumbent 2nd time indiscretion. Several surprising speakers like auntie artist (not affiliated to any party) speaking for opposition. PM and ministers were the first to fire below the belt attacks which turned off some educated Singaporeans because they believe and live to see fair play (or at least more fair play than last 50years). PM announced that Israelis are smarter than Singaporean, which some Singaporeans may feel insulted. One speaker did say, but not smart enough to get along with their neighbours. Carrots and threats effect seems to diminished when it was discovered that 1.9million upgrade proposed as new was actually part of the 24million upgrade as promised during previous GE. Also, URA and HDB master plans had everything planned for the next 5 years. Hence, this incentive to vote for had diminished. Race. LKY himself say, it is inevitable. It is like would be "shoot" a fellow Singaporeans or a foreigner if we had no choice but to save a situation. It is human / social nature. Many elites have decided to join the SDP including several leaders of various industries. Against opposition Legacy issue and history (rightly or wrongly) of SDP and her leader. SPP indirectly publicly state no support for any candidates. Apart from RP, the largest recognised opposition party is absolutely silent except for a lone voice CSM who lends support. Untested party, a lot of theory but zero practical experience. With the not so long ago events of town council taken care of by WP despite having a GRC and not SMC, already had their resources stretched to the limits. Will a single person in an SMC run counter any pot-shots that is thrown at him? Singaporeans at large are busy and more concern about their daily lives and do not their daily routine disrupted. As a nation we have not reached that level yet but we are heading towards that direction. 9 days of canvasing is too short a time to convince 20000 odd residents why SDP is for them. If elected, some fear that power may cause misalignment in the head of the SDP leader and bring havoc in parliament. As we know anything said in parliament attracts immunity to sued. Observation: It is highly likely the incumbent would win but with a smaller percentage than the last GE. If SDP cannot secure a higher percentage of win then the last, I believe it is time for CSJ to recognise that there is a need for a new leader with a new direction for the party. Many elites would like to join the opposition but the availability of parties that suit there "style" is extremely limited. The closes they can join currently is SDP. This may explain why SDP has attracted these type recently. I think your analysis is rather accurate. If the roles were switched and murali is from sdp and chee from pap, i don't think murali would stand any chance or be even fielded at all. As the chinese adage goes that you don't just look at the monk but the buddha that stands behind him, it is the bigger fight of the party at stake too. Which may explain the posts by gct n pm. One may claim that cst failed to groom a successor but the same plagues csj. If he fails, who is as vocal to push sdp through? The dr? A good follower and believer of csj but whether as vehement an activist, remains to be seen. If csj doesn't succeed, sdp future is bleak too. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 My own view.... If CSJ can convince all other oppo especially the major ones to endorse his candidacy and campaigning together with him to show solitary then he will stands a chance to be elected. And they should work towards consolidation. Singapore is just too small and too risky to have multiple parties. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 I think your analysis is rather accurate. If the roles were switched and murali is from sdp and chee from pap, i don't think murali would stand any chance or be even fielded at all. As the chinese adage goes that you don't just look at the monk but the buddha that stands behind him, it is the bigger fight of the party at stake too. Which may explain the posts by gct n pm. One may claim that cst failed to groom a successor but the same plagues csj. If he fails, who is as vocal to push sdp through? The dr? A good follower and believer of csj but whether as vehement an activist, remains to be seen. If csj doesn't succeed, sdp future is bleak too. I respect CSJ perseverance in politic career deeply, he is found to be in the same hard core as JBJ in some way loosing to almost "Non" leftover and yet still stay in his home country continue struggling. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 (edited) My own view.... If CSJ can convince all other oppo especially the major ones to endorse his candidacy and campaigning together with him to show solitary then he will stands a chance to be elected. And they should work towards consolidation. Singapore is just too small and too risky to have multiple parties. I fully concur this solidarity strategy coming together with all opposition parties in Singapore to voice up for CSJ as a "Dare To Change" opposition candidate for Bukit Batok Voters. This is the only way to rescue CSJ from the old bad impression edged in voter with their conservative minds. Edited May 5, 2016 by 2BDriver 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 (edited) My own view.... If CSJ can convince all other oppo especially the major ones to endorse his candidacy and campaigning together with him to show solitary then he will stands a chance to be elected. And they should work towards consolidation. Singapore is just too small and too risky to have multiple parties. Its still 1 party ... i saw someone posted this in fb "ahLee baba and the 80 thieves" Sg so small , we need 80 seats meh... Edited May 5, 2016 by Angcheek 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 I fully concur this solidarity strategy i coming together with all opposition parties in Singapore to voice up for CSJ as a "Dare To Change" opposition candidate for Bukit Batok Voters. This is the only way to rescue CSJ from the old bad impression edged in voter with their conservative minds. At this point , i think the rest all watching at the side line. WP wont want to take the risk esp when they are losing vote in last GE. A wrong decision with be disastrous. The other parties no need to say ... u know i know kekeke 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 My own view.... If CSJ can convince all other oppo especially the major ones to endorse his candidacy and campaigning together with him to show solitary then he will stands a chance to be elected. And they should work towards consolidation. Singapore is just too small and too risky to have multiple parties. Very hard to convince Mr. Kenneth J. ... He had said, he don't want to hear any complaint anymore .. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 Very hard to convince Mr. Kenneth J. ... He had said, he don't want to hear any complaint anymore .. No one care about him.. Most important is LTK must endorse... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 My own view.... If CSJ can convince all other oppo especially the major ones to endorse his candidacy and campaigning together with him to show solitary then he will stands a chance to be elected. And they should work towards consolidation. Singapore is just too small and too risky to have multiple parties. Normally oppo will comment on the by-elections. But this time all keep quiet. Possible that none of the oppo want him to be elected also therefore they keep quiet? Cuz they cannot be supporting the PAP but at the same time they don't want to support CSJ also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 No one care about him.. Most important is LTK must endorse... Still a party to look out for cos his party could come and kar-chau kar-chau to make it into a 3-way or 4-way fight .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 (edited) Normally oppo will comment on the by-elections. But this time all keep quiet. Possible that none of the oppo want him to be elected also therefore they keep quiet? Cuz they cannot be supporting the PAP but at the same time they don't want to support CSJ also.Leon from WP support him mah. I am surprise GMS so quiet this time. Anyway apparently LWL comment Liao. She scold cSJ instead. Edited May 5, 2016 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 Normally oppo will comment on the by-elections. But this time all keep quiet. Possible that none of the oppo want him to be elected also therefore they keep quiet? Cuz they cannot be supporting the PAP but at the same time they don't want to support CSJ also. WP remains silent to avoid incumbent having any chances to lashing poisonous tongue 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged May 5, 2016 Share May 5, 2016 I fully concur this solidarity strategy coming together with all opposition parties in Singapore to voice up for CSJ as a "Dare To Change" opposition candidate for Bukit Batok Voters. This is the only way to rescue CSJ from the old bad impression edged in voter with their conservative minds. Why would the other parties be interested to salvage csj from that old impression? It is every man for himself. We still remember how WP rejected csj proposals to work in arms. Would you think they trust him that much to form a coalition? Let's rethink, would you accept sdp proposal that it works together with you, rides on your wave and when it wins, it goes into parliament and you clear all the shit at the TC? I can almost hear wp scowl. Quoted from the mrbrown- SDP Secretary-General Chee Soon Juan says: "In the spirit of compromise and cooperation, we would like to propose that our two parties run a joint campaign and field one candidate from the SDP. If victorious, the SDP candidate will enter Parliament and the WP will run the Punggol East Town Council." And he calls it a win win scenario.. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...