SPH kenna from LWL

Jellandross

A thought exercise for those that are saying they feel sorry for LHL as he has to wear "two hats" or that he is being put into a position of having to balance national interest and personal wishes...

What would you think if he did something similar to the below... 

My Fellow Singaporeans, 

The first anniversary of my late father is approaching.  As a son this is an extremely difficult time for me - remembering with great pride, as any son does, the achievements of a father.  His passing has left a large void for me.  I miss him not only as any son does a father, but also on a more professional level I miss him as a mentor, I miss his guidance and strategic thinking and I miss the insight he brings to many issues. 

As a Singaporean I want to thank him for bringing us forward to where we are today, and I fully understand the wish that many have to pay their respects through public ceremonies.  My role as a son conflicts directly with this - Papa was very clear and straightforward that he didn't want a cult of personality to arise around him, not that time and resources should be spent in his honour - preferring that we should place resources into moving forward, not looking back. 

With my role as a filial son being so diametrically opposed to following the wishes of my constituents, and as this is an issue of conscience that has no direct impact on the governing of Singapore, I am recusing myself all discussions regarding what should, or should not be done in memorialistion of our founding Prime Minister, Mr. Lee Kuan Yew - a government committee has been set-up to discuss the issue, and they will be announcing the appropriate decision from the standpoint of the Government of Singapore. 

In the meantime, and while they are undertaking their deliberations, as a family we will be taking our own private time to reflect on the passing of Papa, and we will be remembering and paying our respects in a manner that suits us as individuals.  I request that all of Singapore allows me, my siblings and our families the space to mourn the passing of a dearly loved father as we see fit.  

In your honest opinion, don't you feel the whole "celebration" thingy is too much? Its like a year liao still celebrate n celebrate. Byelection coming also keep focusing on it.

We are Singaporeans and we know who LKY is. Honoring imo is different from worshipping.

actually, if you don't read newspapers, would you have realised?

If it wasn't for some FB groups or newspapers, I wouldn't have even known what day was it.

It's like racial harmony day. Who actually knows what day is racial harmony day?

Usually I don't bet, but I'll wager that by GE 2019, we will still be "commemorating" LKY near or around the actual polling week.

Bet you guys / gals one banana [grin]

gorilla_holding_banana.jpg

precisely.

It's like go hua shan discuss swordplay, huang rong's comments more important than ah gou ah ma right [laugh]

Depend also. If Jian Ning princess comment. No one bother.

Usually I don't bet, but I'll wager that by GE 2019, we will still be "commemorating" LKY near or around the actual polling week.

Actually can we have a LKY day public holiday??

only if that banana has to be wrested from the said gorilla... :=B:

Depend also. If Jian Ning princess comment. No one bother.

actually, if you don't read newspapers, would you have realised?

If it wasn't for some FB groups or newspapers, I wouldn't have even known what day was it.

It's like racial harmony day. Who actually knows what day is racial harmony day?

School children?

But if we allow school children to be indoctrinated, it might be too late to "save" them when they grow up.

Wei Xiao Bao's Wife from duke of deer mountain.

Can you name all his wives?  [wave]

Which tv drama version is that? All of them supposedly very chio according to the 繁体version of the literature I forced myself to plough through during my sec school days..... things horny teenagers do...LOL

he got so many wives... like 7?

and how come duke of mount deer is same story as Huang Rong in Hua Shan Sword Discussion??

NB.. you pulling a fast one?

and how come duke of mount deer is same story as Huang Rong in Hua Shan Sword Discussion??

he's saying not all women/princesses comments are equal  [:p]

School children?

But if we allow school children to be indoctrinated, it might be too late to "save" them when they grow up.

Can you name all his wives? [wave]

I only remember a few...

1) Shuan Er - the one who know ah Bao the best

2) Jian Ning - the one that like SM

3) ah ke - most beautiful

4) ping Xi princess - "forget Liao"

5) mu mansion princess's elder Sister ( as in kong fu type) - most clever of the 7

6) madam Long (name forgotten) - most skill in martial arts

7) mu mansion princess - most innocent.

So technically I only remember 3 name.

Wah Lao eh... From same author lah. So cross reference to say no all princess is equal.

School children?

save them from racial harmony? :=B:

funny I only see malay and indian in my school.. only racial harmony with them.. others not counted... [gossip]

Which tv drama version is that? All of them supposedly very chio according to the 繁体version of the literature I forced myself to plough through during my sec school days..... things horny teenagers do...LOL

if you read the book, then u know one of his wife's mother is the most beautiful woman in china.  [grin]

Which tv drama version is that? All of them supposedly very chio according to the ç¹ä½version of the literature I forced myself to plough through during my sec school days..... things horny teenagers do...LOL

I prefer the latest one from China.

The drama make u want to slap wei Xiao Bao because he is a Wu Lai. Which in real life he is (if there is such a person and who Jing Yong want to protray him as)

Many here don't understand what her thought deep in mind.

All comments here are too shallow

Sigh.. Better don't get involve with politic  

I dunno what she is complaining about. Surely this isn't the first time she is hearing about SPH not being willing to publish non-establishment content? Is this the first time they have rejected an article of hers? She should count herself privileged then....

Anyway, in this time and age, the government can't censor anything la. Not happy then just start a TRS style website and write whatever you want - just be smart enough to do the writing in USA or Australia and never come back.

Edited by HP_Lee