2017 G30 BMW 5 Series

Carbon82

You need bigger engine for cruising if it is NOT turbo charged.

It not true Japanese lack handling, technology and design. It is the choice of Jap in Singapore is limited.

Moreover, in Singapore, AMDK.

Yes thats why in sg u hardly cruise so many road hoggers

In usa longer journey bigger engine better

Fake peasant spotted... real peasant will drive until scrap as that is the cheapest, instead of changing car ^_^

Cant afford the monthly installment

Thats why i hardly go to watch thread

Yes thats why in sg u hardly cruise so many road hoggers

In usa longer journey bigger engine better

Cant afford the monthly installment

Thats why i hardly go to watch thread

Unlike you, i don't drive for commuting.

I drive for pleasure.

Unlike you, i don't drive for commuting.

I drive for pleasure.

Which stock premium jap cars in your opinion are as good as or better than stock premium german cars besides reliability? Let's consider a sedan or SUV for a family of 4 that commutes in singapore daily.

I am also looking for the perfect car without dipping too deep into the pocket.

In singapore car buyers buy based on the first number lah.

3xx = 3 series, junior executive, just start out in corporate world

5xx = 5 series, mid manager, doing well

7xx = 7 series, big boss liao

Whether behind is 18 or 60, they dont care as much. So low spec model in each series sure sell well

u sure bo.... IMO... i think

3xx = 3 series, mid manager

5xx = 5 series, high manager, like GM / Sales director

7xx = 7 series, big boss liao

just start out drive bmw.. salary so high meh.

Which stock premium jap cars in your opinion are as good as or better than stock premium german cars besides reliability? Let's consider a sedan or SUV for a family of 4 that commutes in singapore daily.

How about Toyota Crown Athlete 2L?

It is using the same engine as Lexus NX.

Its not a pleasure to drive here

Go nshw if one seeks for pleasure and to bring out the best of IL6.

Of course no pleasure to commute.  For pleasure driving, you need to find the correct timing.

NSHW is boring.  What keep my heart pumping is driving through all the backroads especially when i overtake 2 cars at 1 go.

How about Toyota Crown Athlete 2L?

It is using the same engine as Lexus NX.

Toyota Crown is not available here from Borneo. I cant even find any PI offering the car. 

Is the 2L IL6 or V6? 

Is the price comparable with the usual german suspects?

Toyota Crown is not available here from Borneo. I cant even find any PI offering the car. 

Is the 2L IL6 or V6? 

Is the price comparable with the usual german suspects?

Borneo used to sell Crown Majesta.  I think PI have Crown Athlete & only Athlete use 2L turbo.  But need to find.

It IS 2L V6 turbo with 230hp.  Price should be btw C180 & C200

Mazda 6

Lexus GS

Infiniti Q70

Mazda CX5

Wait for the new CRV, 1.5T with 190ps (same as a 2.4 N.A.), big on space, save on road tax.

Borneo used to sell Crown Majesta.  I think PI have Crown Athlete & only Athlete use 2L turbo.  But need to find.

It IS 2L V6 turbo with 230hp.  Price should be btw C180 & C200

I didnt know Toyota has 2L V6 turbo engine. I thought the 2L turbo used by NX was IL4. 

In any case, Crown seems not a good option since its difficult to find, and probably difficult to resell. 

Wait for the new CRV, 1.5T with 190ps (same as a 2.4 N.A.), big on space, save on road tax.

CRV is considered premium jap?

I didnt know Toyota has 2L V6 turbo engine. I thought the 2L turbo used by NX was IL4. 

In any case, Crown seems not a good option since its difficult to find, and probably difficult to resell. 

Missed the word "Premium". But in my opinion, I prefer Honda CRV (current model) over Mazda CX5, after traveling in both recently.

If premium is what you are focusing on, have to be Lexus: IS, ES, GS & NX. RX priced too close to German liao. Infiniti Q50 (with Mercs 2.0T engine) is another one worth considering.

Mazda 6

Lexus GS

Infiniti Q70

Mazda CX5

Mazda 6 - premium ?

Lexus GS - Yes, this is comparable. but the interior is, ... well, a glorified toyota. The only worthy comparison to the Germans i guess. 

Infiniti Q70 - is using 3.7 V6 ... nice engine, but hefty roadtax and consumption wont be good. Anyway, If i go for Infiniti, i will wait for their new highly acclaimed VC-T engine http://www.roadandtrack.com/new-cars/car-technology/news/a30392/infiniti-vc-t-variable-compression-turbo/

Mazda CX5 - premium?

Mazda 6 - premium ?

Lexus GS - Yes, this is comparable. but the interior is, ... well, a glorified toyota. The only worthy comparison to the Germans i guess.

Infiniti Q70 - is using 3.7 V6 ... nice engine, but hefty roadtax and consumption wont be good. Anyway, If i go for Infiniti, i will wait for their new highly acclaimed VC-T engine http://www.roadandtrack.com/new-cars/car-technology/news/a30392/infiniti-vc-t-variable-compression-turbo/

Mazda CX5 - premium?

I think GS is a good lexus car. Good handling compared to the rest

Mazda u might think the price is not premium but i feel the interior and handling match premium cars

Sorry my mistake.  It should be IL4.

Missed the word "Premium". But in my opinion, I prefer Honda CRV (current model) over Mazda CX5, after traveling in both recently.

If premium is what you are focusing on, have to be Lexus: IS, ES, GS & NX. RX priced too close to German liao. Infiniti Q50 (with Mercs 2.0T engine) is another one worth considering.

Mazda chassis is now better than Honda.

But Honda engine is better than Mazda. 

Anyway, Mazda feels like a more solid car than Honda. 

In the premium sector, only Lexus is the jap alternative. Infiniti design is an acquired taste and used too many Nissan parts. But i prefer Infiniti interior to Lexus'. 

Differentiation of Lexus and Toyota is like Audi and VW. There is still some differentiation.

Infiniti and Nissan share too many visible components. More differentiation is required.

The thing is, if i were to pay the same price for all these cars, why would i pay for a glorified toyota, nissan or VW, when i can get an exclusive MB or BMW? 

I think GS is a good lexus car. Good handling compared to the rest

Mazda u might think the price is not premium but i feel the interior and handling match premium cars

Mazda handling yes. interior no. 

Mazda chassis is now better than Honda.

But Honda engine is better than Mazda. 

Anyway, Mazda feels like a more solid car than Honda. 

In the premium sector, only Lexus is the jap alternative. Infiniti design is an acquired taste and used too many Nissan parts. But i prefer Infiniti interior to Lexus'. 

Differentiation of Lexus and Toyota is like Audi and VW. There is still some differentiation.

Infiniti and Nissan share too many visible components. More differentiation is required.

The thing is, if i were to pay the same price for all these cars, why would i pay for a glorified toyota, nissan or VW, when i can get an exclusive MB or BMW? 

Mazda handling yes. interior no. 

Lexus NX confirm chop much better built than Toyota RAV4. But price might be a little close to the out going X3 & Q5.

I agreed Mazda has improve alot from the previous generation (Mazda 6 especially), but the built quality is no where near a real premium yet, imo. Like my dad used to do previously, I am now also hearing the door closing sound and feeling the quietness in an enclosure cabin whenever I visit a show room, sign of getting old liao...