PSLE T score replaced by banding

Showster

We are looking for a perfect system to grade our children. If we continue to change Minister for education faster, we will achieve that perfect system sooner. Then we patent it to sell. At least we have some new innovation to sell.

Hopefully when the system comes on board in 2021, our parents, children and educators would be equipped and ready for the new bands ....

Anyway, don't put too much pressure on our children.... Let him grow and glow while we guide them on more important social, and moral grounds ...

Don't think every parent will happy. As long there is psle and certain schools are deemed more elite, there will be stress and tuitions.

No matter what is implemented, some will be happy, some will feel hard done by, depending on their unique circumstances. No system will be able to please everyone.

Take the example of my daughter who is in RGS Year 3. For her PSLE she scored 3 A*  and 1A (for her Chinese). Her T-score was good enough for any school she wants and she was also awarded the EESIS scholarship which is worth $14400 ($2400 per year for 6 years). She is currently doing very well in RGS and is considered the cream of the crop. [scholar]

However, under the new system, she would probably have 5 points and miss out on the top schools as there will be many 4 pointers applying. Will she have as many chances to shine under another school? Will she be eligible for EESIS? Would a parent of a child with similar ability now concentrate on Chinese ( double or triple tuition )? [:(]

Hopefully when the system comes on board in 2021, our parents, children and educators would be equipped and ready for the new bands ....

Anyway, don't put too much pressure on our children.... Let him grow and glow while we guide them on more important social, and moral grounds ...

My daughter will be the 1st batch for this new system. I am not too concern. I will apply the same coaching I gave to my son.. Nothing change for how I will guide her.

No matter what is implemented, some will be happy, some will feel hard done by, depending on their unique circumstances. No system will be able to please everyone.

Take the example of my daughter who is in RGS Year 3. For her PSLE she scored 3 A*  and 1A (for her Chinese). Her T-score was good enough for any school she wants and she was also awarded the EESIS scholarship which is worth $14400 ($2400 per year for 6 years). She is currently doing very well in RGS and is considered the cream of the crop. [scholar]

However, under the new system, she would probably have 5 points and miss out on the top schools as there will be many 4 pointers applying. Will she have as many chances to shine under another school? Will she be eligible for EESIS? Would a parent of a child with similar ability now concentrate on Chinese ( double or triple tuition )? [:(]

I'd be interested to see how RG / RI / NUSH / HCI / AC set their requirements; probably 4 for direct entry and 5 ballot. 

In reality, any student who gets about 255(?) will get the Edusave scholarship, no need to be 267.  [laugh]

I'd be interested to see how RG / RI / NUSH / HCI / AC set their requirements; probably 4 for direct entry and 5 ballot. 

In reality, any student who gets about 255(?) will get the Edusave scholarship, no need to be 267.  [laugh]

The school don't set the requirement. The cut off point is the past was determined by the demand for the school and by merits. It's all centralized at MOE.  

Only in DSA then the school have alot of say in how they want to select their students.

Still grading what ... what is going to be the difference ?

I was the last batch that did not have any score for the PSLE. All we get was a slip informing which Secondary school that we are reporting to.

We had brilliant, average and bad kids all in the same school and we learnt from each other. Noone compare results, what class. we are just happy to be in school. The 4 years in my secondary school were the next years in my life.

i think its very likely that parents see only the band...  whilst the schools can see the finer breakdown during enrollment? 

i think i think 

I also think can achieve 4 point is a great achievement, already top 10% . Just that with T score, certain schools are taking in top 1% only.

Last time I got class mate score 4A but only score 220. Got people 4A is 270

Question is. A 220 4A now can join school with cut off ponint 250. Can they cope with the same stress and demand?

Edited by Joseph22

do top academic achievers generally do well in the private sector?

quite a few retired at young age in Buangkok resort   :D

no more T-score?

so they do away with the mean and medium, and the mark you can won't be affect by the average? i think like that more fair liao.

They got a head start in mnc.

recently a 1st class honours from NUS with a few years experience was hired by 1 of my colleagues

maybe my expectations too high

:ph34r:  [lipsrsealed]

recently a 1st class honours from NUS with a few years experience was hired by 1 of my colleagues

maybe my expectations too high

:ph34r:[lipsrsealed]

U got compare to lower class of same batch?

most of the time there is different.

Question is. A 220 4A now can join school with cut off ponint 250. Can they cope with the same stress and demand?

last time the A stretches from 75-90 marks.

A* is only 91 and above.

Got big difference leh.

270 is likely 4A*.   I know your point even  though your example is abit extreme.. But a borderline 4 pointer is nevertheless an 90+ above. Can cope lah, just that now they have a shot now at the top school.. Also means if a student gets perfect score for all papers, he may get ballot out of the top school. Fair? I have no comment.

Edited by Ender