BPL 16/17 - The Exciting Season Begins Part 1

Maxus-MIFA9

Really disappointed with Spurs losing at home for the 2nd time in the UCL n now they are in danger of not progressing to the k/o stages n worse still they might drop into UEL which will severely hamper their hopes of getting into top 4. Is it the Wembley curse which seems to plague English teams in Europe at aruguably the home of football? I don't quite believe in such things but afterwhile this kind of myth becomes a truth if it's repeated.

Happier for Leicester as they are almost through but hope they can finish top to avoid a group winner. I wish the English UEL teams good luck for tonite!!

On a separate note, reading Messi getting into a tunnel scuffle with a City player the previous night n heated words exchanged. Would love to see him play his trade in EPL to settle this argument if he really is the best player in the World n Neymar as well. After all CR7 n Suarez has already played in England. If not mistaken, his goal against City was his first against an EPL team(I could be wrong on this).

Yep... disappointed about the 2nd loss at Wembley by the Spuds... hopefully they can take this loss on their chin and binge on some lasagne before their next game... a flowing Spuds team is good for EPL... but here's hoping they will only start flowing after the Sunday's game

You may have your opinion which I will respect and I'm not saying EPL is the ultimate testing ground. All I'm saying is that it's a test of one's capabilities if you are able to play in different Leagues and still produce the goods. Suarez and CR7 have played in 3 different Leagues at least whereas Messi has played only in 1 that's my point and if he continues his goal scoring records in EPL then he can truly claim to be the best there is though he may not be interested in doing so.

The best players in the World challenge themselves and sometimes they even move clubs if they feel they have done everything there is and to me that's a mark of a top player. Being complacent in your comfort zone is easy which many of the English players are also guilty of as well cos not many challenge themselves to venture to other Leagues and that's why we can applaud Bale for moving to a different league with the language and culture differences.

Yes Messi may have nothing to prove as far as he is concerned but if I were him I would challenge myself in other environments for professional pride and fulfillment if nothing else, my 2 cents.

Bro, say from young, you suffered some medical problem and many people all concluded that you won't make it in your chosen profession. Then come this company who see something in you and paid for all your medical treatment and you become successful and working for the company for years.

Will you ever think about leaving to work elsewhere just because others feel that you need to do that to prove your worth? Bear in mind that the company is treating you very very well and you are probably going to take massive pay cut if you move.

For me, I will serve the company till the day I retire. The only thing I want to prove, is I know how to repay kindness with loyalty.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/luis-suarez-explains-difference-between-7361879

http://www.soccerladuma.co.za/news/articles/categories/messi-ronaldo-neymar-watch-1/cristiano-ronaldo-explains-difference-between-premier-league-la-lga/223070

http://www.insidefutbol.com/2016/04/26/mauricio-pochettino-assesses-difference-between-la-liga-and-premier-league/282867/

http://www.the42.ie/mourino-talks-la-liga-premier-league-2111724-May2015/

Is EPL the best, i don't think so... is it the most demanding, yes i think... just because it is more competitive....

which, in my opinion, means you have to be close to 100% for all games... while in La Liga, Barca does not have to be at their best for most games... the last interview by mourhino says its all...

Messi may be the best technical player and he does not have anything to prove about that..... but can he survive the EPL and playing at 100% at all times? not too sure about that

agree

My point of proving he's the best player in the World is to play in different environments. Why I mention EPL is because it's played in a different way compare to Liga and that's my point. Whether EPL is the best in the World is subjective and we all have our opinions so won't go into a argument on this. 

I got it wrong on his first goal against EPL club but fact remains his scoring record against the EPL teams is nowhere near against teams from other Leagues and that's why I would strive to prove this record wrong if I were him but maybe that's me.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/luis-suarez-explains-difference-between-7361879

http://www.soccerladuma.co.za/news/articles/categories/messi-ronaldo-neymar-watch-1/cristiano-ronaldo-explains-difference-between-premier-league-la-lga/223070

http://www.insidefutbol.com/2016/04/26/mauricio-pochettino-assesses-difference-between-la-liga-and-premier-league/282867/

http://www.the42.ie/mourino-talks-la-liga-premier-league-2111724-May2015/

Is EPL the best, i don't think so... is it the most demanding, yes i think... just because it is more competitive....

which, in my opinion, means you have to be close to 100% for all games... while in La Liga, Barca does not have to be at their best for most games... the last interview by mourhino says its all...

Messi may be the best technical player and he does not have anything to prove about that..... but can he survive the EPL and playing at 100% at all times? not too sure about that

agree

Yes, no one can say for sure how will he fare in EPL. My point is, he need not come to EPL to prove to the world that he is one of the greatest players of our generation.

So far how do Gunner fans rate Ozil and Sanchez? Are they able to be 100% all the time?

Edited by Osprey23

Bro, say from young, you suffered some medical problem and many people all concluded that you won't make it in your chosen profession. Then come this company who see something in you and paid for all your medical treatment and you become successful and working for the company for years.

Will you ever think about leaving to work elsewhere just because others feel that you need to do that to prove your worth? Bear in mind that the company is treating you very very well and you are probably going to take massive pay cut if you move.

For me, I will serve the company till the day I retire. The only thing I want to prove, is I know how to repay kindness with loyalty.

You got a point on this and yes I've read Barca paid for his medical treatments and agreed there is some loyalty owed by him to Barca, this I fully understand and respect. 

I'm just posting from a sporting view point and maybe it is unfair to compare him with CR7 and Suarez given the circumstances but as I said it would be good to see if his silky skills can withstand the different challenges EPL poses which was the point I was trying to make in the first place.

By the way, I think Messi has more than paid back what Barca has paid for his treatment but that's another matter altogether.

Yes, no one can say for sure how will he fare in EPL. My point is, he need not come to EPL to prove to the world that he is one of the greatest players of our generation.

So far how do Gunner fans rate Ozil and Sanchez? Are they able to be 100% all the time?

sanchez was at udinese while ozil was at werder bremen before barca and RM

and messi was at?

that being said, ozil seems to dip in the 2nd half of season so far for arsenal....

sanchez too...

partly due to the lack of winter break too... 

you think messi can adapt?

and if ballon dÓr is taken seriously , ozil and sanchez is not inside... so yes they not performing as well as when they were in spain.... lol

My point of proving he's the best player in the World is to play in different environments. Why I mention EPL is because it's played in a different way compare to Liga and that's my point. Whether EPL is the best in the World is subjective and we all have our opinions so won't go into a argument on this. 

I got it wrong on his first goal against EPL club but fact remains his scoring record against the EPL teams is nowhere near against teams from other Leagues and that's why I would strive to prove this record wrong if I were him but maybe that's me.

peng... i am for you and not against you leh... simi argument...

Edited by Galantspeedz

sanchez was at udinese while ozil was at werder bremen before barca and RM

and messi was at?

that being said, ozil seems to dip in the 2nd half of season so far for arsenal....

sanchez too...

partly due to the lack of winter break too...

you think messi can adapt?

and if ballon dÓr is taken seriously , ozil and sanchez is not inside... so yes they not performing as well as when they were in spain.... lol

Differently players progress in the career differently but I personally do not think by staying and growing with one single club makes them a lesser player.

No one can say for sure but I don't see why not. Physically we see how Silva is adapting at City. If you don't have the size, you need to be more agile and think quicker. Messi being a forward do not really need to fight with defenders in terms of physic unless he choose to join a direct style playing team. If Messi joins Arsenal under Wenger, I am confident he can adapt.

Differently players progress in the career differently but I personally do not think by staying and growing with one single club makes them a lesser player.

No one can say for sure but I don't see why not. Physically we see how Silva is adapting at City. If you don't have the size, you need to be more agile and think quicker. Messi being a forward do not really need to fight with defenders in terms of physic unless he choose to join a direct style playing team. If Messi joins Arsenal under Wenger, I am confident he can adapt.

I agree it will not make you a lesser player, it just make it harder to judge if you are the best player in the world... lol

Not sure if messi can adapt but I know jose antonio reyes failed to adapt

Even ronaldo mentioned easier to go from epl to la liga rather than la liga to epl

peng... i am for you and not against you leh... simi argument...

No lah not argument against you but argument whether EPL is the best League in the World.

Quite a few of you feel EPL is not the best League in the World whilst I feel it is based on various factors which makes it more challenging but as I said since it's subjective, let's leave it as that, cheers!

I agree it will not make you a lesser player, it just make it harder to judge if you are the best player in the world... lol

Not sure if messi can adapt but I know jose antonio reyes failed to adapt

Even ronaldo mentioned easier to go from epl to la liga rather than la liga to epl

Switching to another league never easy but I feel top players usually stand a higher chance.

Some coaches shared with me before. Technical ability, physical strength, stamina, positioning, all these can be trained or coached. However, game intelligence aka football brain and mental strength cannot. It is these traits that differentiate the best from the rest.

Switching to another league never easy but I feel top players usually stand a higher chance.

Some coaches shared with me before. Technical ability, physical strength, stamina, positioning, all these can be trained or coached. However, game intelligence aka football brain and mental strength cannot. It is these traits that differentiate the best from the rest.

agree.... football brain messi sure have..... mental strength... not so sure liao....

new league, new country, new language, new girls.... oops...... lol

My 2 cents. 

Football is a team game. To insist there is a best player in the world is a philosophical debate. 

Precisely because it is a team game, the success of the team falls sqaurely on the manager. It is the manager's responsibility to ensure that the team is greater than the sum of its individuals. He has to find a shape that works, given his team. Conte and Klopp have done very well for now. 

Messi's Barcelona team is built around him. He is expected to conserve energy and walks around the pitch for the most part when barcelona dont have the ball. Occasionally he will do a bit of harrying, but typically, you would consider him lazy. Suarez is the perfect foil, doing all that harrassment on his behalf. Before him it was Alexis Sanchez/Pedro, who are practically slightly diminished versions of suarez.

Messi would do well in BPL if he had the right manager, who can play him the right way. His talents are for all to see. Just need to find a way to use him to its maximum effect. 

With right manager and right team mates, good players can perform one notch above their level

If want to talk about most talented then have to look for players who are not team players. They win games on their own and can even be too lazy to train hard simply because they don't need to.

They are brilliant but usually fans will not Iike cos deemed to be too self fish or disruptive to the team

Ridiculously F*@k Up!

Yes I agree

What kinda fine is 50k to a man who makes 7m

Absurd!

Just watched the 2nd half of MC - WBA game.

After Gundogan replaced si gina, he scored 2 clinical goals. He's more decisive than Nolito in front of goal.

Good to see them ditched habitual 2 touch football and went for more one touch quick push up front.

Looking forward to catch how they beat barca at home...

Only managed to watch part of the 2nd half...MC was lucky not concede the 2nd goal but was darned lucky to have the 3rd goal allowed. Kun clearly touched the ball with his arm...he's guilty about it thus joined the team late for celebration.

Barca can only blame themselves for letting MC so much space to play between their own defensive and MF lines. Silva had so much room to play like Messi...

No bite from Barca trio, literally even Suarez.

Messi nvr win world cup or copa... simi best player.. [lipsrsealed]

We all have different benchmarks to measure greatness, I've heard of this version of Messi not winning a major trophy for his country counting against his greatness.

My benchmark is proving himself in a different environment and still sustaining his level. Why I chose EPL is because it has different challenges viz a viz the other European leagues ie no winter break, more physical, unkind weather, intensity etc. The EPL has more even teams so you can't rest on your laurels in most of the games. 

Anyway, subjective as always so feel free to disagree, cheers!