Anyone remember this?

Little_prince

i admit... and on those ah lians always use this brand one.. 

IMG_7201-copy-428x641.jpg

anyone else remember?  [:p]

not kipling meh? that time the long arm gorilla also damn in wan leh

ahem ahem 

clear throat clear throat

moi recent photo ...

:XD:

dun bruff... that pic looks aged.

this one more recent. no?

drag-john-travolta.jpg

not kipling meh? that time the long arm gorilla also damn in wan leh

kipling still have ppl use now mah...  last ah lians also love to use ferragamo hair clips like this

27434212b76250f5e267c96a95c839bbe3278b41

wats nostalgic are those things u rarely see anymore liao..

tell me.. when was the last time u see anyone use sonia?   [laugh]

ps.. i cant rem how many i promised to buy for... but damn sure i only bot ONE!  sibei expensive lor... 

Edited by SuPerBoRed

Last time Marina South got Dragon and Executive HC. 

The best in Singapore.

my time no Marina South  :D

si ginna , so young go Marina south do what hur  :omg:

Last time marina south very ulu de.

Ya lor , @Weez911 so young go there catch monkey already ......  [lipsrsealed]  :D

and maybe met @chowyunfatt  :grin: pak toring

that time they got check your IC or not first :secret-laugh:

mata lai........ teng ki...teng ki!

my time no Marina South :D

si ginna , so young go Marina south do what hur :omg:

marina south if have own transport shiok. Got seafood...got 24hrs bowling (superbowl and classic bowl) and paktor. Before that play all the corners and go back to do a few more rounds maciam going to race track...

Some go Marina South jiak steamboat, some go Tanjong Rhu find chow ah gua.

carry water bottle in right hand and sling bag on left shoulder.....meaning can kaotim...

Forgotten icons of the ah beng/ah lian culture of 80s/90s that I fondly recall:

1) Ah bengs with combs with long sharp pointed ends and must stick out prominently from the back jeans pocket

2) Jean Paul Gaultier(JPG) long wallet and is over sized which also have to stick out prominently from the back jeans pocket

3) Motorola pagers with the must have accessories of gold chain with clip and the color full bells-

4) Numeric codes sent to pagers during ah beng/ah lian courtship, e.g: 5211314(love you forever)

5) The reign of pagers lasted less then 5 years and was quickly over taken by the mobile phone where motorola startec clam-shell phone was   one of the few standard models that ah bengs would carry, as well as a few favorites from nokia. LED lighted antenna and LED stickers all   light up with incoming/outgoing call signals. soon the trend of modified phones caught on, with changing of the phone cover to transparent/gold/printed covers popular, as well as adding LED lights inside the phone to compliment the transparent cover.

6) Sparks, Fire Disco, Canto etc all did see their hay days as long Qs form for tea dance session as these did not have age restrictions

7) Once an anthem for any dance session was the song "Infinity" by Datura : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37iS3_EQm5A

More nostalgic dance session music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAqHfATmL9I&list=PLy2NAkYwzGF2_YGAmVzroE_VRH42K_BUR

8) Chanting of secret society slogans as taunts was common during those dance sessions and are the precursor to starting of fights. Aw-ah-aw!! Yo-ah-Yo!!

9) Early beng/lian fashion culture was very heavily skewed towards excessive brand associations where Valentino, Armani, Vesace, Boss, JPG were the uniforms that every self respecting beng/lian would have. Jeans will have loud prints in loud colors such as bright yellow/red. The girls trench-coat fed last for a while with its signature black trench-coat/dress with a contrasting shiny belt in either white, red or yellow tied tightly around the waist with the dress pulled snugly down to clearly define the chest.

10)The fashion culture soon changed in the 90s as the "grunge"  look caught on, with brands like stussy, criss cross, aliens, quicky silver fighting with the high end brands to be the default fashion code. 77th street was instrumental in the culture shift and they also successfully started the Doc Martins boots craze.

I hope you enjoy the trip down memory lane...

We're probably from the same era. Could relate to everything you mentioned here. Those were really fun and memorable days before the digital age took over.
Human interactions were more personal then.

And we had this... "xiang kar pager...?"

a-public-phone-at-chai-chee.jpg?w=640

And before we had mobile phones...

public-phone-booth-at-the-junction-of-or

Buses were also all natural then... [laugh]  [laugh]

7396960120_6437975d09_z.jpg

Edited by Mason016

but all of you are so young ginna pis... 

last time i rowed my sampan out to sea from the ship repair docks to watch sunrise and sunset at tanjong rhu

but all of you are so young ginna pis... 

last time i rowed my sampan out to sea from the ship repair docks to watch sunrise and sunset at tanjong rhu

This was the 1970's!!!

My 60+ years old ang mo colleague always tell me stories abt his time at Tanjong Rhu shipyard!!!

hqdefault.jpg

My this ang mo colleague had a "banging" good time in SG last time. Bugis street was his hangout. He is Scottish but has resided to Thailand. Thailand is his home. Had a thai wife who cheated on him and threw him out of the condo he bought. Many stories one. [laugh]

Ya i remember that there's a cheap steamboat there.  I tot ah gua was at Changi Point?

Forgotten icons of the ah beng/ah lian culture of 80s/90s that I fondly recall:

1) Ah bengs with combs with long sharp pointed ends and must stick out prominently from the back jeans pocket

2) Jean Paul Gaultier(JPG) long wallet and is over sized which also have to stick out prominently from the back jeans pocket

3) Motorola pagers with the must have accessories of gold chain with clip and the color full bells-

4) Numeric codes sent to pagers during ah beng/ah lian courtship, e.g: 5211314(love you forever)

5) The reign of pagers lasted less then 5 years and was quickly over taken by the mobile phone where motorola startec clam-shell phone was   one of the few standard models that ah bengs would carry, as well as a few favorites from nokia. LED lighted antenna and LED stickers all   light up with incoming/outgoing call signals. soon the trend of modified phones caught on, with changing of the phone cover to transparent/gold/printed covers popular, as well as adding LED lights inside the phone to compliment the transparent cover.

6) Sparks, Fire Disco, Canto etc all did see their hay days as long Qs form for tea dance session as these did not have age restrictions

7) Once an anthem for any dance session was the song "Infinity" by Datura : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37iS3_EQm5A

More nostalgic dance session music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xAqHfATmL9I&list=PLy2NAkYwzGF2_YGAmVzroE_VRH42K_BUR

8) Chanting of secret society slogans as taunts was common during those dance sessions and are the precursor to starting of fights. Aw-ah-aw!! Yo-ah-Yo!!

9) Early beng/lian fashion culture was very heavily skewed towards excessive brand associations where Valentino, Armani, Vesace, Boss, JPG were the uniforms that every self respecting beng/lian would have. Jeans will have loud prints in loud colors such as bright yellow/red. The girls trench-coat fed last for a while with its signature black trench-coat/dress with a contrasting shiny belt in either white, red or yellow tied tightly around the waist with the dress pulled snugly down to clearly define the chest.

10)The fashion culture soon changed in the 90s as the "grunge"  look caught on, with brands like stussy, criss cross, aliens, quicky silver fighting with the high end brands to be the default fashion code. 77th street was instrumental in the culture shift and they also successfully started the Doc Martins boots craze.

I hope you enjoy the trip down memory lane...

Ya Ya.  I was a member at Fire and Sparks too.  I also frequent Europa and Zanadu.  Whahahahahahaha.  We are from same era.