KIA Stinger GT

Jzachlee

Was reading a few of the reviews re how the Stinger's performance compares.

From a purely numbers perspective, the 3.3L is equivalent to the C-class AMG43 (List price S$320k), Audi S5 (S$315k) and better than the BMW 440i Gran Coupe (S$293k).

Pretty decent badge arbitrage if it comes in at $170k-190k.

The C43 comp is probably a problem for C&C ... Probably also the reason my C&C SE keeps telling me not to go for the 3.3L (i.e. 2.0 is enough power, 3.3L is hard to sell later etc etc).

OT bit

Assuming the 3.3L Stinger is at 17.5k depre

A COE renewed base 911 at 19k depre

A COE renewed GTR at 16k depre

And you can afford the maintenance costs and FC

Which will you choose?

OT bit

Assuming the 3.3L Stinger is at 17.5k depre

A COE renewed base 911 at 19k depre

A COE renewed GTR at 16k depre

And you can afford the maintenance costs and FC

Which will you choose?

That's a good question. Tough one. 

For me, if its a second car, probably would [marginally] rank the GTR first, and the base 911 second (on the basis of raw performance), then the Stinger.  But tough one, owning a 911 has kind of a bucket list type of appeal. 

If I am using it as the family car, then probably the Stinger makes more sense. 

I think it's because the badge is really ugly, so change for aesthetic purposes.

Not so much of malu.

I will still maintain the KIA DNA but change the Kia logo..

Kia means Kia...

Cannot run away,.

That's a good question. Tough one.

For me, if its a second car, probably would [marginally] rank the GTR first, and the base 911 second (on the basis of raw performance), then the Stinger. But tough one, owning a 911 has kind of a bucket list type of appeal.

If I am using it as the family car, then probably the Stinger makes more sense.

Same thoughts too.

Let's hope the 3.3L goes for 16k depre and below. That will be likely a no brainer then

If more & more suggest 150k as reasonable, and some prepared to pay more, then KIA-SG may well set 150k as minimum for lowest specc'd option. LOL..

The reviews seem to suggest that the Genesis G70 is a "better" car in terms of performance & comfort.. except smaller, less sporty looking, and likely more expensive?

I was reading some reviews out of Europe. For tax, car emissions reasons, the Stinger is actually more expensive than the equivalent unit from Audi/BMW/Merc ie the Stinger 2.0 is 15% more expensive than the BMW 430i in Netherlands.

Makes it a pretty tough sell in Europe, I imagine.

In Singapore/Australia/US, we get 430i performance for base-ish 3 series pricing, it's pretty compelling (despite the badge/history considerations). Can't imagine Kia moving many units in Europe with that pricing dynamic.

https://www.autoblog.nl/nieuws/lease-maar-bmw-430i-of-kia-stinger-103001

Edited by Fungyee77

That will be 15x. Not bad not bad

But ppl here won't wanna pay $150-160k for ugly badge Korean sedan lah no matter how good. Ppl thought i siao when I paid $170k for my Sorento turbodiesel last time.....LOL

We have to admit that the Stinger wont be selling in any huge numbers. We won't want it too.

It will only appeal to a small, exclusive, specialist clientele group who appreciate the qualities of the car, ie, the forummers subscribed to this thread  [laugh] 

My attention is fully switched from the Giulia Veloce to this and the G70. At least I know which would be more reliable. Haha!

You are siao ma.

Car siao...haha...nothing wrong.

We have to admit that the Stinger wont be selling in any huge numbers. We won't want it too.

It will only appeal to a small, exclusive, specialist clientele group who appreciate the qualities of the car, ie, the forummers subscribed to this thread [laugh]

My attention is fully switched from the Giulia Veloce to this and the G70. At least I know which would be more reliable. Haha!

Like it or not, ppl here will compare the stinker to a camry and it'll look massively overpriced. Just like how ppl compare the X-Trail or Outlander to the Sorento and say expensive coz in their mind, kimchi must cost less than sushi. Notwithstanding the fact that OMV is much higher and that's it's a world class product

But perceptions are changing, and buyers of the Stinger/G70 will lead this change!

20 years ago, the Sephia was a cut-price ex-Mazda that sells for a cheaper price than a Proton. Today the K3 is a Corolla competitor. Kimchi is already widely accepted in Europeans who are used to fish&chips, frankfurters, meatballs and pizzas. Same in hamburger land. At this rate, kimchi will soon become a delicacy  [:p] 

Edited by Toeknee_33

But perceptions are changing, and buyers of the Stinger/G70 will lead this change!

20 years ago, the Sephia was a cut-price ex-Mazda that sells for a cheaper price than a Proton. Today it is a Corolla competitor. Kimchi is already widely accepted in Europeans who are used to fish&chips, frankfurters, meatballs and pizzas. Same in hamburger land. At this rate, kimchi will soon become a delicacy [:p]

Once we worshipped everything jeepun. Even J-Pop music (tho we dun understand fark they were singing). But that's considered passe liao

Now everything kimchi in vogue. K-Pop rules (tho we still dun understand fark they singing)

But when it come to cars, ppl still seem to prefer J-Pop to K-Pop. Why ah?

Once we worshipped everything jeepun. Even J-Pop music (tho we dun understand fark they were singing). But that's considered passe liao

Now everything kimchi in vogue. K-Pop rules (tho we still dun understand fark they singing)

But when it come to cars, ppl still seem to prefer J-Pop to K-Pop. Why ah?

Perhaps when the K-poppers come of age and about to buy their own cars, they will not be adverse to buying kimchi unlike their parents who grew up eating sushi and still think its a very healthy diet.

It will only appeal to a small, exclusive, specialist clientele group who appreciate the qualities of the car, ie, the forummers subscribed to this thread [laugh]

Why not the Veloce?

post-1798-0-40414300-1508402110_thumb.jpeg