COE Bidding – 2nd Round of August 2017

Carbon82

depends on what is the parf? Also, CAT-A or B? And if renew, go for 10 years. Who knows how COE will trend? What if 2 years into your renewal, COE starts to go towards 100k mark again? You will be caught having a 2-3 years COE tenure.

10 years or brand new with equivalent annual depre for me. Not sure what other will think.

Hi my car mileage is more than 130,000 and due end sep. I travel more than 70km on weekdays. Car condition is ok. I will certainly need a car. Would like to seek advice if is wiser to renew a 5yr coe and get a new car later or get a new one now. Will coe be cheaper in the next few yrs?

depends on what is the parf? Also, CAT-A or B? And if renew, go for 10 years. Who knows how COE will trend? What if 2 years into your renewal, COE starts to go towards 100k mark again? You will be caught having a 2-3 years COE tenure.

10 years or brand new with equivalent annual depre for me. Not sure what other will think.

Thanks for yr advice. Currently, PARF barely $7k. Looking at Cat A. Say new car Altis most basic model. How do I calculate the depn to compare renew or buy new car?

I wont disagree that COE may drop further but it will only be for CAT A ,and if any, it will not drop too much.

CAT B has lesser influence from PHV, so regardless PHVs have excess car or not, there would be no impact to CAT B COE price. This is fact.

The recent CAT B slight decline seems to be due to lack of new model in that range to attract buying interest. This is my personal view.

Hope cat B don't go too high.

If go too high,those cat B buyer will come to cat A and push up again.

Edited by Sktan10

Thanks for yr advice. Currently, PARF barely $7k. Looking at Cat A. Say new car Altis most basic model. How do I calculate the depn to compare renew or buy new car?

Based on current PQP, your renewal is 5.8k/yr for 5 yr renewal. Lower if you go 10 provided you finished the 10 but it does provide flexibility in terms of scrapping for new car.

Why go for Altis? K3 probably cost you slight more than 7k/yr for the lowest trim. Renewal will cost you more in terms of maintenance, road tax, inspection but if added up, it does not seems economical if you compare it to the cheapest car it will cost you such as a Bezza.

But you decide by doing your maths

Someone bets with me that trying to ask car owners to give up their cars is like going into mbs/rws and ask people to quit gambling, or asking smokers to quit smoking

So did I just lost the bet?

Anyone wanna give up their car won't come to car forum leh..

are u right on your mind not?

But someone who is still schooling can come over here to be fruit tart for a day :)

Spending $ helps the economy. If everybody spend the minimum (even if he can afford it) it does no good to the economy. If nobody spend anything, the economy will be at a standstill. So spending is good and right. Having said that, one must still do his sum on affordability, necessity and his circumstances (work, family with special needs member etc) . So let those who can afford, spend what they deemed necessary, required or purely `spend for the sake of it'. If spending on big ticket item is uncomfortable (even if he can afford it) it is, alright as well. He earns his money and he gets to decide what to do with it. Just make sure spend within one's means and contribute to the economy.

Different school of thought again. The poor will think differently as the rich, via versa

Example a poor or stingy will think a bowel of rich is good enough for survival but the rich will prefer an atas fine dinning to enjoy life

However, It is uncalled to call others that are not belonging to his same group as idiot

Reference to your line as bolded.

Isn't that the same thing that you are well known for in this forum, earning you the reputation of a petty, narrow-minded and annoying self-righteous sod?

And also the same reason why you got banned in the first place - so come off your high horse and stop the hypocrisy.

This just like Throttle2 reminding others that being humble is a virtue to be cultivated.  [laugh]

Spending $ helps the economy. If everybody spend the minimum (even if he can afford it) it does no good to the economy. If nobody spend anything, the economy will be at a standstill. So spending is good and right. Having said that, one must still do his sum on affordability, necessity and his circumstances (work, family with special needs member etc) . So let those who can afford, spend what they deemed necessary, required or purely `spend for the sake of it'. If spending on big ticket item is uncomfortable (even if he can afford it) it is, alright as well. He earns his money and he gets to decide what to do with it. Just make sure spend within one's means and contribute to the economy.

Just glad there are people who think like you. I rest well knowing there are those who are willing to weather the shocks while I plan my finances carefully

Thank you for helping the rest of us.

Just glad there are people who think like you. I rest well knowing there are those who are willing to weather the shocks while I plan my finances carefully

Thank you for helping the rest of us.

Happy for you.

Isn't that the same thing that you are well known for in this forum, earning you the reputation of a petty, narrow-minded and annoying self-righteous sod?

And also the same reason why you got banned in the first place - so come off your high horse and stop the hypocrisy.

This just like Throttle2 reminding others that being humble is a virtue to be cultivated. [laugh]

Did i step your tail accidentally without knowing? Why are are haunting me wherever i go these years or did you mistake me for someone else?

Nevertheless, i have never been banned before. If i do, i will not using the same nick so as to let you figure out. lol

This just like Throttle2 reminding others that being humble is a virtue to be cultivated. [laugh]

I wonder whether can you get banned instead by doing personal attack here

LTA feeds on ghouls like him.. thank you for contributing to our Nation

And you have to resort to calling other people names to prove your point?

having excess inventory in Prius or PHV vehicles may not necessary have direct impact on COE unless there is only one car model in Singapore - Prius. The excess Prius means the model has reached saturation point where demand for the job has weakened.

Someone in LCR will have to take the rap. With VES coming in, getting Prius may be more expensive then than now. So, not sure what they will do with the cars. They may even negotiate with Comfort Delgro to sell them at steep discount since CD is also using the Prius. It will hit Borneo motor more if the deal can go through as I reckon CD buys directly from BM. But will CD buy PI cars? I do not know.

LCR had the case with their PI. I don't think the used car markert absorbed 500-1000 Prius/Altis. CD has less drivers and should also have a lot of cars lying around. They are better off scrapping and return the COE to us  [thumbsup]

Edited by GerryChua

Just to have a scale of things for those waiting for 35K COE, which is a drop of 7k from current levels. The ADs may drop price by 5K max if that happens.

If that 5-7K makes or breaks a decision to buy a car, then probably one shouldn't even consider owning.

LCR had the case with their PI. I don't think the used car markert absorbed 500-100 Prius/Altis. CD has less drivers and should also have a lot of cars lying around. They are better off scrapping and return the COE to us [thumbsup]

Scrapping these almost new cars seems wasteful. Probably can sell to people in the 2ND hand car market.

I used to think like tmsan. Really. Its true.

Then i realized. Hey. A car is the way I can buy time. Even if in jam. I am also bonding w wife n kid. :)

How else can you use money to buy time?

Maybe for discussion sake. Since tmsan is all about $$$.

Morning i left house later, i buy 30 mins of time n able to eat breakfast w my family.

Evening. I reach home 30mins earlier and play with son

So 1 day I buy 1 hour of time.

I year i buy 250hrs of time.

Assuming car dep is $10k.

I am buying 1 hr of time using $40.

Worth it? I dunno.

But i sure dun wan miss seeing my son growing up moments. N able to sing n laugh when we are in car travelling ard this small island. :)

good one. and honestly buying comfort la. mrt commuters during peak hours damn knn one....see mother holding kid sure can fall asleep st away. ya la i can understand they prob fought very hard for that seat.

also some people's time is worth more per hour ...some $15/hr....some $500/hr :D

so depends on which end of the spectrum you see it from, saving $15 per day and wasting 1 hr of time on public transport vs $500 per day holds different weightage for different people.

Some people just cannot see beyond their well opening. :D

I used to think like tmsan. Really. Its true.

Then i realized. Hey. A car is the way I can buy time. Even if in jam. I am also bonding w wife n kid. :)

How else can you use money to buy time?

Maybe for discussion sake. Since tmsan is all about $$$.
Morning i left house later, i buy 30 mins of time n able to eat breakfast w my family.
Evening. I reach home 30mins earlier and play with son

So 1 day I buy 1 hour of time.
I year i buy 250hrs of time.

Assuming car dep is $10k.

I am buying 1 hr of time using $40.
Worth it? I dunno.
But i sure dun wan miss seeing my son growing up moments. N able to sing n laugh when we are in car travelling ard this small island. :)