Dashing across hump

SGCMHello

It depends on how your car suspension is set up.

If you keep attacking the suspension by going over at high speed, then it will break much sooner.

Lateral or side damage will occur.

My old van lower suspension bushing didn't last long.

These are rubber insert with metal. They do break if you keep hammering on it.

Then you'll have wheel alignment problem, as well as damage to the dampers.

I will always slow down by braking when nearing a hump, and then release the brakes before the front wheels touch the hump. Somehow it gives me an uneasy feeling to have the brake pressurised when going over the hump. If emergency, bo pian.

This is one reason why I will avoid buying a used car if possible.

I'm sure everyone here wants to avoid buying a used car if possible.

Roughly what speed is ok to go over those hump? Some even going at 30+kph still can feel the "pain" of the bone.

Stiffer than usual suspension.

I usually go over hump at 30-40

Roughly what speed is ok to go over those hump? Some even going at 30+kph still can feel the "pain" of the bone.

Don't think there's a concrete number but 30 km/h seems a little fast for typical road humps. Of course, different hump sizes, and the car and suspension types play a big part too.

My dad once drove across a hump really quick (his car uses the airmatic suspension). After the hump I warned him its gonna damage the suspension which he said its nonsense.

Less than 3 mins later a warning message came up about the suspension, total damage 7k to repair  [dead]  next time he took the hump he went much slower  [laugh]

My dad once drove across a hump really quick (his car uses the airmatic suspension). After the hump I warned him its gonna damage the suspension which he said its nonsense.

Less than 3 mins later a warning message came up about the suspension, total damage 7k to repair  [dead]  next time he took the hump he went much slower  [laugh]

hmm...  I saw a lot of Mercs and PHV cars drove across hump without slowing down leh...

If they are on normal spring suspension not so bad I think, but airmatic suspension is notorious for leaking and going over humps quick stresses the air bladder more.

Plus my Lao peh car quite old I wouldn't want to stress anything on that car including the driver  :XD:  

hmm...  I saw a lot of Mercs and PHV cars drove across hump without slowing down leh...

If they are on normal spring suspension not so bad I think, but airmatic suspension is notorious for leaking and going over humps quick stresses the air bladder more.

Plus my Lao peh car quite old I wouldn't want to stress anything on that car including the driver  :XD:  

Don't think there's a concrete number but 30 km/h seems a little fast for typical road humps. Of course, different hump sizes, and the car and suspension types play a big part too.

Humps are used to slow vehicles down to around 15-25km/h, according to google.

Still better to be safe, go slow than to fork out money replacing parts. Haa, my 1 yr old shocks already near broken.  Contemplating whether to change as my dad doesn't approach humps gently.

Still better to be safe, go slow than to fork out money replacing parts. Haa, my 1 yr old shocks already near broken. Contemplating whether to change as my dad doesn't approach humps gently.

Haha better change lah, anything’s related to the wheels cannot play play one :D

Less than 3 mins later a warning message came up about the suspension, total damage 7k to repair [dead] next time he took the hump he went much slower [laugh]

Sounds like a merc S class.even if you don't drive it aggressively, its still go bad.

• Dislike 1

Sounds like a merc S class.even if you don't drive it aggressively, its still go bad.

Haha yeah but I have to admit this model (previous s class) not so bad cost wise, we had a previous boxy model leak oil like crazy.

And the new model has even more gizmos in the suspension my pal dad mounted a curb and the repair bill was in the 5 digit range. Uncle nearly pengz lol

For those bump chiongsters, you need this (around 50 sec mark):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33IvRuOQrrs

Uncles who buy this car Wun opt for the option leh haha

Haha yeah but I have to admit this model (previous s class) not so bad cost wise, we had a previous boxy model leak oil like crazy.

And the new model has even more gizmos in the suspension my pal dad mounted a curb and the repair bill was in the 5 digit range. Uncle nearly pengz lol

Uncles who buy this car Wun opt for the option leh haha

I know of s class owners who go on nshw n on return trip only one air sus bad. So car was tilted on one side. Thank goodness did not flip at highway. I disposed the traction control play a part.

To less than 10km/h.

I very kiasi one.  :D

I know of s class owners who go on nshw n on return trip only one air sus bad. So car was tilted on one side. Thank goodness did not flip at highway. I disposed the traction control play a part.

Yeah that’s the exact issue we had (2nd time) the first time it happen the whole car went so Low couldn’t even clear the first hump outside the house lol

To less than 10km/h.

I very kiasi one. :D

I go about 20 - 30 pending on how high it is :D Edited by Mercury1