13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 1 hour ago, Kxbc said: Morning is damn difficult for me to get started, esp the joint mobility and getting the blood flowing well. The worst bit is getting up 1.5 hours earlier. But I see your reasoning. Just that I can't get it to work for me. Ya lo, even go to work i also need to rush rush. How to wake up earlier just to go for exercise? Lol. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: If you sleep enough, then waking up early to exercise is good. If you don't have enough sleep, waking up early to exercise doesn't make sense IMO (unless u do biphasic sleep or regularly take an afternoon nap). Sleep is the pre eminent modulator of health. So if I'm up earlier than I should be (insomnia), then I will go exercise so as not to waste the day. If I'm sleepy and I am half asleep but just continue to half doze in bed, that rest is more important than any exercise I would be doing otherwise. When i see those people doing exercise very early morning, either they are insomnia or they go sleep very early. In order to have enough sleep and to wake up very early, you have to fall asleep latest by 10pm or earlier. No wonder when i see some of my neighbours who wake up around 5am plus, can see they lights off before 10pm de. Lol. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 16 minutes ago, Kxbc said: I agree. I prioritize sleep/rest over exercise anytime, esp now that I am older. If I have insufficient sleep the night before, 90% of the time I will not even exercise the next day. True, enough sleep/rest is very important for me also. If i did not sleep well or cannot sleep the night before, next day confirm i would not exercise or even drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: If you sleep enough, then waking up early to exercise is good. If you don't have enough sleep, waking up early to exercise doesn't make sense IMO (unless u do biphasic sleep or regularly take an afternoon nap). Sleep is the pre eminent modulator of health. So if I'm up earlier than I should be (insomnia), then I will go exercise so as not to waste the day. If I'm sleepy and I am half asleep but just continue to half doze in bed, that rest is more important than any exercise I would be doing otherwise. I guess I am the exception. When I wake up feeling tired, I feel awake after doing 1hour of cardio. When I wake up feeling tired, I feel tired after I go back to bed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 37 minutes ago, 13177 said: When i see those people doing exercise very early morning, either they are insomnia or they go sleep very early. In order to have enough sleep and to wake up very early, you have to fall asleep latest by 10pm or earlier. No wonder when i see some of my neighbours who wake up around 5am plus, can see they lights off before 10pm de. Lol. You are my neighbour? I sleep at exactly 10pm every night. My wife hates taking me along for parties/gatherings because I will insist on going home early to sleep. So nowadays, I no longer meet her friends and friends’ husbands. She goes by herself and I just tell her be quiet when u come home and don’t wake me up😀 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 51 minutes ago, Kxbc said: I agree. I prioritize sleep/rest over exercise anytime, esp now that I am older. If I have insufficient sleep the night before, 90% of the time I will not even exercise the next day. Old age naturally sleep lesser.. I find my peak of fitness was during when I had insomia phase.. When I can't sleep, i am full of energy, that is why I can do odd hours morning run sometimes. No breakfast no food, and just go or a long run. With fasted morning run, I guess my body was adapted to access the glycogen easily, hence no lack of energy. Now after hyper thyroidism issue, I get my sleep easier,simply my body isn't as fit as before, body easier to get fatigue even with lesser activiites. When the time comes to sleep. I will auto feel tired and want to sleep. Now for the past 7 motnhs, no more odd hour early morning run, coz I am sleeping. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 1 minute ago, Ender said: Old age naturally sleep lesser.. I find my peak of fitness was during when I had insomia phase.. When I can't sleep, i am full of energy, that is why I can do odd hours morning run sometimes. No breakfast no food, and just go or a long run. With fasted morning run, I guess my body was adapted to access the glycogen easily, hence no lack of energy. Now after hyper thyroidism issue, I get my sleep easier,simply my body isn't as fit as before, body easier to get fatigue even with lesser activiites. When the time comes to sleep. I will auto feel tired and want to sleep. Now for the past 7 motnhs, no more odd hour early morning run, coz I am sleeping. I still need 7 hours for best performance. 6.5 hours ok but not desirable. Anything after 7.5 hours, it's either my cat complain or my bladder buay tahan liao. Only had insomnia once during an exam period for 3 nights. Being able to sleep (anywhere) is my key strength. Falling asleep fast (can be as fast as 15 sec) is my other only key strength. 🤣 2 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 17 minutes ago, Loki said: You are my neighbour? I sleep at exactly 10pm every night. My wife hates taking me along for parties/gatherings because I will insist on going home early to sleep. So nowadays, I no longer meet her friends and friends’ husbands. She goes by herself and I just tell her be quiet when u come home and don’t wake me up😀 You are my uncle? Cause i have one uncle also sleep very early de, like 9pm plus, so last time during pre-covid days during family dinner gathering, he cannot stay long, he would go home without my aunt around 8.30am, cause he needs to sleep by 9 plus. Thats why my aunt always complain when she goes holiday with my uncle, she cannot go out too late at night cause my uncle would insist to go back hotel at 8pm which is too early while on holiday liao. 😅 Actually you can still meet your wife's friends etc, can arrange to have an early dinner and go home by 8.30pm lo. Gathering no need must hang until very late night de. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 19 minutes ago, Ender said: Old age naturally sleep lesser.. I find my peak of fitness was during when I had insomia phase.. When I can't sleep, i am full of energy, that is why I can do odd hours morning run sometimes. No breakfast no food, and just go or a long run. With fasted morning run, I guess my body was adapted to access the glycogen easily, hence no lack of energy. Now after hyper thyroidism issue, I get my sleep easier,simply my body isn't as fit as before, body easier to get fatigue even with lesser activiites. When the time comes to sleep. I will auto feel tired and want to sleep. Now for the past 7 motnhs, no more odd hour early morning run, coz I am sleeping. So the change in your sleep pattern is good or no good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 4 minutes ago, 13177 said: You are my uncle? Cause i have one uncle also sleep very early de, like 9pm plus, so last time during pre-covid days during family dinner gathering, he cannot stay long, he would go home without my aunt around 8.30am, cause he needs to sleep by 9 plus. Thats why my aunt always complain when she goes holiday with my uncle, she cannot go out too late at night cause my uncle would insist to go back hotel at 8pm which is too early while on holiday liao. 😅 Actually you can still meet your wife's friends etc, can arrange to have an early dinner and go home by 8.30pm lo. Gathering no need must hang until very late night de. err, I'm ur uncle? we switch off the tv at 8+ and start washing up. by early 9+ will be in bed. my wife and i rarely go out in the evening. 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 14 minutes ago, Kxbc said: I still need 7 hours for best performance. 6.5 hours ok but not desirable. Anything after 7.5 hours, it's either my cat complain or my bladder buay tahan liao. Only had insomnia once during an exam period for 3 nights. Being able to sleep (anywhere) is my key strength. Falling asleep fast (can be as fast as 15 sec) is my other only key strength. 🤣 Being able to sleep anywhere only happened during my army days. And falling asleep fast only during my younger days. These two things no longer happen now liao. Esp if i get stress or think too much for dont know whatsoever reason, i would have problem sleeping well and falling asleep. It is indeed good to have 7 hours or more for best performance and good mood for me. During WFH period, i can get at least 7.5 hours to 8.5 hours, and going to sleep dont feel stress at all and that was my most happiest time in my life. Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 2 minutes ago, Etnt said: err, I'm ur uncle? we switch off the tv at 8+ and start washing up. by early 9+ will be in bed. my wife and i rarely go out in the evening. sometimes 8pm I would just started eating my dinner. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 Just now, Kxbc said: sometimes 8pm I would just started eating my dinner. I'm an early person, so everything also shifted early. wake up before 6, reach office at 7, knock off at 5, dinner by 6, sleep ard 9. Exercise during weekdays is the brisk walk to and fro hawker/eateries during lunch, and catching up on vitamin D. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 2 minutes ago, Etnt said: err, I'm ur uncle? we switch off the tv at 8+ and start washing up. by early 9+ will be in bed. my wife and i rarely go out in the evening. You could be my uncle or also my neighbour? Since i have one neighbour really lights off between 8.30pm to 9.30pm. Hardly can see their lights on after 9.30pm. I was thinking how can they sleep so early? Esp when most nice tv programme usually show between 8pm-10.30pm lo. Also the surrounding neighbourhood still so noisy at that timing, how to fall asleep? Sometimes when i need to wake up at 5am plus due to work, then i need to force myself to go sleep by 9.30pm, but usually could not fall asleep lo, esp still so much noise from the neighbour and the road outside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 4 minutes ago, Etnt said: I'm an early person, so everything also shifted early. wake up before 6, reach office at 7, knock off at 5, dinner by 6, sleep ard 9. Exercise during weekdays is the brisk walk to and fro hawker/eateries during lunch, and catching up on vitamin D. I also dinner by 6 or 6 plus and yet i can only sleep by 11pm or later le. Cause i want to catch up some tv programme and watch the 9pm and 10pm news. So how to sleep by 9? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 5 minutes ago, Etnt said: I'm an early person, so everything also shifted early. wake up before 6, reach office at 7, knock off at 5, dinner by 6, sleep ard 9. Exercise during weekdays is the brisk walk to and fro hawker/eateries during lunch, and catching up on vitamin D. If I have to go office, I wake up close to 7, each around 8.45, knock off after 6, workout when I reach home, dinner at 8, sleep by 12. If WFO, I wake up 7.30, start work 8.30, workout immediately after knock off. But dinner will still be around 7.30 as i will lengthen my workout timing. Still sleep by 12. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 6 minutes ago, 13177 said: You could be my uncle or also my neighbour? Since i have one neighbour really lights off between 8.30pm to 9.30pm. Hardly can see their lights on after 9.30pm. I was thinking how can they sleep so early? Esp when most nice tv programme usually show between 8pm-10.30pm lo. Also the surrounding neighbourhood still so noisy at that timing, how to fall asleep? Sometimes when i need to wake up at 5am plus due to work, then i need to force myself to go sleep by 9.30pm, but usually could not fall asleep lo, esp still so much noise from the neighbour and the road outside. as long as you have a regular sleeping pattern with sufficient sleeping hours and you are functioning fine, then can continue on with it. some people de-stress by watching tv. some by sleeping. some by other means. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic June 13, 2022 Share June 13, 2022 41 minutes ago, Etnt said: err, I'm ur uncle? we switch off the tv at 8+ and start washing up. by early 9+ will be in bed. my wife and i rarely go out in the evening. So lucky. I wanted a 9.30pm bedtime but wife insisted later, she wanted 10.30pm so we settled for 10. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...