Gunzy 4th Gear May 31 Share May 31 (edited) On 5/31/2025 at 12:44 PM, TangoCharlie said: Wah, what's the alternative for you then? Sedate before scan? either skip it totally or see if can fix my claustrophobia then try again, given 1 yr window to rebook (the doc dun really favor full sedation, i also dun want anyway) currently going for physio instead Edited May 31 by Gunzy ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 1:04 AM, Gunzy said: found i have claustrophobia when i went for mri recently...haizzz, probably old liao balls shrinked I'm also mildly claustrophobic. have nightmares from being stuck in a cave tunnel/duct. I only sit aisle seat when taking Flights. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 2:06 PM, Lala81 said: I'm also mildly claustrophobic. have nightmares from being stuck in a cave tunnel/duct. I only sit aisle seat when taking Flights. Luckily still can take flight For me, I had a slight panic attack, I had not tried it again Actually Dr say usually the effect should be milder when older, but mine was the opposite😔 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 8:20 AM, 13177 said: Many people have claustrophobia when they do their MRI. Actually for me i find MRI quite torturing due to cannot move for the whole 30min to 1 hr MRI scanning. I cannot stay still for so long de. Lol. What body part did you do ….. I just did my knee …. Took like 20 mins only …: just that tak tak sound is irritating like a jack hammer ( but the ear plugs helped ) cost me $422 ( subsidized rate at NTF) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 31 Share May 31 Doing MRI very hard to keep still to the required standard . For mine I was told even my breathing became an issue! Told to take shallower breaths Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 2:06 PM, Lala81 said: I'm also mildly claustrophobic. have nightmares from being stuck in a cave tunnel/duct. I only sit aisle seat when taking Flights. Sounds like Home Sweet cave for ………. @13177🤣🤣🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 12:05 PM, TangoCharlie said: Haven't done before....how to not move for 30 mins? You have to stay still for 30 mins or longer, if not need to redo again. Other than cannot move for so long, the sound emit from the MRI quite loud even after wearing a headset, and it makes you feel uncomfortable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 12:34 PM, Gunzy said: yes, that's what they told me, but mine was quite bad, struggling, pulling the side of the machine and shouting to stop while moving in 😅, so i ended up without the scan what type of scanning did you do? whole body in? i am doing lumbar n hip so i thought my head will be outside of the bore Whole body in lo. I thought i cannot survive the entire scan due to cannot move but lucky i made it. 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 1:14 PM, Gunzy said: either skip it totally or see if can fix my claustrophobia then try again, given 1 yr window to rebook (the doc dun really favor full sedation, i also dun want anyway) currently going for physio instead Not easy to fix claustrophobia if you have it, no matter what type of enclosure you are in. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 (edited) Deleted. Edited May 31 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 I did know i have claustrophobia until i sat inside the 350z in nissan showroom...when i turned around to look at the back...i immediately opened the door and jumped out...peeps probably thot i saw a cockroach or something...😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 2:06 PM, Lala81 said: I'm also mildly claustrophobic. have nightmares from being stuck in a cave tunnel/duct. I only sit aisle seat when taking Flights. Like that are you able to drive inside MCE ah? The tunnel is so long. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 5:06 PM, Gunzy said: Luckily still can take flight For me, I had a slight panic attack, I had not tried it again Actually Dr say usually the effect should be milder when older, but mine was the opposite😔 How come the effect will be milder when older le? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 5:28 PM, BanCoe said: What body part did you do ….. I just did my knee …. Took like 20 mins only …: just that tak tak sound is irritating like a jack hammer ( but the ear plugs helped ) cost me $422 ( subsidized rate at NTF) Your MRI took only 20 mins? That time i did for my head was at least 30mins. Anyway, even for 20 mins without moving also torturing and sounds enough to make you go crazy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 10:32 PM, 13177 said: How come the effect will be milder when older le? the orthopedic specialist didn't elaborate as it's not within his expertise, he referred me to see a psychiatrist 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 (edited) On 5/31/2025 at 5:06 PM, Gunzy said: Luckily still can take flight For me, I had a slight panic attack, I had not tried it again Actually Dr say usually the effect should be milder when older, but mine was the opposite😔 My dg had panic attack in p5 and p6 due to likely some academic stress. So I spent a few days and did some research into this. I let her watch some videos and I went though with her the following concept. I dunno whether it will happen again but at least I've given her a framework to approach the problem. There's only one permanent solution to a real phobia actually. There's a book on this topic but I can't remember the title offhand. If the stimulus is known, say u are afraid of dogs. You can employ cognitive behavior therapy by getting yourself desensitised to the stimulus. So this is helpful for kids who can't control themselves or those really anxiety disorder type of adults. For young kids scared of my dog including my nephews and nieces, have to let them be in the room with a dog far away doing it's thing. Then gradually they get used to dog somewhere close. Then get it to touch it's fur. Then slowly etc etc until they can have the dog in the lap and be totally fine. Similarly more extreme will be those letting a snake be wrapped around your neck for the photos at the zoo etc. Some even dare to kiss the snake right. If the stimulus is unclear, say like having some academic or life stress causing a full blown panic attack, the only way is to WILLINGLY accept the anxiety. Basically a panic attack is a immense IRRATIONAL fear. "I'm going to die". What you do is that You actually EMBRACE all the sensation of a panic attack. You tell yourself "bring it on, let's see how bad this fear can make me feel". You might feel like you are going to die. But when u haven't died 20mins later, you will see it as overcoming some of that phobia. It may happen several times and it will slowly become less and less overpowering. The problem with just trying to control your breathing and calming your mind is that you are validating your minds perception of the fear. It will eventually boil over somewhere some time. You cannot tell yourself it's irrational when you are trying to protect yourself from it. You can only tell yourself it's irrational when you essentially laugh at it. Of course if the fear is justified of standing near an open ledge/precipice on a cliff, then doing the above may get you in serious harm. And is it worthwhile to confront some minor fear you have. I don't think my mild claustrophobia needs to be fixed since I am a 6 foot guy who is genuinely uncomfortable in tighter seat space. Just be a goggins. EMBRACE THE IRRATIONAL FEAR. The mindset coming into and at the end of panic attack makes a 100% difference. "I'm glad it's over" vs "IS THAT ALL YOU HAVE FOR ME, MOFO?" Edited May 31 by Lala81 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 This is the video I made my girl watch. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 (edited) On 5/31/2025 at 10:16 PM, 13177 said: Not easy to fix claustrophobia if you have it, no matter what type of enclosure you are in. Claustrophobia is not a completely irrational fear after all. You can get stuck or suffocate or be entombed in a cave due to landslide or anything. But irrational responses like opening emergency doors etc is overdone. Lol Edited May 31 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...