Ender Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 (edited) 2 minutes ago, TangoCharlie said: When I do foam roll on IT band esp, I do feel some unevenness along it and usually thats the most painful part. not sure if its a knot or not. Massage gun with pointed tip set at full power targetting along the band near the shin bone is one area I find most shiok. I will spend extra time just to massage gun that area. Edited June 11, 2020 by Ender ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 11 minutes ago, Ender said: I been reading all these thing about muscle knots, trigger points. And massage will help to remove them. How does these knots feels like?, is it really something hard in the muscle? Coz I press here and there, like cannot find any of those muscle knots. Maybe I have to take massage course to learn how to feel for knots and trigger points. must press very deep one, if have sure can feel the knot . I quite good in this now.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Ender said: Massage gun with pointed tip set at full power targetting along the band near the shin bone is one area I find most shiok. I will spend extra time just to massage gun that area. the knot is painful one, is after the pain then will feel shiok... when phase 2 starts, you buy me kopi, I help you find, if have i press for you guarantee you jump... Edited June 11, 2020 by Tianmo 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 Just now, Tianmo said: must press very deep one, if have sure can feel the knot . I quite good in this now.... How it feels? Like a a stone? or lumpy hardness? LAter I will squeeze harder on my calves. COz right now just came back from a run. Kinda more sensitive to pain if I massage gun there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 10 minutes ago, TangoCharlie said: When I do foam roll on IT band esp, I do feel some unevenness along it and usually thats the most painful part. not sure if its a knot or not. yah its like got hump along the road, and sibei painful one.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 Just now, Tianmo said: yah its like got hump along the road, and sibei painful one.... I think I know why I can't find it. I didn't press hard enough is becoz I felt the pain.. I have to do it on the another person. 🤣 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 21 hours ago, Matoonia said: That's fast man.. i can only do this pace for 1km and my HR went up to 170+ liao. sorry boss...i dun measure hr de, no $ buy gadget maybe my heart already going to give up or explode during my run, i also dunno 😅 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 5 minutes ago, Ender said: How it feels? Like a a stone? or lumpy hardness? LAter I will squeeze harder on my calves. COz right now just came back from a run. Kinda more sensitive to pain if I massage gun there. Is very abnormal one, if you feel deep enough sure can feel the hump there. Calves is very hard for you to do it yourself, you need to lay face down and get someone to check for you. My son had on both calves before, after I release it for him, it has been a long time no more liao. Its the same as body tight muscles, very painful during the rub, then next day will feel the sore, like "blue black" feeling, after that ho say liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 29 minutes ago, Ender said: I been reading all these thing about muscle knots, trigger points. And massage will help to remove them. How does these knots feels like?, is it really something hard in the muscle? Coz I press here and there, like cannot find any of those muscle knots. Maybe I have to take massage course to learn how to feel for knots and trigger points. hmm trigger points are just painful spots in your muscles. Knots are just bunched up myofascial trigger points. Usually if u press down on a trigger point, the pain will spread to your whole muscle. Or sometimes if it's really tight, u feel numb 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Tianmo said: Is very abnormal one, if you feel deep enough sure can feel the hump there. Calves is very hard for you to do it yourself, you need to lay face down and get someone to check for you. My son had on both calves before, after I release it for him, it has been a long time no more liao. Its the same as body tight muscles, very painful during the rub, then next day will feel the sore, like "blue black" feeling, after that ho say liao.... I think the easiest place to find is the upper back. The first person that taught me about this was my classmate during our NS years. he pressed over my shoulderblade and one of my arms went numb. literally cannot lift up. I believe this is where the "dian xue" in gongfu movies came about, balanced with the meridian points in chinese TCM/acupuncture. These meridian points are likely just the most likely places for myofascial trigger points to develop. So the ancient chinese found out what's this but created their own mumbo jumbo voodoo reasoning behind it. Edited June 11, 2020 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 7 minutes ago, Ender said: I think I know why I can't find it. I didn't press hard enough is becoz I felt the pain.. I have to do it on the another person. 🤣 actually the tightness of muscle is layer by layer up one. When it is forming up deep inside, usually cannot feel it, by the time you can feel it coming, it sld be quite close to surface liao. You have to release it layer by layer, and the most painful is on the top, because you press down, it compress every layer. I guarantee you it is pain like hell one, be prepare your body will bend 90 deg side way, and you will do break fall with your hand non stop... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 2 minutes ago, Tianmo said: Is very abnormal one, if you feel deep enough sure can feel the hump there. Calves is very hard for you to do it yourself, you need to lay face down and get someone to check for you. My son had on both calves before, after I release it for him, it has been a long time no more liao. Its the same as body tight muscles, very painful during the rub, then next day will feel the sore, like "blue black" feeling, after that ho say liao.... I think my calves definitely have knots or trigger point. When I use massage gun, there's pain on a few spots. I can only use less than half of the max setting. Maybe later I try to target those pain spots longer, see if it later turn from pain to shiok. hahaha. But for quads, hams, and shoulder, I set to full blast move all over the muscles also no pain. So my guess no knots and trigger there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 1 minute ago, Lala81 said: I think the easiest place to find is the upper back. The first person that taught me about this was my classmate during our NS years. he pressed over my shoulderblade and one of my arms went numb. literally cannot lift up. Yah, I also learned this during NS, my buddy was a national hockey player, and he became our section masseuse... first time I did it for my son on his lower back, hamstrings and calves, tears almost fall... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 27 minutes ago, Ender said: Massage gun with pointed tip set at full power targetting along the band near the shin bone is one area I find most shiok. I will spend extra time just to massage gun that area. I bought it for my kid but got to try it. If I go on pain scale...its foam roll, kid elbow then gun. Gun I felt more for loosening the muscles through vibration. even the pointed tip not as targeted as the roll or elbow for me. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 Just now, TangoCharlie said: I bought it for my kid but got to try it. If I go on pain scale...its foam roll, kid elbow then gun. Gun I felt more for loosening the muscles through vibration. even the pointed tip not as targeted as the roll or elbow for me. Ok, Later I try with my foam roller. Have not touched them for a long time. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: I think the easiest place to find is the upper back. The first person that taught me about this was my classmate during our NS years. he pressed over my shoulderblade and one of my arms went numb. literally cannot lift up. I believe this is where the "dian xue" in gongfu movies came about, balanced with the meridian points in chinese TCM/acupuncture. These meridian points are likely just the most likely places for myofascial trigger points to develop. So the ancient chinese found out what's this but created their own mumbo jumbo voodoo reasoning behind it. There is this old Chinese TCM from taiwan, who did not quite agree with the way TCM taught about 推拿, he came out with his theory call "原始点推拿法". I follow him for a while and watch many of his videos, used the basic he taught on my son and it actually work very well on him. But still cannot run very far from the traditional 推拿法.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 1 hour ago, Ender said: I think my calves definitely have knots or trigger point. When I use massage gun, there's pain on a few spots. I can only use less than half of the max setting. Maybe later I try to target those pain spots longer, see if it later turn from pain to shiok. hahaha. But for quads, hams, and shoulder, I set to full blast move all over the muscles also no pain. So my guess no knots and trigger there. press the gun down, as deep as you can tahan, and let it vibrate. Then you will know how much pain is there.... But ownself do very difficult lah, when in pain how to press down some more. you imagine the muscles are like onion, layer by layer, the gun can only reach the surface layer if you dont press in it. If i use the gun on your hamstring, if you no jump I buy you kopi.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Giordanogavin 5th Gear June 11, 2020 Share June 11, 2020 On 6/10/2020 at 2:24 PM, inlinesix said: At that pace, i can only last 6mins. 165g i believe That is an amazing pace for a 165kg if i read it correctly 😅 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...