Chongster 6th Gear December 29, 2018 Share December 29, 2018 For driving in stop & go traffic and going slowly in a carpark, what should be the safe way to drive with a DSG gearbox? I'm a bit confused about stopping completely then flooring the pedal. Wouldn't this sort of driving style be quite dangerous? Wah lan what floor the accelerator ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Wah lan what floor the acceleratorð±What you shd avoid doing is ride the brake, ie release brake little bit little bit to let the car inch forward, so you let the space in front of you open up a bit, then release brake and step on accelerator slightly but purposefully to close the gap again, This unfortunately will mean that you will constantly kenna jiak, esp. if the said jam is at the causeway. It does give rise to pek chek ness Ha ha.. you are absolutely right. That's the reason I skip those dry DCT. Cannot afford the risk of dry DCT overheat and fail in the long hour jam across causeway , which then spoilt the holiday mood. If wet DCT I will be considered to get it. Anyway dry DCT is built for economical reason due manufacturer budget/profit margins concerns. Totally agreed DCT more engaging drive, however once at cruising speed like long NSHW, it make no different irregardless of which transmission type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kopfan 3rd Gear December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 If you would happened to be in the middle of heavy jam, let's say causeway jam, best way to save dry clutch would be using the start stop function, I guess or don't try to keep inching forward. Relax a bit, close the gap when you can release brake and light accelerate to move forward... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mel1888 3rd Gear December 31, 2018 Share December 31, 2018 (edited) If you would happened to be in the middle of heavy jam, let's say causeway jam, best way to save dry clutch would be using the start stop function, I guess or don't try to keep inching forward. Relax a bit, close the gap when you can release brake and light accelerate to move forward...Kinda hard. Cause way cars tail gate so closely.Drivers afraid of another car cutting their Q or juz simply peer pressure. Thats why i use that JB car transport. Juz pay abit money & let them so thw rest. They cN even chiong bus/ lorry lanes. Cut ur travel time by half. Get caught they juz pay their custom abit kopi $. But mostly custom close eye cause JB car. Edited December 31, 2018 by mel1888 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naresh 1st Gear January 3, 2019 Author Share January 3, 2019 What is your mileage? Could be yourself not used to the friction on new gear and brake? Give yourself around 2000km for smoothing out the new gear and brake. Just drive DSG the way you like it... Enjoy! Been driving for 2 weeks, and the mileage is less than 400 KM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naresh 1st Gear January 3, 2019 Author Share January 3, 2019 If you would happened to be in the middle of heavy jam, let's say causeway jam, best way to save dry clutch would be using the start stop function, I guess or don't try to keep inching forward. Relax a bit, close the gap when you can release brake and light accelerate to move forward... No, I would not use the start/stop. Start/stop is very intrusive in stop & go traffic. The best option I think, based on my limited knowledge, is to not inch forward with brake. When there is sufficient space in front of the car, release the brake as you would normally do so that the 1st gear is engaged. Continuously inching forward by manipulating the brake pedal (half-pressed) is equivalent of riding the clutch, and causes clutch to wear out. The highway from my home to work is always congested in the morning, with slow moving stop & go traffic. The traffic on the highway comes to complete stop multiple times (6-10) due to multiple merging and exit lanes. The start/stop keeps on turning off the engine even if you stop for 1-2 seconds. Same if you have move forward at traffic signal and wait for a few seconds to give way to pedestrians at traffic light or pedestrian crossing. And it is nothing to do with how you brake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naresh 1st Gear January 3, 2019 Author Share January 3, 2019 How slow do you get before you mount the incline slope? 15km/h? 5km/h?? if you are really at dead slow speeds, i could imagine the lethargy you experienced since the car is trying not to let you pocket rocket front and back like when you are parking right?? Around 12 kmph. I did notice that the car is in 2nd gear (D2) as I start the incline. As I step on the accelerator to go up the incline, it drops to D1 (1st gear). I suppose this is the cause of the lethargy... I am in 2nd gear as I start the incline. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kopfan 3rd Gear January 3, 2019 Share January 3, 2019 Been driving for 2 weeks, and the mileage is less than 400 KM.After 2000 km, it will drive smooth 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kopfan 3rd Gear January 3, 2019 Share January 3, 2019 No, I would not use the start/stop. Start/stop is very intrusive in stop & go traffic. The best option I think, based on my limited knowledge, is to not inch forward with brake. When there is sufficient space in front of the car, release the brake as you would normally do so that the 1st gear is engaged. Continuously inching forward by manipulating the brake pedal (half-pressed) is equivalent of riding the clutch, and causes clutch to wear out. The highway from my home to work is always congested in the morning, with slow moving stop & go traffic. The traffic on the highway comes to complete stop multiple times (6-10) due to multiple merging and exit lanes. The start/stop keeps on turning off the engine even if you stop for 1-2 seconds. Same if you have move forward at traffic signal and wait for a few seconds to give way to pedestrians at traffic light or pedestrian crossing. And it is nothing to do with how you brake. Yes. If the start-stop is less than 20sec, it not advisable to use the function. However start-stop could actually save you fuel if the stop is more than 20 sec. If you happened to be on the road during busy hour and have to stop and go.. well, that norm in urban city driving. No matter what type of driving style you may adopt, everything must think of safety first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 Around 12 kmph. I did notice that the car is in 2nd gear (D2) as I start the incline. As I step on the accelerator to go up the incline, it drops to D1 (1st gear). I suppose this is the cause of the lethargy... I am in 2nd gear as I start the incline. Just switch to manual or sports mode to stay in 1? Many people with DSG do that . Also in my case, car is “not smooth” in the morning until properly warmed up. Not sure if it is a DSG thing as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 For me I felt the juddering/jerk when I slow down/brake into the filter lane and accelerate to the main road. With the braking the TCU think i need a low gear but then not really needed as i accelerate when the main road is clear. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coern 2nd Gear January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 Adaptation issue. Have you adjusted to it by now? I encountered similar issue when I first got my VW 6 yrs ago as well. I am new to a DSG gearbox (been only a week) so would welcome some advice. When going up the incline in HDB car park, my VW Golf 1.4TSI seems remarkably reluctant. I do know why this is happening - as I approach the incline I need to slow down (brake) and turn right to get onto the slope. The DSG gearbox thinks I am going to stop, so it is not in the right gear as I complete my turn. Opening the throttle slightly does not move the car up the incline, and with more throttle it moves too quickly. Also I have noted that when going down the incline in HDB car park, when you take your foot off the brake, and step on the accelerator, it seems reluctant to get going again. Again, I do know why this is happening... the DSG gearbox thinks I am going to stop, so it is not in the right gear as I complete my turn Have you encountered the same issue, and do you have any techniques, or is it just a matter of getting used to it? Been driving AT & CVT, and none of them had this issue. Thanks in advance, Naresh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kodiaqer 4th Gear January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 For me I felt the juddering/jerk when I slow down/brake into the filter lane and accelerate to the main road. With the braking the TCU think i need a low gear but then not really needed as i accelerate when the main road is clear. personal opinion, when speed accelerateing is needed, in manual gb we downshft. in dsg, we push down throttle and hold and tcu actually read it correctly and downshift. there might be split second delay but shdnt to the extent of juddering jerk 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 personal opinion, when speed accelerateing is needed, in manual gb we downshft. in dsg, we push down throttle and hold and tcu actually read it correctly and downshift. there might be split second delay but shdnt to the extent of juddering jerk I think the jerk he is referring to is the sluggishness when depress on accelerator and the car never accelerate and have this weird thing that the gear stays for say 1 seconds before downshift and then car able to accelerate. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kodiaqer 4th Gear January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 Around 12 kmph. I did notice that the car is in 2nd gear (D2) as I start the incline. As I step on the accelerator to go up the incline, it drops to D1 (1st gear). I suppose this is the cause of the lethargy... I am in 2nd gear as I start the incline. d2 moving up incline car will slow down esp not step on throttle auto downshift to d1 correct, then tap on throttle lightly smoothly to give suff power and not half clutch when car turn to the next level maintain throttle it goes d2 till the next turn tts how i do la, hopefully almost correct to minimise clutch wear... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kodiaqer 4th Gear January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 I think the jerk he is referring to is the sluggishness when depress on accelerator and the car never accelerate and have this weird thing that the gear stays for say 1 seconds before downshift and then car able to accelerate. wat i discover is this: if want to filter out, and throttle already step on, don immediately deepen the step. do a gradual slight step, which actually increase speed slightly then plonk down further for the gb to downshift and turbo boost to come in, then turn steering wheel, ohh must signal also. hv been using this 2 steps dance to game the tcu logic something like that 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 For me, multi storey carpark got power no power sluggish delay is whatever lor. So long as can go up don’t roll back can already. My car comes with paddle shifter so if I do need to overtake etc I usu use them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kodiaqer 4th Gear January 4, 2019 Share January 4, 2019 For me, multi storey carpark got power no power sluggish delay is whatever lor. So long as can go up don’t roll back can already. My car comes with paddle shifter so if I do need to overtake etc I usu use them... yup, paddle shifter is the best! my current ride no paddle, and i lazy to move my left hand down, so gotta game the tcu with foot pressure... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...